imogen AMPS 318 +233 +6 188 PMPS 123 shot but feel nervous

Status
Not open for further replies.

imogen

Member Since 2010
Hi all,
Imogen is finally spending more time in the blue. Something I've so desperately wanted but of course, now that she's there I'm terrified that I shouldn't have shot her normal dose (which was just upped to 2.75 and seems to be doing the trick.) I'll check her every hour if need be. Let me know if you think shooting the 2.75 (I did it on the skinny side) was okay.
thanks!
 
Nervous is normal at first... you will learn to get used to it.

I'm waiting to see the answers you gave to the questions above, however, remember that YOU can control the numbers with food.
 
Plenty of strips, food and have cancelled my plans for the evening. Imogen thinks I am hovering and that I have lost my mind. She ate all her dinner (just switched from Purina D/M to cowboy cookout). I'll keep posting her numbers.
Thanks to you both.
 
Imogen has no problem with eating so I am sure she will welcome the chance to eat more given the oppurtunity! :lol:
 
Do you have canned food that is high carb with gravy?
We feed them a teaspoon of gravy only so they don't get too full, but the gravy brings their numbers up.
You don't want to give them the solid food at times when they go low cause you want to be able to keep giving them something to raise them up without making them full..
We are not at that stage yet, but i just want to know if you have gravy in cans on hand.
And also karo syrup?
 
Have a few cans of FF with gravy and a full bottle of Karo. Just about to do the +1. Cross your fingers!
 
If you haven't printed this out yet, I always suggest it as a guideline to what you might see in a cycle :mrgreen:
This doesn't mean test every hour, but it will help you along with studying your spreadsheet to see Imogen's patterns and when to test.

We do like to suggest early cycle testing especially with a lower than usual pre-shot number, and the nadir area of +5 or +6, those may require you to have a late nite depending on your time zone, but if you're up for it or can set an alarm, that is ok too.
I would not recommend it every nite (unlike some of us @-) ) the bean needs sleep too.

From the New to the Group sticky up above:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
 
Ronnie, thank you for that. I will definitely do a +4 and then +6. It will be 1am for the nadir but my nerves will most likely keep me awake anyway. I feel better knowing she isn't continuing down for the moment. I am just so happy that she is more and more in the blue. Less bouncing going on. Everytime you think you've got it figured out something else comes up to rattle your nerves! She has been extremely playful that last few days and her coat is back to it's full luster. This is worth it all.
 
very good.
that is to be expected.
If you can, update your main subject line with your new numbers too along the way.

+2 if you like :razz: You're doing well!
remember small snack servings along the way. Nice and gentle surf ok Imogen? cat_pet_icon

and remember to breath. :lol:
 
You can/should do a +2 to see where she is....and give some LC food too...a teaspoon or more depending on her number. You will get good data on how she reacts with the food and the full dose, okay? You are in control wit your meter and your HC gravy if needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top