I'm confused about Jack's numbers. What am I doing wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Member Since 2019
What is going on with Jack's numbers?? Tuesday night, he was 210 at PMPS. I dosed him 1.5U and tested him a few times after. His BG went down to 62 @ +4, and he was 415 at AMPS in the morning (yesterday). I thought that was high for being so low during the night. He stayed low all day, and last night at +11.5 he was only 121. I waited 30 minutes, and he went down to 111 at PMPS. I didn't shoot him. This morning, his AMPS was only 312. I was afraid to give him 1.5U because I won't be home today. Why is his BG fluctuating? What can I do? What am I doing wrong?
 
Last edited:
Hi, I don't have much experience with Prozinc (Lantus user) but it appears like he´s bouncing.

Bouncing happens when a cat gets values lower than he's used to (it doesn't have to be very loo just lower ) or too fast like it appears happened with the 71 on the 12th and withthe 77 on the 13th and his body reacts (natural defence against hypo sometimes calles "liver panic" or "panicky liver" ) so after he gets quite high numbers it doesn't mean you are doing something wrong is just a natural reaction

I do suggest you post in the Prozinc forum to get some expert Prozinc users input to help you with this bouncing
 
Hi, I don't have much experience with Prozinc (Lantus user) but it appears like he´s bouncing.

Bouncing happens when a cat gets values lower than he's used to (it doesn't have to be very loo just lower ) or too fast like it appears happened with the 71 on the 12th and withthe 77 on the 13th and his body reacts (natural defence against hypo sometimes calles "liver panic" or "panicky liver" ) so after he gets quite high numbers it doesn't mean you are doing something wrong is just a natural reaction

I do suggest you post in the Prozinc forum to get some expert Prozinc users input to help you with this bouncing
I don't know whether to raise his dose or lower his dose. I'll post over on Prozinc and maybe get some suggestions on what I should do. Congratulations on Babu-chiri going into remission! I was looking over your spreadsheet, and you really did start low, go slow.
Thank you for responding to my post.
 
Last edited:
changes had to be done in drops and really slow
I think I may do this with Jack. Tonight's PMPS is only 151. Also, I think he may be reacting to the low numbers, but that didn't click with me until today. He has been alert, and eating, and as sweet and affectionate as always, so I wasn't thinking there was any problem. But it hit me today: Jack was trembling last night. It was short lived, but obvious. A friend was here fixing my shower, and he noticed too. And my daughter said that Jack was walking a little shaky today-sort of jumpy or jerky movements. She said it was so subtle that she wasn't sure if she was imagining it. I have no idea what his numbers were doing all day, as I was working, and I'll be at work tomorrow too.
I'm going to post this in Prozinc's forum.
 
I think I may do this with Jack. Tonight's PMPS is only 151. Also, I think he may be reacting to the low numbers, but that didn't click with me until today. He has been alert, and eating, and as sweet and affectionate as always, so I wasn't thinking there was any problem. But it hit me today: Jack was trembling last night. It was short lived, but obvious. A friend was here fixing my shower, and he noticed too. And my daughter said that Jack was walking a little shaky today-sort of jumpy or jerky movements. She said it was so subtle that she wasn't sure if she was imagining it. I have no idea what his numbers were doing all day, as I was working, and I'll be at work tomorrow too.
Some of the behavior you are just describing sound like hypo so do be careful and monitor him closely, and remember that is always better to be on the safe side . I'm not sure he is a micro dose (Babu would react to a dose change of less than 0.1 unit ), but probably he does need a dose decrease maybe 1.75 is a bit high not really sure since I'm not familiar with Prozinc
 
Some of the behavior you are just describing sound like hypo so do be careful and monitor him closely, and remember that is always better to be on the safe side . I'm not sure he is a micro dose (Babu would react to a dose change of less than 0.1 unit ), but probably he does need a dose decrease maybe 1.75 is a bit high not really sure since I'm not familiar with Prozinc
This morning, he only got one unit, and I think he may have reacted to that. I'm not going to go higher than one unit for a little while now. Actually, I'm wondering if I should go lower? I'll see what they say on the Prozinc forum.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top