I am cat cursed

  • Thread starter Thread starter rbrumbaugh82
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rbrumbaugh82

This has been a very stressful period. As you all may know and seen, Poopers hasn't had to have any insulin for 8 days because his numbers have been staying below the threshold for giving a shot. The way it would be was each time his number would creep up, I would just sit a bowl of Turkey and Giblets from FF in front of him and he would eat it. 30-40 mins later I would check his glucose and it would respond by dropping significantly. However, these last 2 days have been hell. For my standards, anything between 200-250 is too high for me. The last 2 days he has been hovering in the 200s for some reason and even after his eating it wouldn't drop much. Why is that? Why is his stupid pancreas suddenly not responding after all this time when it has been? So I had no choice but to give him insulin again and my streak without giving insulin ends. :( I just wish this stupid Novalin N in combination with his wet food would heal his pancreas because for some reason his pancreas wants to be very stubborn. I don't want to think of having to buy the more expensive insulin but if they sell those insulin pens then maybe I would just need 1 of them and that would be enough to heal his pancreas to get him to OTJ.
 
You might check your local Craigslist for someone selling unused Lantus or Levemir. Ask how it was stored, the expiration date, and meet in a public place.
I know its frustrating; I was never able to stabilize Spitzer (GA), no matter how many things I tried. Gracie, though, is stable and I maintain her on 0.8 to 1.0 units of ProZinc BID. She's a happy, snuggly girl.
 
Yeah I am determined to get him stable without any insulin once I can get his pancreas healed. I know the positive to this is that he doesn't get BG readings above 300 so I have that going for me.
 
Bad day again today. Despite the good numbers while his body was dealing with the insulin it has gone back up over 200. Had to give him another shot again. :(
 
I like the idea of you trying lantus.... getting a pen. I paid $50 for the one I got from a mom/pop type pharmacy. I've heard others get them cheaper.
You just have to call around all the pharmacies...... some pharmacists will sell it lower since it's for a cat.
Just watch your expiration dates.... you don't want one that expires next week..... but in two months.... that would work....
 
Don't I need to confront my vet first and get a prescription before a pharmacist will get me one?
 
So Rhiannon, what canned cat food are you giving your baby? Is it possible to get a Lantus Pen with a 2 month or more expiration date so that I don't have to worry about it expiring a few weeks after I get it?
 
Yes you do need a prescription.
I just mention a closer expiration date if you need it as cheap as you can find it. Some pharmacists are more willing to haggle the price.
You can one that doesn't expire for over a year.

I've had a pen in my fridge ( just in case ) for about 9 months now and it doesn't expire until april ... I think.


Shadow has a huge variety. Lately she's so picky that she's getting 12% carbs.... but her numbers stay below 100.
That is likely because of the lymphoma. Cancer eats sugar.

but she was never very carb sensitive. She always got lower numbers if I didn't try to get as low carb as I could. So in her particular case, she 's okay with some carbs.

so...
fancy feast pate's and chunky chicken
friskie's
tiki cat koolina luau
natural balance ofishally scampi
addiction 's new Zealand brushtail and veggies

and the one she's most willing currently at 13% is purina one smartblend savory chicken recipe in gravy

pretty much the list I posted is her list.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/
 
But the problem I have and don't know if anyone else can comment to this is all the other wet cat foods in the form of gravy have wheat gluten in them. I have checked all the store ones besides the FF and friskie pates and they all carry wheat gluten in them along with rice( friskies) and fish. Wheat Gluten is def not what I want to feed any cat and on the Catinfo site or somewhere it says to avoid!
 
You can make your own gravy using any tolerated grain flour, such as rice.
The process is roughly this:
Use a skillet.
Put a small amount of the flour in the skillet. Mash in drops of water, or meat/poultry stock until it forms a paste. Start heating gently. Optionally, add a drop or two of animal fat.
:eep stirring and mixing in water until it is the consistency you want.
Let cool.
Refrigerate if you'll need it soon; freeze ice cubes of it if you make just a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top