I'm sorry if I wasn't clear. I looked at your SS and saw that on most days since, say, 15 March the dose in the AM was one number followed by either a no shot or lower dose in the PM. I based my comments on that. This short description of the recommended approach might clarify things:
- select a reasonable dose
- give that dose AM and PM for at least 4 cycles (2 days)
- get some middle cycle tests to see how low that dose drops the BG
- if the nadir range BGs are in the double digits above 50 on a human meter keep that dose
- if the nadir range numbers are consistently higher (high blues and above) increase by 0.2 u both AM and PM
- if he surprises you with a lower than usual PS you have some options that I'll outline below.
This is for a human meter:
- if close to 200 (maybe 180 and above), stall without feeding for 30 minutes and retest. If BG has risen try the full dose.
- if in the 150 to 180 range, try stalling up to an hour and if rising do the above. If BG isn't rising much give a reduced dose. How much to reduce is always a conundrum. Maybe try a 2/3 dose.
- if BG is much lower (say, 100 to 120) give token dose - size depends on what the normal dose is. It's best to avoid skipping if you can.
If you're finding yourself with a lower than usual PS on many days the dose needs to come down so the same dose can be given both AM and PM. As hard as it is, try not to react to individual numbers by changing the dose unless a PS is uncharacteristically low.
The fact that Jack's insulin needs are dropping is a good sign even though it's stressful for you.