Scdal
Member Since 2020
I really appreciate this website and the help it gives to our diabetic cats. However, I get a lot of conflicting advice. This week, Phoenix dropped to 44 BG. One person told me to decrease his dose by .25 and another by .50 units. I really feel the .25 was the best answer because now his BG is climbing higher than it has been in months. I decreased it by .50 units.
Another problem is the conflicting advice on shooting low numbers. I have been giving insulin when his BG was 84. This week, I was told by a moderator not to shoot any lower than 90. I really feel like I need to shoot lower than 90.
I really am not trying to complain but I feel it would be better to get advice from just one person or people who agree on the control methods. I would like to get Phoenix 's BG under control. This week, I feel that I took a huge step backwards. The only reason his BG is still low in the mornings is because he hasn't eaten in 10 hours.
I think I need to go back up to 8.25 units but I would really appreciate some input or someone who would be willing to offer me advice. I am not asking for someone to be available to me all the time. I don't have a lot of free time to spend on this website. I would just like someone to whom I could turn to for advice. Any help would be appreciated. I am at a loss as to what to do.
Another problem is the conflicting advice on shooting low numbers. I have been giving insulin when his BG was 84. This week, I was told by a moderator not to shoot any lower than 90. I really feel like I need to shoot lower than 90.
I really am not trying to complain but I feel it would be better to get advice from just one person or people who agree on the control methods. I would like to get Phoenix 's BG under control. This week, I feel that I took a huge step backwards. The only reason his BG is still low in the mornings is because he hasn't eaten in 10 hours.
I think I need to go back up to 8.25 units but I would really appreciate some input or someone who would be willing to offer me advice. I am not asking for someone to be available to me all the time. I don't have a lot of free time to spend on this website. I would just like someone to whom I could turn to for advice. Any help would be appreciated. I am at a loss as to what to do.