i could use some eyes.

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

tom is on day 2 lev. our ss is current. it is 1/2 hour past his shot time and he is at his lowest part of his cycle. no curve. rather flat day---only 80 points lower than amps. do i shoot his 1u?
 
Hard to say since he hasn't been on Lev that long, but it looks relatively safe to shoot the full dose.
Will be interesting to see what he does tomorrow.

MJ&Donovan
 
learning this after years on pzi is like going from a pc to a mac!
i want more opinions...i'll test again and see if he's still on his way down.
 
youre starting to build a shed. If you are uncomfortable, can you get a +1 or +2?
I think if you switch around the dose (like you would in pzi), you will never get a handle on his numbers.
I noticed in your health post one shot since you started (last night?) was a reduction ...sk 1.0. You would want to mark that on your ss.
I understand you cant stay up all night. Most of us cant. How far into the pm cycle can you get?
Is it a possibility to change your shot time to better allow you to get spot checks at night, if even just in the beginning until you feel more confident?

Looks like he is responding. I think that is great!
 
I also noticed in your recent post on health you are over 45 min late (by now) on shot. Thats already considered a dose decrease. Just something to factor in.
 
Lori....I don't know whether you should shoot or not. If it was lantus, and I was going to monitor, then I would shoot but I don't know anything about lev except the nadir is further out; in other words, don't use my advice on what I'd do on lantus with monitoring :-D . But like was said, it's best to try to move your shot times around, if at all possible, so you can do some evening checks. I know Pat's two cats peak at about +8 and she actually gets up in the middle of the night to do a quick check on them. Gla to see you started lev and already seeing some nicer numbers!!!
 
well he got his 1u about 1 1/2 hour late when he got up to 285. i'm a newbie so i had to feel safe and that he was on the rise. that was not truly a skinny last nite...i changed my mind at the last second and gave his full dose.
it's so hard to take off my pzi hat and adjust to my lev hat but give me time and i willSubject: i could use some eyes.

and marjorie somehow this ended up being pm'd to you! don't know how..but i copy/pasted it here.
 
carolyn when i reread your post i must have misunderstood. when you said can i get +1 or +2 i took it to mean can i check his #'s at that time to see if he's ready for a shot ohmygod_smile i've been around long enough to have understood what you meant.
sooooo, i dosecreased tonight? not last night tho'.
aiy yi yi,,i'll get it right pretty soon.
 
just so i understand...do you mean it's ok to shoot when your curve is still going down, when you have'nt even started the curve upwards...?
 
A delayed shot is similar to a dose decrease because you've allowed the shed to drain a little, but since TomTom is most likely still building his shed, it's harder to predict what will happen. Getting a +1 and/or +2 can be a good indicator of whether you'll see some major action in that cycle.

I wouldn't shoot a curve that is still going down unless you know your cat's cycles VERY well. That takes some major cajones. It was wise to wait until you saw a rise. Here's hoping for some nice flat boring yellow and blue numbers tomorrow. I know how strange it feels to switch insulins - when I changed from Vetsulin to Levemir, I was like OMG, I can't shoot a yellow! Then OMG, I can't shoot a blue! Then OMG, I can't shoot a GREEN :shock:!
But eventually I knew I could, and did :cool:

MJ&Donovan
 
I agree with what the folks here have said and what Dian posted in Health. All of this has got to feel a little weird because all of your experience with PZI and your knowledge about its use along with your data is yesterday's news. Every time you think about adjusting dose based on the pre-shot value, stop and remind yourself this is Lev, not PZI.

You are also correct in that until you have more data, you probably don't want to shoot a dropping number. It also depends on where that number is dropping from. If it's a yellow or a blue, that's better than shooting a green that's on the way down. (I shot a dropping, low green once and I don't recommend it.) It's also fine to shoot if you know Tom is surfing. Again, if he's surfing at 50, you probably don't want to shoot right now. It all depends on the particular situation and what you know about your cat on Lev.

FWIW, I think you would have been fine to shoot the 233. If you look at the Data Ready sticky, we will often tell newbies to not shoot below 150. If you want to set the "wait and see" number at 200, that's fine. You were well within a margin of safety to shoot at 233. I'm guessing if you'd waiting an hour, you would have caught the rise a bit earlier. (FYI: If you shot on the 285, that's the number that we put in the PMPS slot. Your AM shot time will be 12 hours from when you gave your PM shot. Right now, your SS is a little confusing since you have a green 13.5 in the +1 spot from last night.)

Right now, if you can concentrate of building up enough data so you have a solid understanding of where Tom's Lev onset and nadir are and what kind of duration he gets, you will be doing a lot to build your comfort level.
 
THANK YOU ALL! just to clarify: monday day 1 on lev tom's nadir was somewhere between 5.5 and 11.5 i was gone so lack of testing. but he was higher at 11.5 and again at +12.
yesterday rather flat all day but continually s-l-o-w-l-y heading down..by +12 a whole 80 points since amps.
so with the data i had at the time was i correct to hold off, or considering the number was high enough (he did drop 300 points the day before) was i ok to shoot a nadirless day?
i have air bubbles so i compensate by shooting a little over the line.

i would like to admit here i have a fresh understanding of newbie overload and headache! confused_cat @-) :-D
thank you for any clarifications that i don't seem to be absorbing so great. sounds like there are some grey area's.
 
:lol: on the headaches...it's weird to adjust to, especially after all the good help you've given others!

go, Tom, go!
 
thanks omg, i forgot your name bink's mommy! :oops: :oops: brain is too full, need more space...also just came thru flooded house repairs so forgive me honey.
it'll come to me.
 
Hi, Lori & Tom..
Stopped by to see your spreadsheet & I am happy Tom is on Lev now & I suspect good #s are around the corner.. I hope your class went well the other day too! :razz:
 
Nicole your so sweet always checking on us with encouragment..class went very well, as compared to where we were these ARE great numbers! :mrgreen:
i am still so unsure about apropriate shots tho'. i know i have to start trusting my gut. i was never afraid of hypo while on pzi but these numbers so far feel pretty unpredictable to me. we dropped 300 points on the first day...not but 80 points on the 2nd day and over 200 points today (that i know of) so i am in a quandry.
 
It would sure be challenging going from one insulin to another, with a whole new set of "how it works", Baby has only been on Lantus.. so I am not of any real help.. I know nothing about PZI, but understand that Lev & Lan are similar. I can only say.. that consistency is key when it comes to the time of the shots & dose. The good news is.. he is in lower #s & like any new thing.. it is scary at first.. but before long you will be a pro again & only want those lower #s :mrgreen: hang in there, you are doing a fabulous job with Tom & he is blessed to have you :YMHUG: ask all the questions you want & stop by anytime.. we are all here for you both.
 
of course. and a +12 and a +13 etc.
i want to stay conservative carolyn becuase tomorow is the only day this week i get to work. i've had no app't all week and tomorow i'm full.
go easy on me k?
 
Here is a good link in case no one is around come shot time:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33860

Another tip: If you shoot late, you should still shoot at +12 for the next shot, or you deal with shed overlap. You can make up 30 minutes a day in one chunk (amps or pmps) OR in 15min increments both am/pm.

Great to see Tom coming down!
 
well carolyn since this is only our 3rd day and our data is rather limited and erratic i hesitate to shoot more than .25.
the first day tom went down 300 points by +5, yesterday he only got down 80 points and it took him 12 hours to accomplish that. today he went down 300 point again but again it took him 11 hours to do that. i'm afraid i don't have the bos to do much and i'd be very surprised if he went up very much in an hour...maybe 2. still, could he go down again on his own? i just don't have the data.
 
Lori,
You are correct, there is not much data to make an easy decision. Whatever you decide will be a learning experience. Remember it for the next time to help guide you. I would encourage shooting as close to your shot time as possible , since you have to stick to your schedule tomorrow. But again, whatever you choose...hopefully will be data to learn from and use in the future.

Tomorrow you could start an official condo and summarize what you have learned in the last few days! :mrgreen:
 
:lol: :lol: lori...my problem is the exact opposite of yours...my brain is too EMPTY!!

celi...or cuddles...or punky beanster...or kind of anything you want to call me (except Blanche...i don't like the name Blanche...)
 
oh celi, how could i forget! but what mine is full of you do not want. information overload!
 
Hi Lori
I have not posted in your condo yet so let me say welcome. I am also a Lev user formally a Lantus user which wasn't a big change for me except that Lev tends to have a later nadir but as you know ECID.

I was looking at Tom's ss and noticed your shot times. It appears that on 1/11 your shot time was at +13.5. The following morning on 1/12 it looks like you shot at +11. According to your ss Tom's dose is supposed to be 1.0u...correct? I also see noted on your ss that last night you shot 0.25u at +13.

I realize you are new to Lev but not new to FD. I am not familiar with the insulin that you previously used but from what I have learned it is very different than Lantus or Lev. I know it will be very hard to forget all you know about your last insulin and start over with insulin that is used differently.

The most important thing I can say is that Lev works best if you stick to a 12/12 schedule. I know that can not always be the case but while you are new to this insulin and as you try to collect data that is the best advice I can give you. Also if you shoot late for example at +13 your next shot needs to be 12 hours from that time. When you shoot late it is like a decrease and when you shoot early it is like an increase. If you change the shot times around so much when you are new and trying to collect valuable data it will not give a very clear picture of how Tom is reacting to his new insulin.

Sometime life gets in the way and we cannot always stick to that 12/12 schedule so adjustments need to be made and that is fine.

Is there any way you could shoot earlier than 9am/9pm? I ask this because you are on the west coast and although there are people in your time zone to help there would be more people available to help you at an earlier time.

There is a lot to learn and yes it is like being a newbie all over again but the good thing is you already know how to test and you have your ss.
Now you just need to collect some data so you are comfortable shooting lower numbers which we have all gone through.
 
Miriam's observations are absolutely on target. I honestly couldn't tell from your SS if you were shooting on a 12/12 schedule or were shooting late in the PM and then early in the AM. In addition to what Miriam noted, adjusting shot times this way plays havoc with the shed and will give you really weird looking numbers.

Like Miriam, I also wondered if you were able to move your shot times earlier. I think some others had mentioned this previously and I have no idea whether this would work for your schedule. The Board is relatively slow at the times you are shooting so it will be harder for you to get immediate input should you need it. Moving your shot time might also have the added benefit of allowing you to get some additional checks during the evening cycle.

FYI: We encourage everyone to get a +1 and +2 if you are shooting a number that's lower than what you've previously shot.
 
Hi Miriam and Sienne,
For clarification Tom was on pz unitl Jan 9th so those different doses and different shot time were approriate at THAT time.
Now as of the 10th the only reason I put off the shot time was I had no nadir...in other words he was still going down by +12 and a few folks suggested that withour data it would be ok to wait until i saw him going up.
I shot the next morning at +11 becuase with that high number I thought why wait? Was that wrong...also trying to get back on schedule.
Last night I also was told I had three options at his +12 which was also his lowest # that day.
1.skip shot
2. wait and keep testing until # goes up
with those options I was comfortable with shooting a reduced rate at a slightyly rising # at +13.
With my 3 days worth of data was what I did not prudent and advisable?

This morning I apparently was wrong with the .25 I gave him at +13 becuase at +11 he was 600+ and I just shot him his full u
I will now have to ponder the idea that he nadirs at +12 and continue to shoot his full u knowing all the while i have a sleep disorder that makes it near impossible for me to fully wake up and if I do I can garantee you I am just slightly 40% coherent.
Help me correct what my mistakes were, I did what I thought was right based on the data I had.
 
and btw, i would love to change his dose times...i don't know if 8/8 would help very much in terms of beans available but it would give me at least a +3 before i go to bed. if however that # is low i am in deep ---- as my med's will have kicked in.
i hope i am not an inapropriate candidate for this insulin what with my sleep disorder.

tom did hypo once 4 years ago before going otj for 2.5 years. i was medicated for the evening and beans had me on the phone till 2am whilst i was groggy and falling asleep while they called LORI WAKE UP---TEST AGAIN....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top