? I'm back but with BRAT diagnosed today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
It's been awhile since I've been here. I lost Blue a few years ago. I still miss him so much.
Now I have a new baby 17 yo Brat that has BG 356 today. I have forgotten almost
everything. I'll see the vet tomorrow to get a plan together. My daughter took her in today so I'm still in the dark other than what Tara told me.
I'm assuming she'll put Brat on Lantus as Blue was on it. Any ideas about where to purchase
locally at a discount? I can buy from Canada but it might take too long to get it. I remember people talking
about the pen because it was cheaper, but how do you use it?
I'll be studying the forums to remind myself how to care for Brat but I'm sure I'll need some help.
Thanks for being here. Glad and grateful to have this resource.
Patty and Brat
 
Hi Patty, I remember you and your sweet Bluebird :bighug:
I lost Tyler's brother Perry in 2021 also, again I'm sorry for your loss
Or you can get generic lantus from a pharmacy
You can have the vet write the script for generic lantus ,many members use it, The brand is much more expensive, just call around and see who might have the generic
Here is some info
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
Last edited:
With the pen you can only adjust the doses by full units ,that's why we buy the syringes so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units
Just in case
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
You can order them on line also
Our numbers are based on human meters
 
A member just posted this
Allie was using the Lantus and I just switched to the generic and using the GoodRX I got 5 pens for $81.30 at Walgreens. GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822

You can get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box is fine
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store
:




upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508

Or any of the ones listed here
 
Hi Patty. Welcome back. Costco is a good source for lantus and you don’t have to be a member. There are biosimilar insulins and lots here use. Works as well as lantus.
 
A member just posted this
Allie was using the Lantus and I just switched to the generic and using the GoodRX I got 5 pens for $81.30 at Walgreens. GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822

You can get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box is fine
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store
:

Hi Diane,
Yes, I remember you and so sorry for your loss as well. My sister Sally who was here the same time as I was lost her Lily. I'm glad to see so many still here and doing well.
Thanks for all the links and information. It makes it much easier to buy all the supplies needed. I'll see the vet this morning at 11 and get a prescription for Lantus.
I'm sure I'll have plenty of questions. Brat is not healthy so I'm hoping and praying I can treat her successfully.
Thanks again. Patty and Brat



upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508

Or any of the ones listed here
 
Hi Patty. Welcome back. Costco is a good source for lantus and you don’t have to be a member. There are biosimilar insulins and lots here use. Works as well as lantus.

Hi! Happy to see you are still here. I've thought about you many times and hope your babies are doing well. Thanks for sticking around
to help everyone. You were great to have with my Bluebird.
Appt. at 11 with Brat...so it begins.
 
I’m hoping we can get Brat regulated quickly. :bighug: How’s your sister?

My girls are already 6 1/2 and didn’t get good genes. Mocha has skin allergies that are becoming challenging and Chai has lost many teeth the past month although I just realized it last week. She had a dental and X-rays 8 or 9 months ago and all was good the vet said but pulled the one tooth that we knew was bad. I have an appointment this afternoon to make sure she’s ok.
 
I’m hoping we can get Brat regulated quickly. :bighug: How’s your sister?

My girls are already 6 1/2 and didn’t get good genes. Mocha has skin allergies that are becoming challenging and Chai has lost many teeth the past month although I just realized it last week. She had a dental and X-rays 8 or 9 months ago and all was good the vet said but pulled the one tooth that we knew was bad. I have an appointment this afternoon to make sure she’s ok.

Oh no, you were making sure to do everything to prevent disease. I guess it goes to show genes play a huge roll. I'm sure you are doing what you can to help them. I had a friend that had to remove all her cats teeth. The cat had no problem eating and was healthier after extraction.
Sally is well. She has a cat with cancer that had a leg removed. They only give her a year. Sally keep taking cats in if they show up to her door. She's so compassionate.
I just got back from the vet. I got prescriptions for generic Lantus and syringes. When I dropped them off at Walgreens they will actually break the box of 5 syringes. I'm not sure how much yet but the box of 5 is $81. Brat has a lot more going on than just diabetes. Her red blood count is very low so she might have additional issues. Dr. Johnson will be doing a curve and checking blood work next Wednesday. I hope Brat will do better once I start insulin. She'll be on antibiotics for 2 weeks for the UTI. I'm weaning her off of the pred. She has been on it for Triditis. Hopefully that won't get worse. She's 16 years old and weighs 5 pounds. Will start her on .5 insulin tonight hopefully. I'm hoping for the best! Glad I saved the caliper.
 
Yeah, I drank the Kool Aid about food but I think genes trump everything. If I ever get more animals I will not get any found without the mother. I don’t afford all this.
 
With the pen you can only adjust the doses by full units ,that's why we buy the syringes so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units
Just in case
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
You can order them on line also
Our numbers are based on human meters

I'm getting so frustrated with this pharmacy. They only want me to have pen needles and not syringes. They say it will spoil the product.
Also, have a coupon from Goodrx that is 5 pens for $81. Walgreens now says well that coupon may not be any good. I've talked with so many people and I just want to be able to give Brat some insulin tonight. I don't think pen needles would work for Brat. Has anyone ever mentioned
using them on a cat? Grrrrrrr
 
Last edited:
I ended up getting a 10 ml vial of generic Lantus at Walgreens for $56 and syringes with the .5 markings. Much
cheaper this time around. I did give a drop to Brat tonight. She's meowing and looking like she feels better.
Still looking to purchase everything else. Walmart has
all but the lancets for the Reli-on. Will try again tomorrow and maybe I can pick it all up.
 
A friend told me since Good RX was sold it’s changed and not for the better. I bet it also depends on the pharmacy used. The needle that comes with the pen won’t work because it only administers in full units. Good you bought what you did.

Please set up a spreadsheet for Brat. Need help? Bhooma will do it.

Are you going to follow TR or SLGS? That will determine the starting dose. Either way a drop will not be enough.

Since she’s so tiny .5 is a good starting dose.
 
I ended up getting a 10 ml vial of generic Lantus at Walgreens for $56 and syringes with the .5 markings. Much
cheaper this time around. I did give a drop to Brat tonight. She's meowing and looking like she feels better.
Still looking to purchase everything else. Walmart has
all but the lancets for the Reli-on. Will try again tomorrow and maybe I can pick it all up.
Hi Patty you can get any lancets doesn't have to be Relion lancets
Most places have them, CVS, Walgreen's, any pharmacy you want 26 or 28 gauge lancets
 
A friend told me since Good RX was sold it’s changed and not for the better. I bet it also depends on the pharmacy used. The needle that comes with the pen won’t work because it only administers in full units. Good you bought what you did.

Please set up a spreadsheet for Brat. Need help? Bhooma will do it.

Are you going to follow TR or SLGS? That will determine the starting dose. Either way a drop will not be enough.

Since she’s so tiny .5 is a good starting dose.

Yes, I probably do need some help setting up the spreadsheet. I don't even remember what TR and SLGS are so I'll have to read through some info here.
I said a drop but I'm really at .5. I'm still without all the test strips etc. so I was afraid of giving too much with no way to test. My vet thought I should start with a unit. She thinks all the testing might cause stress so suggested the FreeStyle Libre but if I remember it was expensive. Is there any links to save on them? Brat is pretty laid back so she might be okay with the testing. If she has a freeze dried minnow in front of her she will be focused on that.
I'll read some this afternoon. I've got to pick up lens for my glasses, but I'll be back.
 
Hi, Patty. I hope all of the information comes back without you're feeling too overwhelmed.

The pharmacist was wrong about the pens. Most of us drew insulin out of a pen with a syringe for years and there wasn't a problem. Using the needle tips is a headache. You can't use less than 1.0 dose increments and you have to prime the pen. In other words, if you use the needle tip, you lose at least 1.0u of insulin every time you want to inject. I wonder what the pharmacist thinks people who have diabetic infants do?

Please let us know what questions you have. We're here to help.
 
Hi, Patty. I hope all of the information comes back without you're feeling too overwhelmed.

The pharmacist was wrong about the pens. Most of us drew insulin out of a pen with a syringe for years and there wasn't a problem. Using the needle tips is a headache. You can't use less than 1.0 dose increments and you have to prime the pen. In other words, if you use the needle tip, you lose at least 1.0u of insulin every time you want to inject. I wonder what the pharmacist thinks people who have diabetic infants do?

Please let us know what questions you have. We're here to help.

I knew they were wrong but I had a very hard time with them. I finally gave in and just asked for the vial and syringes. Even the vet office didn't understand what I wanted to do. At least I have insulin and it turned out to be cheaper than the 5 pens. It's hard to train people on cats and insulin. ;)
 
Oh my, thank you for the link. Makes it easier.

Thanks for tagging Bhooma. I'm wondering also what to do about the profile for Blue. Should I start a new one or is there a way to add Brat?
You're welcome , I would ask Bhooma about the profile on what to do :cat:
She will probably send you a message in your inbox when she see's the tag
 
You're welcome , I would ask Bhooma about the profile on what to do :cat:
She will probably send you a message in your inbox when she see's the tag

I found another message about adding a cat and will try that.
I pick up the Reli-on and test strips tomorrow at Walmart. I have a Kroger brand in the meantime that I'll use tonight to check her.
She ate a few minutes ago so I'm thinking 9 and 9 for insulin. That gives me time to feed the gang. I read through the TR and the SLGS and I know I did the TR for Blue. I'm still not sure about what to do for Brat because she has so many things going on in her little body. I have literally forgot everything. :arghh:
 
It will all come back to you. Why not hold off for the first week on picking a method. Due to her size the starting dose is the same. See how it goes. Let the depot build and unless there’s a drop under 90 you won’t need to decide for 7 days. If it happens you either go down to .25 at that point or continue and see if there’s a drop under 50.
 
It will all come back to you. Why not hold off for the first week on picking a method. Due to her size the starting dose is the same. See how it goes. Let the depot build and unless there’s a drop under 90 you won’t need to decide for 7 days. If it happens you either go down to .25 at that point or continue and see if there’s a drop under 50.

Sounds like a plan. I just checked her and she's at 342. I gave her a .5 dose. She's not as cooperative as Blue. She doesn't like me messing with her ears.
I tried to change part of my profile but the only thing I was able to change was adding Brat to the name. That took me 3 tries. I'll keep working on it.
Thanks for being here. I've thought of you often and so appreciate all you did for Blue and I and helping Sally and Lily as well. :bighug:
 
Bhooma can help with the signature too. There is a limit in the length so I think you might need to remove sone of what’s in there about Blue. Try remove food, dose and meter in regards to Blue perhaps.
 
Bhooma can help with the signature too. There is a limit in the length so I think you might need to remove sone of what’s in there about Blue. Try remove food, dose and meter in regards to Blue perhaps.

I thought a second SS could be started but if not, can we delete Blue's and start again.
I'm really worried about Brat. She's so lethargic and not eating a lot. She is also not agreeable at all with testing. That's why her name
is Brat. Anyway, I'm keeping a close eye on her but not feeling good about her condition.
 
I thought Brat wouldn't last the night and today she seems perky. The low red blood count is worrying. I am
giving her .5 twice a day but having some difficulty with getting blood to do testing. She is half the size that
Blue was and the vein in her ear is the size of a human hair at most. I'll keep at it.
 
Try double readers to magnify. Do you poke from the inside or outside. I did from the inside because Max had black fur. I could see the veins better. Have you tried warming with a heated rice sock? You mentioned she’s nit liking her ears touched so try and play with them a bit when not trying to test.
 
Try double readers to magnify. Do you poke from the inside or outside. I did from the inside because Max had black fur. I could see the veins better. Have you tried warming with a heated rice sock? You mentioned she’s nit liking her ears touched so try and play with them a bit when not trying to test.

I try from the inside like I did Blue. She has long hair so it does get in the way. Maybe I'll try the outside and thanks for the reminder about rice sock. I'll give it a try. She has to have an appetite stimulate that I put on the inside of her ears. I've done it for years and she's just over it. She has never been very cooperative since she was a baby...thus the name Brat. Double readers are a great idea. I am having some trouble seeing. Thx
 
Took me awhile but finally got a speck of blood and it's gone down to 239. Yay, happy to see it moving downward and I can tell she's feeling much better. She has been active today and meowing.
I did end up at the vet ER with Teddy. He is about 18 and he tried jumping from the counter to the island in the kitchen. He fell and did not land on his feet. He's on pain meds and has been sleeping for hours. It's always something.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top