Imo amps HIGH 600+

Status
Not open for further replies.

squirrelliewrath

Member Since 2012
I am not sure why my cat Imo's number is so high today. no dry cat food in sight and numbers were so good yesterday. nailbite_smile
here is his chart.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html
I have to work and will not be able to check his numbers till around 10 or later tonight.
thanks for the information I wish I could do more numbers today but I can not trust my daughter to do it right. His number at midnight was 53 in the green again.
 
The reason his numbers are so high today are because his numbers were so good yesterday! (I know -- you really didn't want to hear that!!) What you're seeing is what we call a "bounce." Most cats when they are diagnosed with diabetes have been in high BG numbers for a while. As a result, their bodies get used to being in higher numbers. When they start spending time in normal numbers, their liver "panics" and dumps a stored form of glucose (glucagon) and counterregulatory hormones. These act to raise BG. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.

Is there any way you can get at least one test during the PM cycle? Many cats experience lower numbers at night so getting at least one test is important for safety reasons. In addition, with no PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
 
It's Gary, right? Jane here.

What you're seeing is called a "bounce" - Imo's liver panicked at those beautiful healthy green numbers and maybe also at the speed of getting down into them, so it released glucagon (stored sugar) and counter-regulatory hormones to push up the BG.

Bounces are normal and can take up to 3 days to clear. Try not to fret too much about bounce-related BGs, ok? It's GREAT that Imo had those great greens!

Jane
 
In addition to the bounce the dry dog food Imo got into last night is probably still in his system. Additionally there was just a token dose of insulin. The all add up to a high BG this morning. It's a great example of what dry food can do to the BGs! He will come down again, but hopefully not as dramatically as yesterday.

Here's a link to your post in health yesterday. We usually link to the previous day's post so advisors can catch up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top