Hi and welcome! I've had fur shots where home testing showed that it was definitely a missed shot, that he did at least get some insulin, or that he definitely got the full dose, so when in doubt, NEVER give another shot. Only once have I ever given another shot and that's because the needle
bent instead of going in and when I pulled it back, the syringe was still full with the right dose. So, not even sure if that counts as a fur shot in the first place. :lol:
desertmare said:
And changing foods, should that be gradual?
And on food, are there other options rather than Fancy Feast? Like from the 'healthier' , non-chemical-laden brands? I thought I was doing well by them before, with the grain-free food
As LynnLee + Mousie mentioned, you don't want to change the food unless you're home testing because changing from dry to wet can drop their BG levels by a 100 points or more, so you want to be able to lower their dose appropriately to match.
When you do switch, since it seems they've been eating some wet already, it shouldn't be too difficult. Here are some
tips for transitioning and you generally want to do it slowly (about a week or so) because too fast of a change can cause vomiting and/or diarrhea.
There are a
TON of options available for food (look for anything less than 10%; the lower the better). A lot of people here feed Friskies (one of the least expensive) or Fancy Feast. Wellness, Merricks, Nature's Variety, and Evo are some other popular low carb brands. Note: it is recommended to only
feed fish a couple of times a week. You can also
make your own cat food if you feel so inclined.