I'm new to the whole diabetic mother role

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan and Chirpie

Member Since 2010
My kitty (baby) is on lantus, and also has hyperthyroidism. Her BG's are over 400, and she is on a low carb / high protein diet. Snyone have any suggestions or help on how I can lower her BG level.

My Baby: She is a 10 year old white, domestic short haired Angel. She is snuggler, and I love her with all my heart. So I am hoping someone can give me some support on managing her diabetes / hyperthyroidism. Thank you.

My name is Susan, and I live in Ottawa, Canada. If anyone reads this, and lives in the Ottawa area, please let me know. confused_cat
 
Susan...welcome to Lantus Land!!! We are happy to have you here and there is alot of help for your Angel. We reserve the "911" for hypo emergenices, though so it's ok to take it off....lots of people respond to newbie beans....can you give us more detailed info...how long has she been on lantus, how many units does she get a day, are you following any kind of protocol, do you test for ketones, have you read the stickys...any info is greatly appreciated.
 
Hello and Welcome Susan!! :) First off, start reading the sticky notes. It may seem like a lot of information all at once, BUT it's very helpful. I read it more than a handful of times when we first started so I could soak it all in.

Please answer Majorie's questions, it would be most helpful. Also are you hometesting yet?

Regulation isn't something that happens overnight, just be patient, and give your furbaby lots of lovin'!
:YMHUG:
 
I'm in Ottawa (well Rockland really) and I'd love to help. I'll pm you my contact details.

This group is seriously amazing. I haven't found a vet yet that knows what this group does. It was really overwhelming when we first joined with so much to learn, but things get so much easier and will start making sense.
 
hello and welcome to the FDMB! since you're new to the message board, you'll want to start out on the Health forum where you'll receive a proper welcome to the board. like the others have mentioned, please read the stickies (starred posts) at the top of this forum. we'll also need a little more info before we can help.

ps - i will remove the 911 icon from your post. we reserve that icon for medical emergencies.
 
Welcome Susan.

One housekeeping detail. While I think the members of this forum are completely trustworthy, you might want to change your user name to something other than your e-mail address so you don't get blasted with spam.

There is a huge amount of information in the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. Probably the best way to get started is to begin with reading this information.
As you're settling in, please read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Topics section. There is a HUGE amount of information in those notes.

* Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
* New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
* Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
* Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
* Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

We are very data driven here. If you have not learned how to home test, this is a critically important first step toward allowing you to effectively manage Baby's diabetes. Please let us know if you need help with learning how to home test. There are other aspects of managing Baby's diabetes that you will need to become aware of with regard to the Tight Regulation Protocol that we use.
  • it is more time-consuming than most other protocols, but still definitely doable if you work a regular full-time work week
  • it is more expensive than most other protocols, but costs can be reduced (e.g. buying glucose test strips from online pharmacies or reputable sellers at eBay or on Amazon)
  • members typically buy 3 ml Lantus/Levemir cartridges, refrigerate them after opening and routinely use them for for longer than the 28 days recommended by the manufacturer - when refrigerated, opened cartridges of these insulins are extraordinarily stable
  • you will need to test the blood glucose levels of your cat multiple times per day and set up a spreadsheet to track this information.
  • you will need to know about hypoglycemia and be prepared to deal with it
  • you will need to test for ketones regularly to start with and know about ketoacidosis, but be aware that ketones don't occur once a cat is (and remains) properly regulated
  • you will need a brand-name glucometer made for human diabetics that measures whole blood (not plasma-equivalent) and which preferably uses 0.6 µL of blood per test or less
  • you will need to use syringes which allow you to measure tiny doses: U100-type, 3/10 cc = 0.3 ml volume and with the half-unit increments printed on the barrel
  • you will need to feed the right diet: high-quality low-carb canned food or raw food exclusively
  • you will need to feed your cat lots of small meals spread over the day, free-feeding canned food can be an option for some cats
I know this is a huge volume of information to digest. We've all been there. As Jill noted, getting started on the Health board will help to ease you into this process.

The amount of support that's available here is amazing. The people here are very generous with their time and with their knowledge. Please ask questions and please post regularly.
 
Welcome, Susan and Chirpie!

I just wanted to say hello, and hang in there. As others have said, it is a lot of information to digest, but you are in the right place. I have only been here a month and have received a warm welcome and so much help already. You will get comfortable with home testing and be surprised how easily your baby will become accustomed to it. There's always someone here to help, even in the middle of the night. So relax, read the info, and get ready to learn how to help your kitty be her best.
 
Good morning, Susan and Chirpie! Welcome to Lantus Land and the FDMB. Patience is the key here and remember that nothing happens over night. It may take weeks before you notice any difference in bg's or it may take a few days.
You are using a good insulin and should see results sooner that Spot did when he was on Humulin N.

Good luck!
 
Good morning, and welcome! You've come to the right place! My Willie was just diagnosed two months ago, so the memories of those first couple weeks and the stress of all the new information is still fresh! It gets easier! Dealing with FD is definitely a marathon and not a sprint, so hang in there!

When I first started out, I put together a booklet using one of those presentation folders with slickie sheets in it. Emergency vet phone number on the cover, stickies and the protocol inside, along with Willie's test results obtained by the vet, food lists, etc. Whenever I was unsure of something, I'd start there, then ask questions here if I was confused (which was often!! LOL).

Good luck, and I look forward to learning more about your kitty soon!
 
Hi Susan. Welcome to the board.
You will get lots of great help from everyone here.
You've come to the right place for info.
I'm also in Canada, but in Alberta.
 
Hi Susan and welcome!

I too am still a newbie with my kitty dx the Monday after Xmas (what a xmas present, right? lol). Thanx to the people here, my kitty is doing great! Anyway, the people here are just fabulous and so knowledgeable! You are in good hands here for sure!!! :-D
 
Hi, you are going to be fine and your babies. You have come to the right place! If not for these people I fear the worst for my furkids, do not hesitate to ask questions. Lord above knows I do! ;-)
 
Hi Everyone;

Thank you so much for all your kind words and encouragement! I have hooked up with Karrie and Maverick, and she is AWESOME! She just spent two hours on the phone with me, I didn't realize that so many people cared. I hope you don't mind, until I get things in hand, and in control, and understand this message board..I will not be able to address each one of you individually. Chirpie BG is still very high, @ over 500 and is on 1.5 units of lantus twice a day, so I just need to get her stabalized. The hyperthyroidism is stabalized now, so she is just dealing with her diabetes...she is a sweet little trooper! God is with us because he has brought me to all of you. Thank you so much...CHIRPIE AND SUSAN confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top