Ideal Time for Last test of the night??

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I'm testing faithfully AMPS, +6-7 and PMPS. Is it better to test 3, 4, or 5 hours after the p.m. insulin when using lantus or best to mix it up? . Today is day 3 of an increase and Max has been pretty level. Pink in the morning and yellow the rest of the day after his lowest AMPS ever of 156. Thanks.

Elise
 
The bedtime test means exactly that: the last test you get right before you turn off the lights and head to sleep for the night. It might vary every night for some people; it might always be a +2. It's whatever your bedtime dictates. If you are more flexible at night and want to test more often, there's no problem with that. In fact, I usually always test Mikey's PM cycle and rarely get much data on his AM cycle because I'm an insomniac with a sleeping disorder who works all day long. :lol:
 
Around +2 can indicate if it is going to be an "active cycle" where the cat drops quickly and you may need to steer with food to keep the cat from going too low when following a Tight Regulation protocol.
 
If anything I would recommend you try and vary your mid day test if you can - not all cats nadir at +6 and nadirs do wander. And I would get a few more tests when you shoot under 200.
 
Hi Wendy. I will do that. I did when I got the lower number at night but not during the day. Thanks.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top