I Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Eleanor had recurring ear infections for a couple months. Her bg was mostly in the 200 range.
She started bouncing to high 300's and then was being treated for an ear infection in November, I was giving her 3.25u. After a few days on the ear drops, her bg dropped to 60, I reduced her to 3u. She continued to drop and I continued to reduce finally settling at 2.25 with nadirs around 150 and PS high 200's.

Bg started coming up early December, vet found "some" bacteria in both ears. Back on ear drops. Bg up into 200's and 300's.
Curve on 12/19 PS310 - 289-310-350-344-339
Raised to 2.50 next cycle on 12/20 AMPS 295 +3.5 163 +5 143 +6 169 +10 237 PMPS 335 +6 177
She was between 145 and 310 until 12/25 her PMPS jumped up to 357 nadir 187, 12/26 AMPS 383 nadir 283.
12/26 PMPS12/27 307 +6 273 +8 312 and I was half hour late with her shot.
12/27 AMPS 411 +6 247 PMPS 312 +5 268
12/28 AMPS 321 +5.5 278 PMPS 386 increased dose to fat 2.50. +5 199 +9 209
12/29 AMPS 307 +4 158 +6 163 PMPS 377 +6 325
12/30 AMPS 282 +6 247 PMPS 303 +5 224
12/31 AMPS 299 +5 245 PMPS 329 +6 281
1/1 AMPS 302 She got away from me, I think I got the full dose in but not positive. +5 255. PMPS 285 FUR SHOT! +5 255 peeing a lot and very hungry
1/2 AMPS 322 +5 278 but no longer peeing a lot, appetite more normal.

Should I increase more? I'm confused because I had to lower her dose so much. I thought her numbers came down because the ear infection was clearing up. But now I'm very upset with her numbers and the fact that they really aren't coming down.and, as I said I'm confused. I do not want to be giving her too much insulin again as I think I was doing for quite awhile with the 3u and 3.25 in an effort to get her bg down. But, I don't want to not give her enough insulin.

I'm sorry my SS is not up to date. My computer is barely working, it took almost 40 minutes just to open FDMB. I'm doing the best I can. I'm also sorry if my question is not clear. I've been informed before that I don't make myself clear - again I'm sorry.

I don't know when I'll be able to get online again, if anyone reads this and wants to call me, my number is 602-973-7197.
 
What is in the ear drops? Any steroid to reduce inflammatin? That could explain why the drops make the glucose go up, as well as the presence of infection.
 
Julie and Eleanor said:
Eleanor had recurring ear infections for a couple months. Her bg was mostly in the 200 range.
She started bouncing to high 300's and then was being treated for an ear infection in November, I was giving her 3.25u. After a few days on the ear drops, her bg dropped to 60, I reduced her to 3u. She continued to drop and I continued to reduce finally settling at 2.25 with nadirs around 150 and PS high 200's.

Bg started coming up early December, vet found "some" bacteria in both ears. Back on ear drops. Bg up into 200's and 300's.
Curve on 12/19 PS310 - 289-310-350-344-339
Raised to 2.50 next cycle on 12/20 AMPS 295 +3.5 163 +5 143 +6 169 +10 237 PMPS 335 +6 177
She was between 145 and 310 until 12/25 her PMPS jumped up to 357 nadir 187, 12/26 AMPS 383 nadir 283.
12/26 PMPS12/27 307 +6 273 +8 312 and I was half hour late with her shot.
12/27 AMPS 411 +6 247 PMPS 312 +5 268
12/28 AMPS 321 +5.5 278 PMPS 386 increased dose to fat 2.50. +5 199 +9 209
12/29 AMPS 307 +4 158 +6 163 PMPS 377 +6 325
12/30 AMPS 282 +6 247 PMPS 303 +5 224
12/31 AMPS 299 +5 245 PMPS 329 +6 281
1/1 AMPS 302 She got away from me, I think I got the full dose in but not positive. +5 255. PMPS 285 FUR SHOT! +5 255 peeing a lot and very hungry
1/2 AMPS 322 +5 278 but no longer peeing a lot, appetite more normal.

Should I increase more? I'm confused because I had to lower her dose so much. I thought her numbers came down because the ear infection was clearing up. But now I'm very upset with her numbers and the fact that they really aren't coming down.and, as I said I'm confused. I do not want to be giving her too much insulin again as I think I was doing for quite awhile with the 3u and 3.25 in an effort to get her bg down. But, I don't want to not give her enough insulin.

I'm sorry my SS is not up to date. My computer is barely working, it took almost 40 minutes just to open FDMB. I'm doing the best I can. I'm also sorry if my question is not clear. I've been informed before that I don't make myself clear - again I'm sorry.

I don't know when I'll be able to get online again, if anyone reads this and wants to call me, my number is 602-973-7197.

Well, you're home testing, so that should help you eliminate giving too much insulin, yes? Keep in mind that with infections, sometimes they are tough to fix.... you can give some meds and it seems like it's getting better.... you get better BG and even may need to give less insulin, but then the AB are all finished, and you may see the numbers come up again.... it could be the infection's back.

As said already, some meds can cause BG to rise, but that's OK because you want the infections gone, so if you can't get any unsweetened version of the AB or the AB you are giving has a tendency to raise BG, just tough it out, give more insulin as needed.

It's really hard to figure out the right dose when your cat is sick and on meds, so just keep testing, and dose what is needed to get to better BG.

When you get a chance to update your ss, please do, but don't feel badly about computer issues... they prevent many from doing all that they would like to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top