I am not clear on what insulin you are using now - this post is in the lev forum but the ss shows started lantus in June.
I have not used Prozinc, but have used lantus and lev for my two.
Shadoe did not do as well on Lantus as she does on Lev.
I can't really comment much as your dosing is not like any for those following the protocol in the Lantus forum.
Just wondering if you have seen and read all the links in the lev/lantus forums...
Tight Regulation Protocol
Lantus & Levemir – Insulin Depot –AKA- Storage Shed
Lantus & Levemir – Data Ready to Shoot Low Numbers
Lantus & Levemir: Info, Proper Handling & Storage has picture of syringe and insulin pens.
Lantus & Levemir: What’s the Difference?
Just one question:
Are you using the u100 syringes or the u40 ones?
Maybe you can post over on the Lantus forum and ask what they think.
Because Lantus is nothing like prozinc, you need to always consider the shed when using Lantus or Lev.
When you started Lantus, it's usually recommended to start at a low dose, maybe .5u with the U100 syringes, and you must HOLD that dose for 4-5 DAYS / 8-10 cycles in order for the shed to be in place.
On your ss, it looks like you kept changing the dose based on ps numbers, but Lantus is based on nadir.
It could be for these reasons that you are not getting anywhere near regulation.
If you can give it a bit more time, following the below portion from the protocol, you will probably see much better numbers and stability.
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.