I need some advice, I'm not sure what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lettie

Member Since 2021
Bubbles blood sugar is still in the 300's and after a week of 1.5 units of ProZinc his morning bg has been in the 400's. It is 400's whether he is checked at 4a.m. or 6a.m. He is eating Fancy Feast Classic pate (4 cans) and gets purely fancy feast chicken treats after his test.
We did a curve yesterday after a week of 1.5 and still in the 300's. So this morning I started him on 1.75 units insulin. That 400 is really mystifying me! Anything I should do different?
He is the same weight 13 lbs. And loves to be outside in this weather watching the birds! Thank you!
Lettie & Bubbles
 
We did a curve yesterday after a week of 1.5 and still in the 300's.
Please keep your spreadsheet up to date, especially when looking for dosing help.
Would it be possible for you to get some tests after the preshot tests at night? Maybe just before going to bed. We decide how to change the dose based on the low point, not the preshot. The preshot test is to make sure it's safe to give insulin, so still necessary. It is possible Bubbles is going lower in between the shots and his body is bouncing as a result. That could be the 400's. Bouncing just means his body overcompensating to seeing sugar values lower than he's used to. And is perfectly normal when you increase the dose and he hopefully starts seeing lower numbers.
It is 400's whether he is checked at 4a.m. or 6a.m
Anytime you get a test, make sure you put it in the spreadsheet. Right now I only see one later shot after PMPS. Many cats go lower at night.
 
Please keep your spreadsheet up to date, especially when looking for dosing help.
Would it be possible for you to get some tests after the preshot tests at night? Maybe just before going to bed. We decide how to change the dose based on the low point, not the preshot. The preshot test is to make sure it's safe to give insulin, so still necessary. It is possible Bubbles is going lower in between the shots and his body is bouncing as a result. That could be the 400's. Bouncing just means his body overcompensating to seeing sugar values lower than he's used to. And is perfectly normal when you increase the dose and he hopefully starts seeing lower numbers.

Anytime you get a test, make sure you put it in the spreadsheet. Right now I only see one later shot after PMPS. Many cats go lower at night.
I have not done any tests after his evening shot. I do put every test result on the spreadsheet. If I am need to be testing more please let me know. I will do tests tonight. How many should I do? I am really being given a hard time by my vet. She told me I am doing way too many tests. It is too hard on Bubbles to do it that much. I am presently ignoring her. I know the tests are needed and I am so thankful to have you to help us.
 
I assumed since you said Bubbles was the same at 4am or 6am you were testing then. I don't know how many hours after the PM shot you go to bed, but getting a test just before you go to bed (if at least 2-3 hours after shot) can be helpful. If you are home days or weekends, getting some tests in the middle of shot time can also be helpful in seeing what is happening.

I hate that vets hassle people about testing. My Neko loved them (well, loved the treats), but she'd often purr at test time. Occasionally she'd outright ask for them, and not always when low - just to get a treat. :p Of course it helped that she'd often ask for them when lower too.

At one point I was thinking of switching vets, and talked to one who'd had a diabetic and did some home testing. Clearly not enough though, turns out she lost him likely due to a hypo. :( I didn't go with that vet but stuck with mine after all who was willing to learn. I was her first client to home test.
 
I assumed since you said Bubbles was the same at 4am or 6am you were testing then. I don't know how many hours after the PM shot you go to bed, but getting a test just before you go to bed (if at least 2-3 hours after shot) can be helpful. If you are home days or weekends, getting some tests in the middle of shot time can also be helpful in seeing what is happening.

I hate that vets hassle people about testing. My Neko loved them (well, loved the treats), but she'd often purr at test time. Occasionally she'd outright ask for them, and not always when low - just to get a treat. :p Of course it helped that she'd often ask for them when lower too.

At one point I was thinking of switching vets, and talked to one who'd had a diabetic and did some home testing. Clearly not enough though, turns out she lost him likely due to a hypo. :( I didn't go with that vet but stuck with mine after all who was willing to learn. I was her first client to home test.
I get up for work some mornings at 4a.m. And some mornings at 5 a.m. for work so my son and I do his test and his shot then. The two days I am home we do his test at 6 a.m. so we can sleep in a little. We always do his test, shot, and food at that time in the morning and 5 p.m. test, shot and food. I usually am in bed by 8 p.m. and can surely do a test then. I can also do some afternoon tests also.
Bubbles is the same way with his tests. He jumps up on the bench and is ready to get it done so he can get that treat! I do his shot while he starts eating so he's ok with that also!
We'll do another test tonight.
Lettie & Bubbles
 
I get up for work some mornings at 4a.m. And some mornings at 5 a.m. for work so my son and I do his test and his shot then. The two days I am home we do his test at 6 a.m. so we can sleep in a little. We always do his test, shot, and food at that time in the morning and 5 p.m. test, shot and food. I usually am in bed by 8 p.m. and can surely do a test then. I can also do some afternoon tests also.
Bubbles is the same way with his tests. He jumps up on the bench and is ready to get it done so he can get that treat! I do his shot while he starts eating so he's ok with that also!
We'll do another test tonight.
Lettie & Bubbles

Sound Good. You do what you can to work it around your work, own sleep, and Own food time. Have Your Priorities.
:bighug:
 
Lettie --

One of the reason it's important to get more tests is to see how low Bubbles numbers may be dropping. It's entirely possible that your kitty's numbers are lower over the course of the PM cycle and bouncing into higher ranges by the AM cycle. Without getting a "before bed" test every night at the minimum, you have no idea what's happened at night. This is especially the case if you are out of the house during the AM cycle.

A curve can be helpful but it's a one day snapshot rather than getting some random tests when you can. If you can try to get more tests, especially during the PM cycle, it will help us to help you sort out what's going on.

Also, if Bubbles goes outdoors, are you sure he's not eating anything that could be high carb if he's out and about?
 
Lettie --

One of the reason it's important to get more tests is to see how low Bubbles numbers may be dropping. It's entirely possible that your kitty's numbers are lower over the course of the PM cycle and bouncing into higher ranges by the AM cycle. Without getting a "before bed" test every night at the minimum, you have no idea what's happened at night. This is especially the case if you are out of the house during the AM cycle.

A curve can be helpful but it's a one day snapshot rather than getting some random tests when you can. If you can try to get more tests, especially during the PM cycle, it will help us to help you sort out what's going on.

Also, if Bubbles goes outdoors, are you sure he's not eating anything that could be high carb if he's out and about?


Yes, I will certainly test him at different times throughout the day. Should it always be 2 hours after he's eaten? That will help alot to know that. I am excited about his morning test today!
My son is a vegetable farmer and so right now is his non busy time. Bubbles is like a little dog and follows my son everywhere. My son always knows where he is and what he's doing so he doesn't wander (We live in the country). Bubbles is missing his four "hunting" teeth so if he does catch something my son gets to him before he eats anything. This morning while we were getting ready to poke his ear he was purring away! I don't think he's too stressed like my vet says! He is waiting for his treat!
Also, I was going to ask....when Bubbles went in for his checkup and was tested for diabetes at my request, the vet did none of the shots he was scheduled to get. Do we wait for the shots until his bg is more under control?
 
Yes, I will certainly test him at different times throughout the day. Should it always be 2 hours after he's eaten? That will help alot to know that. I am excited about his morning test today!
My son is a vegetable farmer and so right now is his non busy time. Bubbles is like a little dog and follows my son everywhere. My son always knows where he is and what he's doing so he doesn't wander (We live in the country). Bubbles is missing his four "hunting" teeth so if he does catch something my son gets to him before he eats anything. This morning while we were getting ready to poke his ear he was purring away! I don't think he's too stressed like my vet says! He is waiting for his treat!
Also, I was going to ask....when Bubbles went in for his checkup and was tested for diabetes at my request, the vet did none of the shots he was scheduled to get. Do we wait for the shots until his bg is more under control?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top