? I need some Guidance - 02/20 Henry AMPS 109 +8 124 PMPS 175 +3.5 178

Golf2015

Member Since 2020

  • When Henry is creeping back up in his numbers
To get control back the increases in units seem to peek at 4 to 4.25 units and then the crash happens

The earlier years had months before I had to elevate back up in units

It's seems here in the last 18 months I'm evidently not staying on top of it as well (less time)

Can you folks look at his spread sheet and see what your pops out at you what I'm doing wrong

Thank You

Robert
 
  • When Henry is creeping back up in his numbers
To get control back the increases in units seem to peek at 4 to 4.25 units and then the crash happens

The earlier years had months before I had to elevate back up in units

It's seems here in the last 18 months I'm evidently not staying on top of it as well (less time)

Can you folks look at his spread sheet and see what your pops out at you what I'm doing wrong

Thank You

Robert
His SS looks incredible. Keep in mind that there is a 20% meter variance between readings on the same meter so 94 and 102 are pretty much the same number.

Having said that, insulin is a hormone and not a medication and many things can change it including, yes, barometric pressure. We don’t always know why the BG changes (although I’d say his changes are tiny compared to most). BGs can change a bit as cats age and maybe get a bit of arthritis or have some other minor medical issue. But it can be really subtle stuff like, the change in seasons. My Gracie always had better BGs in the spring and summer and horrible ones in the fall.

As long as he’s feeling good, I wouldn’t worry. When I flip back through his SSs from different years, honestly, I don’t see much difference. You are doing a great job with him increasing the dose when he needs more insulin so just keep doing what you are doing and don’t stress if he needs a bit more from time to time.
 
Last edited:
His SS looks incredible. Keep in mind that there is a 20% meter variance between readings on the same meter so 94 and 102 are pretty much the same number.

Having said that, insulin is a hormone and not a medication and many things can change it including, yes, barometric pressure. We don’t always know why the BG changes from (although I’d say his changes are tiny compared to most). BGs can change a bit as cats age and maybe get a bit of arthritis or have some other minor medical issue. But it can be really subtle stuff like, the change in seasons. My Gracie always had better BGs in the spring and summer and horrible ones in the fall.

As long as he’s feeling good, I wouldn’t worry. When I flip back through his SSs from different years, honestly, I don’t see much difference. You are doing a great job with him ind ether mining when he needs more insulin so just keep doing what you are doing and don’t stress if he needs a bit more from time to time.


OK that makes me feel a lot better coming from you. I have never forgot this ==> back in late 2020 how you were able to get Henry down from the high 400's to below the 100's in about 10 weeks. I just thought that was remarkable, so I have a great deal of respect for you helping Henry out of that mess.

Now I slightly suspect he might be a little under the weather but I emphasize maybe I'm totally not sure. I just got this sense that he might be. You know how it is when you get to know your cat's personality but your just not sure

So glad to hear from you again

Again Thank you so much
 
OK that makes me feel a lot better coming from you. I have never forgot this ==> back in late 2020 how you were able to get Henry down from the high 400's to below the 100's in about 10 weeks. I just thought that was remarkable, so I have a great deal of respect for you helping Henry out of that mess.

Now I slightly suspect he might be a little under the weather but I emphasize maybe I'm totally not sure. I just got this sense that he might be. You know how it is when you get to know your cat's personality but your just not sure

So glad to hear from you again

Again Thank you so much
You’re welcome! I know it’s hard not to worry if the dose edges up a bit but they need what they need. Again….you've done a great job of knowing when he needs a bit more or a bit less.:D:D
 
Back
Top