IBD and Diabetes: What does success look like?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nightbird

Member
Hi all,
You may have read in my previous posts about my princess, Anastasia, who developed diabetes, assumedly from two prednisolone steroid injections she received when she was diagnosed with IBD about two months ago. Over the last two weeks my husband and I have learned how to adminster the insulin injections and glucose tests and gotten our routine established. We are hopeful that the diabetes will go into remission after the steroids wear completely off. Based on recommendations and testimonies from the helpful people on this site and other research, I now have her eating only Hills ZD canned food, which is grain and gluten free, and a single-source protein (hydrolized chicken liver). And her appetite for it seems to be improving. Yay! I am really, really praying that the change in food will control the IBD.

When/if diabetes goes into remission, what should I watch for to know I need to lower her insulin dosage and/or take her off of insulin? I assume I watch for too low of glucose readings, indicating hypoglycemia? How dangerous is it if it drops too low? At what reading should I give her syrup?

Thanks for any advice!
 
Glad to see you back. And it sounds like you have a great plan going with hometesting and food.

It would be really helpful if you would set up a spreadsheet with your BG readings: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 That way, when you want advice, people can quickly see the data you have collected.

Usually 200 means no shot. You can wait for 30 minutes and test again to make sure it is going up and high enough to shoot. You don't want to see lower than 60s at nadir. 40-50, pull out food, the high carb food if necessary, then syrup if she is continuing down. Here is the hypo info: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887 Come on if you ever see 40s and 50s; we have walked lots of people through hypos.

Course the trick is never to get there. Test before every shot, lowering the dose as you see lower numbers in the curve.
 
My kitty had IBD as well, but I avoided the steroids, but since she had early kidney disease, I put her on the vet-recommended k/d. It was dry because my cat would never, in her 15 years, eat wet. Well, the k/d gave her diabetes--way too high in carbohydrates. This, obviously before I found this board and started taking my girl's nutrition into my own hands.

It took me 7 months, but I finally got her off the dry food--a process which was accelerated when the new bag of prescription diet allergy food (which she'd been on a couple months) caused her to vomit endlessly.

Ultimately, her IBD seems to be the result of motility issues. There was blockage and inflammation from the food not passing successfully through the system resulting in daily vomiting and diarrhea. This is now solved by Cisapride, but there is the remaining damage lingering--she is prone to inflammation and likely has issues with absorption. So, I give my cat a B-12 shot (cyanocobalamin)--which I highly, highly recommend because you can actually see the cat feel better that day--and add enzymes to her food (http://www.goodpet.com/library/pharmacyFiles/feline.asp). I had a consult with Dr. Lisa and now make the food myself (cooked, not the ideal raw because she is a grazer). Definitely not saying this is necessary, my kitty also did well on Tiki chicken and the Merrick Thanksgiving Dinner, but I actually find it's cheaper.

Obviously, every cat is different--but this is why I wanted to give you my experience as well. I know what a nightmare changing foods can be with a cat like this, but the carbohydrates in the z/d are so high, the chances of remission are that much lower. Maybe give it a month, and if you're still seeing high numbers or tummy trouble, I would try moving (slowly!) to a single protein food with minimal ingredients, or even just adding the enzymes which can help Anastasia process the carb load.
 
Weeble, thank you for the information. I had not heard of using enzymes. Do you know how I can tell by looking at the label on the can what the carb percentage is? I thought I made a good move by switching her from the dry ZD to the canned ZD. I thought it was significantly lower in both fat and carbs.

Did the diabetes for your kitty go into remission after you got her diet straightened out?
 
I just looked at the Hill's website: http://www.hillspet.com/products/pd-fel ... anned.html. If you click on nutrient and caloric contents it tells you it's 40% carbohydrates on a dry matter basis. The hypo-allergenic veterinary dry food I was feeding my cat actually had less than that, 28% I think. This wet would still be better than dry, but you get the general idea. And this is compared to the food around here they're recommending where over 10% is considered pretty high.

Weeble is currently in remission, and that would not have happened without this board. If I had one strong recommendation for you that I have no hesitation pushing it would be the B-12. You can have your cat tested, just for diagnostic reference, but it's not neccessary. It's a water-soluble vitamin and the excess is excreted through the urine. http://vetmed.tamu.edu/gilab/research/c ... nformation.

What was your cat eating before all this came to a head?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top