I need some help with a food question.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been feeding frisky Fancy Feast Tender beef feast, Turkey $ Giblets feast, and Chicken feast. I have noticed lately that her gluecose numbers are a 100 point lower when she get the Beef than with the Turkey and Chicken. For Example the other day I feed her the Beef then gave her the injection(280 at the time of injection) 3.5 hours after she had droped to 104. When it was time for her next injection it was 270, I feed her the Chicken and 5 hours after the injection she was at 264. It was like I never gave her the injection but I had. I made sure it was a good injection and that I had not missed . This has been consistant over the last few days. None of these 3 have any glueton in them so is it something with the poltry. I even did the carb calculation and it seems that the beef is higher in carbs but her nubers are lower with the beef. She is doing great other than that. I took her the vet 2 week ago and she got a clean bill of heath and wanted to keep here at 3u.

She is on Prozinc 3u

Thanks.
 
Hi,

FF went through a formula change a while ago and some here have had some of the same issues you are talking about although FF insists they didn't change anything our kitties are telling us different. I switched to Wellness 4% carbs.

Maybe try just feeding the beef and if you stop getting the bg spikes then you will know it's the turkey & chicken.

How did you get to 3 units? That is alot of insulin.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Hi,

FF went through a formula change a while ago and some here have had some of the same issues you are talking about although FF insists they didn't change anything our kitties are telling us different. I switched to Wellness 4% carbs.

Maybe try just feeding the beef and if you stop getting the bg spikes then you will know it's the turkey & chicken.

How did you get to 3 units? That is alot of insulin.


Thanks.
Between the 2 curves the vet did and the ones I been doing at home it took 3u to get her regulated. Her lowest number was a 99 the day after we went from 2.5 to 3(Vet started her out at 1unit and she increased it by half each curve ). Her numbers tend between 260 and 290 at injection time and as low as 99 to 130 at the peak, But as I have noticed it looks like it depends on the food also. I am going to start just feeding her the beef and see where that goes. It may be that just feeding the beef and the vet will reduce the amount insulin.

She get NO dry food at all now. That was the 1st thing I gotrid of.
 
Food does play a big part in their bg levels. High carb food = High BG's.

Good for you for home testing, that is the key to keeping Frisky safe.

Don't shoot insulin if her BG pre shot test is under 200. Instead post in Health and ask for advise and let people know that you are shooting 3 units, it makes a difference.

You are going to want to start a spreadsheet and link it to your signature. The instructions are in the Tech Forum. Then people can click on it and see your history and won't have to ask you the same questions over and over. This is especially helpful in an emergency.

Until then you can post your bg numbers in your post like this.

AMPS (am pre shot)
+ 1 - (1 hour after injection)
+2 - (2 hours after injection)
etc.

Since the people on here are international we are all in different time zones so posting the +'s after injection keeps us on the same page.

Welcome to FDMB.
 
I found the same thing with Fancy Feast ( and I only used the ones from the approved low carb list ) . I "tested" several other brands also, and her urine glucose was highest with Fancy Feast, so you arent alone. ( I was not using insulin, so ketodiastrips were fine ) I too, as above, switched to Wellness, and her urine sugar is negative. I am trying some Merrick brand food now, I'd like her to have more flavors, as some people on this board seem to say that does well. I'll see how that does.


J&B~
 
I'm wondering a bit if she's rollercoasting... That her BG goes down so low on the Beef (possibly because she's leaning towards a dose decrease) that her body overcompensates so that she's artificially high for the next few days. You might want to try feeding her just 1 flavor (any of them really) for 3-4 days in a row to see what happens. If she stays high on one flavor, eliminate it. If she does the same pattern then you'll need to consider dosing options. Obviously you'll need to be testing several times a day to see the trend, at the least you'd want pre-shot and nadir tests, with perhaps a test thrown in halfway between those two times. The others can walk you through this in finer detail.

One thing to consider though - when it comes to cat food allergies, beef tops the list just about. We always tried to feed mainly chicken/turkey with some beef and some fish due to that.
 
Thanks Everyone

I am going to try one flavor at a time over the next few week and see where that goes. I am also going to get a ss going.



I have one other question. Could the insulin be going bad. The bottle I am using has been opened for 2 month's. There is not much left and I was trying to get as much of it out as possible due to the fact it is $102.00. How long is it good for? It has been kept in the fridge.

NM I found the answer on the prozinc site:
How long can a PROZINC vial be used after it is opened?

Although product literature or labels for other insulin products advocate replacing insulin vials every month, there are no special requirements to periodically replace PROZINC once the bottle has been punctured under normal use conditions. PROZINC is a suspension and once mixed has a whitish cloudy appearance. Of course, if discoloration or other abnormal appearances are observed, indicating contamination within the vial, it should be discarded. Loss of insulin activity in the bottle should always be considered whenever clinical symptoms or signs recur, regardless of the amount of insulin in the bottle.

I am thinking this may be the case. I am going to starting using the new bottle I got last Friday. The old bottle was opened on August 31 and I noticed the numbers starting to go crazy a week and a half ago. Maybe Prozinc is only good for 2 months. I going to the new bottle on the next injection. I will let everyone know how it goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top