ideas? suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Connie & Em(GA)

Member Since 2011
My foster kitty (I named her Beatrice) got very sick with URI, and stopped eating and lost a significant amount of weight. We stopped insulin until she started eating on her own, and I tempted her with straight up tuna, then fishy foods (I aimed for low carb ones)

Her blood sugars were in the high 200s with out insulin, so when she started eating "regular" food I started back up on the insulin. last night I gave one unit. (I was originally told to give two)

This morning her numbers
AMPS 252
+3 249
+5 298

Um.. ideas?
She's eating FF Turkey & giblets (pate - the original) happy, active, seeking attention.. annoyed to be left alone..

I feel like an utter newbie with this new insulin, so no suggestion is too small or trivial..

thanks for the help!
Connie
 
Hi Connie,

What dose were you giving before she stopped eating?

The shed will have to refill before she will be able to use the insulin you are giving. I'd hold the 1 unit for a couple of days.

Do you know where her nadir is on Lantus? With her +5 above her PS, I am wondering if she has an early nadir.

Happy New Year!

Claudia
 
I have painfully little info on her. She was not regularly tested while at the shelter and fed a high carb food and was injected at the start and end of the work day, so not on a 12 hour schedule. She got sick very shortly after showing up, so I'm not quite sure any of the numbers I got are of any use.

The shed thing sounds reasonable. I'll just keep at 1u for a while and see what happens

Thanks
 
Agreeing with the shed filling. Hold that for 3-5 days and see what starts to happen.
Those #'s are certainly not regulated but not super high off the charts either.

Whiskas has these fish food packets that are called purrrrfictly fish, they are 0-1 carbs and my cats love them for whole meals or treats. FF also makes these "appetizers" which you can get fish and those are also 0-2 carbs depending on flavor. The Whiskas is a whole food (could be given for meals) but the FF appetizers are meant to be treats, and not a true source of food for meals.
 
Just got to grit your teeth, hang in there, and wait the 3-5 days it takes for a dose to stabilize and keep monitoring. After it stabilizeds, a curve will assist with making dose adjustments. Any mid-cycle tests you can get will help ID where the nadir is likely to be, plus alert you if she is heading too low.
 
Thanks for asking!

Yes, better. But still confusing. Her PM BG yesterday was in the 50s. I tested an hour later and it hadn't moved, so I skipped the dose, this next morning she was in the 200s. So I gave her 1 unit and went to work. She was 111 when I got home today, so I gave her half a unit, and two hours later she was 77. I'm guessing we have some sputtering going on..

I was able to move her into the official foster room, and she has so much more space now. It took her a while to get used to it, but she's loving it now. She's flomping on her side begging for belly rubs and having a grand ol time.

Connie
 
Connie,

Just a suggestion from my 4 years experience with Lantus. Try to keep the dose consistent. When you skip a shot with Lantus, the shed empties. The next shot is not available for use. It fills the shed. The next shot is available and will work on the blood sugar level.

I agree with you that your are probably dealing with a sputtering pancreas. So, you might want to consider giving a .5 dose so that you can get some consistency.

Glad to hear that she is enjoying the foster room.

Claudia
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top