Katray01
Member Since 2021
Hello to all the sugar sweet
moms and dads. I became a sugar cat mom on December 30th 2020.
Wiggles is 8 years old neutered male and he weighs 12.1 pounds. He was use to eating Purina 1 and friskies canned. Vet done bloodwork at which his BG was 600. They started him on Vetsulin 1unit two x a day. And gave me a list of foods. I changed him to Fancy Feast naturals with 0 carbs. Been using a Relion Premier. After few days BG still high. Called vet and they said gave 2 units 2 x day. And I did a curve and set to vet. Still highs. Talking upper 400 to 500 to it just reading high. Which means over 600. Hes had several of these readings. He wasn’t t eating as good as he was at the start. So Vet called me back yesterday said to give him 3 units 2 x day. and let him have some dry food to stimulant his appetite. So I was worried about him eating the dry. And not seeing his BG going down. So I did as they said. And he did eat several times his dry. And I knew when I went to check him and give shot and feed him it was going to be high. Since the insulin raised to 3 units. It’s still running 500s now and last reading at 1:00am it was another just High. I even checked my own BG. Which was normal. Vet said bring him back in a week to check weight. My question is could he be insulin resistant? Or has anyone else went though this.? Is 3 units 2 x a day of vetsulin and should that be working ?
It like the insulin isn’t fazing him.
My son was diagnosed at age 15 with type 1 and now has a pump. So I have some experience but for a cat it’s different in someways.
any help or advice will be appreciated. Thanks
Kat and Wiggles
moms and dads. I became a sugar cat mom on December 30th 2020.
Wiggles is 8 years old neutered male and he weighs 12.1 pounds. He was use to eating Purina 1 and friskies canned. Vet done bloodwork at which his BG was 600. They started him on Vetsulin 1unit two x a day. And gave me a list of foods. I changed him to Fancy Feast naturals with 0 carbs. Been using a Relion Premier. After few days BG still high. Called vet and they said gave 2 units 2 x day. And I did a curve and set to vet. Still highs. Talking upper 400 to 500 to it just reading high. Which means over 600. Hes had several of these readings. He wasn’t t eating as good as he was at the start. So Vet called me back yesterday said to give him 3 units 2 x day. and let him have some dry food to stimulant his appetite. So I was worried about him eating the dry. And not seeing his BG going down. So I did as they said. And he did eat several times his dry. And I knew when I went to check him and give shot and feed him it was going to be high. Since the insulin raised to 3 units. It’s still running 500s now and last reading at 1:00am it was another just High. I even checked my own BG. Which was normal. Vet said bring him back in a week to check weight. My question is could he be insulin resistant? Or has anyone else went though this.? Is 3 units 2 x a day of vetsulin and should that be working ?
It like the insulin isn’t fazing him.
My son was diagnosed at age 15 with type 1 and now has a pump. So I have some experience but for a cat it’s different in someways.
any help or advice will be appreciated. Thanks
Kat and Wiggles