I can’t make sense of Emmett’s numbers—advice?

Yes, I suggested the reduction to 3.25 from his previous regular dose of 3.5 — considering that this morning’s dose was a temporary reduction due to the lower preshot this morning. If he has another similarly low preshot, I would consider 2.75 units (a little less than this morning’s). Alternatively, we could try reducing him down to 3 units and seeing if it is a dose that will give him decent numbers and still be a more shootable dose with less temporary reductions. Let me know what you think.
 
How are his lip and his paw?
Lip is good, paw still seems to be bothering him somewhat. It seems to have lessened significantly since I cut out chicken/poultry though. I haven’t asked the vet about it again yet because my bandwidth has been taken up by my other cat now… my other cat recently had to be taken to the emergency vet for what turned out to be mild urinary crystals. So I’m now switching him to a low phosphorus diet (goodbye fancy feast)
 
About the Convenia, I am not sure about its impact on blood glucose, although I have seen some strange things in other people’s cats (friend’s cats) after a Convenia injection.
 
Yes, I suggested the reduction to 3.25 from his previous regular dose of 3.5 — considering that this morning’s dose was a temporary reduction due to the lower preshot this morning. If he has another similarly low preshot, I would consider 2.75 units (a little less than this morning’s). Alternatively, we could try reducing him down to 3 units and seeing if it is a dose that will give him decent numbers and still be a more shootable dose with less temporary reductions. Let me know what you think.
I ended up giving him 3.25, given his PMPS was fairly high. Hopefully he continues to do well on this dose and I can be consistent with it.
 
About the Convenia, I am not sure about its impact on blood glucose, although I have seen some strange things in other people’s cats (friend’s cats) after a Convenia injection.
Interesting. He had convenia back in April with no issue. Then he got it again in June and he just seemed to develop some bizarre behaviours, aside from the blood glucose issue. If you recall, I mentioned he was attacking my other cat suddenly. But hard to say what was causing everything, because he’s had multiple big changes in life lately.
 
Lip is good, paw still seems to be bothering him somewhat. It seems to have lessened significantly since I cut out chicken/poultry though. I haven’t asked the vet about it again yet because my bandwidth has been taken up by my other cat now… my other cat recently had to be taken to the emergency vet for what turned out to be mild urinary crystals. So I’m now switching him to a low phosphorus diet (goodbye fancy feast)
I’m sorry about your cat. I can completely understand about one cat’s needs superseding another’s. I can now start to do a better job with my asthmatic cat. I want to get her off the oral steroids and onto inhaled steroids.

Have you seen this list of low phosphorus foods? Actually it’s a whole bunch of lists. There’s a main low phosphorus list, lists for limited ingredient low phosphorus foods, a list for chicken free low phosphorus foods, a list for low carb, low phosphorus foods for diabetic cats, etc.

https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/?f...76wfH5kehteCajlm-qPPTi3u1c307wE0dcV4pqGfRaj2Q
 
I’m sorry about your cat. I can completely understand about one cat’s needs superseding another’s. I can now start to do a better job with my asthmatic cat. I want to get her off the oral steroids and onto inhaled steroids.

Have you seen this list of low phosphorus foods? Actually it’s a whole bunch of lists. There’s a main low phosphorus list, lists for limited ingredient low phosphorus foods, a list for chicken free low phosphorus foods, a list for low carb, low phosphorus foods for diabetic cats, etc.

https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/?f...76wfH5kehteCajlm-qPPTi3u1c307wE0dcV4pqGfRaj2Q
Emmett will have to continue getting Fancy Feast because he’s already so limited on what food he can eat (fingers crossed he doesn’t develop further problems). But it means I can no longer let my cats eat each other’s leftovers, which makes meal times a pain now. I wouldn’t be surprised if my other cat developed crystals due to stress… he’s been so stressed lately because of Emmett’s new habit of randomly attacking him. I’ve bought some Feliway to see if it helps calm them down.

Poor asthmatic kitty… are inhaled meds preferable for that?

Thank you for the lists!! Those weren’t the exact ones I found, but basically the same. I’m trying a few different foods and seeing what he will eat. Of course, the low phosphorous foods tend to be from brands he historically despises lol. He’s eating, but reluctantly. And he is that cat that will starve himself for days until he gets what he wants. If I can find something acceptable in rabbit flavour, he will be a happy cat.
 
Back
Top