I'm a newbie, just checking in

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Toki Wartooth Jr., Aug 10, 2020.

1. Toki Wartooth Jr.

Toki Wartooth Jr. New Member

Hello,

I have added our Spreadsheet (I think). So far, I think things are going as well as they can be. Toki, our 10 year old boy, was diagnosed 07/25/2020. Our vet was as terrible as expected as far as giving treatment advice. He didn't tell us to test or which foods to switch to (he just said switch foods). I searched out a support group for help because I knew the vet didn't give us the proper information. As soon as we saw we had to test, we bought a meter (08/01/2020) and switched food that day as well. He had readings in the mid to upper 400s the first day or two. We test around 8:00 AM/PM and then feed him. We give him his shot 20-30 minutes later We started out with giving him Fancy Feast 3 times a day (3 cans total); 2 after testing and one was about 6 hours later (2:30 PM). I noticed that his readings were considerably lower in the evening, so I bought an automatic cat feeder so we could get him a feeding in between the PM and AM meals (about 2:30 AM). The first automatic feed was overnight 08/07-08/08. The next morning his levels were down in the mid 200s!

He is still currently on Vetsulin. We are in the process of switching vets; there is a cat clinic about 30 minutes away. We're hoping if we switch vets, we'll get better care instructions and can switch his prescription.

2. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome to FDMB! :)

So glad to hear you're on top of everything despite your vet being unhelpful. I hope the cat clinic is a better suit for you and Toki. Please keep us updated on his progress!