? If Jack’s BG is the same w/ or w/o insulin, is there an advantage to keeping him on longer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Member Since 2019
Thursday morning, Jack’s AMPS was 104, which is on the higher side for the morning. I shot him a .1U, as usual. At +2, he was 54. That was a big drop in 2 hours! I had to leave for work, but I wasn’t too worried. Jack tends to ride those lower numbers, without changing too much during the day. (And my daughter was home, in case he acted oddly.)

Yesterday morning, his AMPS was 68. I didn’t want to give him his usual .1. I was leaving for work immediately after his shot, and I was worried that he may drop fast again. I wound up getting most of the day off, so I was able to test him during the day. His numbers looked great: 64 @+3.25, 58 @+7.75, 76 @+10, and 71 @PMPS. I decided not to give him insulin again, to see what happened. At +3 he was 74, and this morning, at AMPS, he was only 84.

I didn’t plan on doing a trial OTJ yet. But should I? Is there an advantage to continuing insulin even if his numbers look good without it? Is there a disadvantage to using insulin if he doesn’t need it? In other words, will using insulin, when his body does the same without it, cause his pancreas to depend on it in a negative way?

I don’t know if I should shoot him now or not. I want to do the right thing for him and his little pancreas!
 
***In my opinion*** I think you're ready for an OTJ trial *anitjinx* :). Personally, I kept giving a teensy tiny dose for as long as possible as some say it can help for a longer remission. Maury's numbers were relatively the same with the tiny drop dose I was giving towards his first remission. I think you're good either way, continue the drop dose (we got to a dose that was just half the needle lol) or give him an OTJ trial and still do normal AMPS/PMPS and a mid cycle or two for 2 weeks. If he goes 2 weeks without insulin, then you can cut back on testing. I'd still do AMPS/PMPS and one between +2 and +5 to see how he's doing on his own for the next two weeks. After a month of no shots, some people drop back to testing every few days, and then a few times a month. Those are some beautiful numbers though in such a short time! Way to go Jack and Carolyn :cat::cool::D.
 
***In my opinion*** I think you're ready for an OTJ trial *anitjinx* :). Personally, I kept giving a teensy tiny dose for as long as possible as some say it can help for a longer remission. Maury's numbers were relatively the same with the tiny drop dose I was giving towards his first remission. I think you're good either way, continue the drop dose (we got to a dose that was just half the needle lol) or give him an OTJ trial and still do normal AMPS/PMPS and a mid cycle or two for 2 weeks. If he goes 2 weeks without insulin, then you can cut back on testing. I'd still do AMPS/PMPS and one between +2 and +5 to see how he's doing on his own for the next two weeks. After a month of no shots, some people drop back to testing every few days, and then a few times a month. Those are some beautiful numbers though in such a short time! Way to go Jack and Carolyn :cat::cool::D.
I'm so happy with his numbers! I was prepared to keep him on a drop or a small dose for as long as possible, knowing that it's better for his pancreas to keep him on longer. But it just seems like his numbers are so good without it, at least yesterday and this morning, that I think I have to give it a shot. Is Maury in remission right now?
 
Last edited:
Unfortunately, he recently came out of remission for some idiopathic reason :confused:. Can't say he missed the attention because I realize I never really stopped testing him daily lol BUT it paid off in the long run and I caught him coming out early ;). We almost had a year :).
 
Unfortunately, he recently came out of remission for some idiopathic reason :confused:. Can't say he missed the attention because I realize I never really stopped testing him daily lol BUT it paid off in the long run and I caught him coming out early ;). We almost had a year :).
Aww, that's a shame that he came out of it. But at least he had a really good run! Who knows, he may go into remission again. Like you, I'm sure that I will continue to test Jack even if he does go into remission. I think I would always be too nervous to just let it go completely, even after a period of time. Besides, he's actually come to love being tested because he gets those special freeze dried duck livers and shrimp! He lives for those suckers now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top