I think Rusty is in remission !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone! Hi Bob and Sue!
It has been awhile since my last post. I think we have a really good news. In the last 8 days Rusty didn't need any insulin.Prior to that it happened for 5 days than he had a little BD spike, but it looks more and more permanent now. I am still afraid to get to exited or write about it. I continue to check his BG level 2-3 times a day and planning on to keep doing it. We haven't gone to see his vet yet. He was diagnosed at the end of September last year
and had DKA, went on canned FF right away without any problems, stayed with high BG for quiet a while and when the need in insulin started to decline and it went pretty fast from there. Any suggestions what to do now?
I am so grateful
>
for everyone's help and for the existence of this forum. You guys saved my Rusty's life without a doubt and made me so happy. Veterinarians do not provide good instructions how to take care of a diabetic cats
THANK YOU ALL A LOT!!!
I just would like to now what should we do from now on, I assume that diabetes can come back.

Janetta and Rusty
 
Ok, you start an official OTJ trial. We want daily updates, same thread is fine, on how Rusty continues to do.

A cat is considered to be officially OTJ after 14 days of normal numbers, 50-120, with most of those numbers being in the double digits. continue to test, I did twice a day and posted an AMBG and a PMBG. Once he passes the 14 day trial period, we have a party and celebrate.

Let me help you celebrate day 8 with you.

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Go Rusty Go, Go all the way to OTJ!​
 
What lovely news Janette (and Rusty)! Congrats on those lovely greens. Most people continue to test daily for a few weeks, then every couple days and then monthly. The trick is that you want to catch a higher number (if there is one). As far as how long remission will last, it's that the darn ECId thing. But there are kitties who have been in remission for years. Most often it seems that an infection or some contraband food throws them back into high numbers.

Technically we say 14 days under 120 but he has had great numbers for weeks with that one slip. I'm ready to party. party_cat party_cat

Please add your story to the Remission thread on the top of the page. It'll inspire people who are still slogging away.
 
Sue,
thank you so much for guiding me through this ordeal and being so helpful. I will post Rusty's story on the remission thread. And i hope it will be a real remission story.
 
Yeah, Rusty made it day #11.( I just counted days and I think I made a mistake in my original post on number of days without insulin, it was 10 not 8)
AMBG-76
PMBG-98
We deserve one more cheer- leading cat.
>


Janetta and Rusty
 
Hi all!

The latest on Rusty: He is still hanging in there. Though from yesterday's good numbers - 84(AMBG) and 106(PMBG) had a little slip first time in 13 days:113(AMBG); 165(+3); 118(PMBG). he has also been eating more for the last two days, so I guess higher numbers reflect that. He periodically goes through a couple of days of increased appetite. I hope to be back to normal tomorrow so we can have 14 days celebration party.

Janetta and Rusty
 
You may have to play with the food a little. Maybe feed smaller, more frequent meals? Go to a lower carb food? It does indicate he will be influenced by food, so you may have to always watch his food and never even give a higher carb treat.
 
Thank you Sue for your feedback! I understand the issue with the food volume. Will try to be on top of it on his excessive hanger days. And he doesn't get any carbs except the ones that come in his caned FF Classic. He does goes outside now , so I hope that he didn't befriend the neighbors. We started letting him out more for exersise reason and he also loves it. So far today he has been doing good: 96 (AMBG) and 94 (+6).
 
I like the tag idea Sue.Trying smaller meals. Hear a lots of complaining on Rusty's and my hubby"s sides. Well, will have to deal with this...

The PMBG is not ideal but not so bad -109. So that completes 14 days with one number only over 120. Even that the fact of Rusty doing so well during this two week makes me very happy, we are not out of the woods looks like. So I will continue

to monitor him and of course the diet. A few weeks ago i made him semi-row chicken meals, recommended by Dr. Lisa, he only ate it oncI, when it was fresh and then flatly refused my further attempts. I haven't tried to spruce it up with

Parmesan or Forty -Flora yet. Also tried a few other better quality canned foods recommended here and didn't have any lack ether. Really would like to eliminate all the carbs, so maybe you have some thoughts Sue.
 
I think the fish flavors are the lowest carb but you want to limit them to a few times a week because of the Mercury in them.

Anyway, I'll start dusting off the party hats for when you make the official announcement. :RAHCAT
 
I am not sure if I know the protocol for making official announcement, but here is my version.

I am beginning to believe that Rusty is in remission - we pass 2 weeks mark with numbers under 120, except for one slip, today is day#15 and AM and PM BG are still good-114 and 109.

HOORAY TO RUSTY and HOORAY TO ALL OF YOU FOR YOUR INVALUABLE HELP AND SUPPORT!!!!
 
party_cat party_cat party_cat drinking24 Congratulations!

We love an OTJ party!

I would urge you to keep testing. Most cats sit in the 50-80 range. He may gradually start coming down. If he goes up to the 120s, you want to catch it fast.
 
Thank you Rob.
Had to google " tunaritas". Hard to believe that it's a real drink.
Your Harley looks very much like my Rusty. From Harley's history looks like OTJ could be a very temporary thing. Well, they call it remission for a reason.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top