I gave him insulin and then of course he didn't eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bethsville

Member Since 2014
Thanks BJM for sending me this way.

My 12yo male 14lb cat Casey was diagnosed yesterday at vets office after frequent drinking/urinating and losing some weight (slowly over time). BG nearly 600! He had his first dose of 2 units of Lantus insulin last night 7:45 and ate his regular dry food meal. Second dose of insulin this morning 7:30 and ate regularly again (we had been feeding him morning and night and will continue). Tonight we gave him insulin and then - of course - he only ate like a dozen pieces of kibble around 9. Lesson learned give the insulin after the food. The doc said his new food would be in tomorrow.

I coaxed Casey in to eating half a can of wet food about 10. He puked what looked like everything up at 10:30. I called the hospital and they said try food again around 11:30 (let his tummy rest so he doesn't puke more) and I think I'll give him some Karo too because I'm freaked out that the insulin will peak (6 hours after administration?) while I'm asleep. He's acting okay... Back and forth to the water bowl as is his routine lately, poor guy.
 
I'm Beth by the way. I ordered a BG test kit but don't have it yet. Casey has been on Blue Indoor Health dry food.
 
Casey's been tired but responsive all night. I gave him Karo twice, couple hours apart and have been on phone with hospital many times. Won't eat, throws up after water. Poor guy. We're going to the vet in an hour.
 
2 units is kind of a high starting dose.

If you switch the food to a lower carb food, and are still giving him the 2 units, it may drop your cats BG levels too much. Please be careful and be sure to test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top