Since we're unsure about the dose at AMPS on 12/13, you'd want to hold the 2.5 at least one more cycle so you have a total of 6 before making the decision to increase.
Our advice also depends a lot on which dosing method you're going to use. Tight Regulation or Start Low, Go Slow? The stickies at the top of the Lantus forum describe the differences.
TR gives the best chance at remission because we can raise the dose by .25 as often as every 6 cycles if it's not getting them where we want them. That reduces the chance of having glucose toxicity set which may require a higher dose later on to break through the resistance......but it requires a canned or raw food diet only and a little more frequent testing (but if you can continue to test as much as you have, you're good!!). Reductions in dose are earned if they drop below 50 on a human meter.
SLGS only allows dose increases every 7 days, so it can leave them in higher numbers longer than we may like, but it doesn't require quite as much testing. Reductions are earned when they drop below 90.