I am afraid to start on Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperzoe

Member Since 2010
Zoe was diagnosed with diabetes Aug 2007. The vet put her on PZI Vet. It worked OK, she seemed healthier, but her numbers were all over the place. One day she went into hypoglymic shock right as I was leaving for work. If it happened a few moments later she would have died so I just stopped giving her insulin. I'd check her glucose periodically and it was 120-190 and she seemed healthy. It has been over two years since she was off insulin, her numbers are back up to the low 300s and still seems happy and healthy but she did lose a bunch of weight so I took her back to the vet. He said the only thing wrong with her is her diabetes. The vet prescribed Lantus, said the other insulins they had been using weren't working very well.

I am scared to death to start her back up after what happened before. I work six days a week so I'll start her on my day off so I can stare at her to make she it goes OK. Want to set up a schedule so that I'm always home when she peaks. From what I'm reading Latus peaks after six hours correct?
 
First off....

Welcome to the greatest place in Lantus!!! :YMHUG:


Second, take some time to read about Lantus from the sticky's at the top of the forum. It really works in very cool ways.

And now the question, Do you hometest? It sounds like you do.
 
I have home tested but haven't made charts or anything, just wrote the info in the booklet that came with the tester. I forgot how often the vet wanted to test but remember it was $10 a test. I figured I could do it just as well, perhaps better since Zoe wouldn't be as stressed out. She does HATE to get tested. Doesn't mind the shots though.

I would feel more comfortable with the devil I know, PZI, but they say Latus works much better. The Vet said to start with a dose of 3 which sounds high from what I've read. Considering starting at 2. I'd rather have her glucose higher than kill her with too much which is why I'm tempted to just let her be. I've got the bottle in the fridge and will use it but I'm so skeptical. Recently an acquaintance died of diabetes complications at 42 and she was a nurse! I don't want Zoe to waste away but feeling that this may not be the right move.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

With a start like you had, it's understandable that you're nervous about using any insulin. Like Blue suggested, please read the starred notes at the top of the Board. They are a wonderful introduction to Lantus, our dosing protocol, and to this Board.

I do hope you are home testing. We are very numbers oriented here so home testing and having a spreadsheet are essential. The instructions for setting up a spreadsheet and linking it to your profile are in the Tech Support center. Hopefully, you will also become comfortable with Lantus because if you are home testing, you are very much in control of Zoe's numbers. We use high carb canned cat food to steer numbers if they are dropping into lower ranges.

The starting dose of Lantus is usually based on a cat's ideal weight. Do you know what Zoe's ideal weight is? I agree with you -- unless Zoe is a particularly large cat, 3.0u seems like a high dose. Most of the cats here start on a dose that is around 1.0u.

If Zoe's BG is in the 300 range, she really needs to be on insulin. Not providing her with insulin will harm her -- her kidneys may slowly fail or she will develop diabetic ketoacidosis which is very serious. You can have your cat on insulin AND keep her safe and healthy. Knowledge is the best way you can do that.

Before anything else, what are you feeding Zoe? We encourage the use of low carb (LC) canned food. If Zoe is not eating food such as this, it may be contributing to her diabetes. Many cats drop into much lower numbers once they are one a LC canned food diet.

Please ask questions. The people here are very generous with information and help.
 
My Gracie started Lantus today. I have been freaked out about it as you are but I knew we had to do it and the support from the
people in Lantus Land helped me immensely this morning as we faced our first shot. I love their "start low, go slow". Gracie's
BG has been at 275-300 w/out insulin. She weighs 8.6 lbs so we started at .5u. My vet said I could have started at 1u but I know
my girl, my vet is awesomely supportive, and I feel better slowly building up her "shed" (yes...they are right..reading those stickys helped me TONS). And we are monitoring just as they suggested. I can't give you any advice...I'm way too new. But I just want you to know that yesterday I was you and today, now that we've started, I'm calmer. The slow movement we have seen is helping me adjust slowly and
getting in the hang of testing her every two hours.

Good luck...there are some tremendous people in here to help you; you and I have TONS to learn from them.
 
I was uncomfortable with what the vet wanted to start out with when Pearl was diagnosed and I just said that. I said I just really want to start low and go up if we have to. I just plain insisted that I was worried about hypo and I wanted to start on the low side. The vet said "ok" knowing that making me comfortable was an important step in successfully treating. Since you *know* how to test, I would just start at 1u and test. The nice thing about Lantus compared to PZI is that it is *very* slow. I think once you get going on it you will very much like it better than PZI and feel more comfortable about shooting.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Pepperzoe. You'll do fine, if you let us help you. This is a really really really great place.
We all help each other. Ask as many questions as you need to, and ask again if you don't understand something.
 
Welcome to the group, pepperzoe!

you have come to THE place to help you out with this. the folks here are experienced, supportive, and have been through it all. i found it overwhelming at first, but now i know that whatever we encounter, there's an answer for it here on the board. and if i can do it, a baboon on valium can do it...and we know you can outpace a baboon on valium, yes? (unless of course, it is anywhere near Loma Linda Hospital...then the baboon gonna leave us in the dust).


good luck here...i havent gone through the dreaded hypo experience, but others here can help you prevent those types of things and guide your cat toward health.

Celi & Binks
 
Welcome to Lantus Land. :) I, too, was scared about starting Blackie on Lantus, but I'm glad I did. I'm still trying to get her regulated, and it's taking some time. I also started her on 1u BID when we first began this.

You'll do fine. :)
 
Welcome to LantusLand. This is a great group of people with a lot of knowledge. Do read the stickies, they may be overwhelming at first , then just go back and read them again. As others have said, 3u seems like a big dose for a little cat. Much safer to "start low and go slow", your gut was right.

One questions, what syringes do you have? Did you intend to use the ones left from the PZI or have you gotten new u100 syringes? There is a big difference! Especially for low doses you must have u100 syringes for Lantus, preferably w/ half unit markings.
 
Hi Pepperzoe and welcome! Don't be afraid of Lantus. We have all been in your shoes, but everyone here is so supportive that you will soon feel secure in what you are doing and will wonder why you didn't start on Lantus earlier. Do read all of the information "stickies" and ask as many questions as you need. Someone will always be along to give you help and guidance. The cumulative knowledge on this board is truly amazing. I agree with the others that unless your cat is huge, you should start with a dose of 1 unit every 12 hours.

Best of luck with Lantus,

Ella & Stu
 
Hi there

what can we call you? Pepper?
and Zoe is your kitty, ok so Who's Your Kitty

but most importantly, I hope you can work on a spreadsheet so others can view her progress.

Let us know what diet she is on, read the stickies up above, you will find the protocol, the shed,
how to handle Lantus, be data ready (where your spreadsheet comes in handy) and all about our group in New to the Group.

What meter do you use?
Does Zoe have any history of ketones according to her vet visits?
What is your 12/12 AMPS and PMPS schedule?

What was the test number this morning when you shot?
Any updates for tonight's PMPS?
 
Hi Pepperzoe,

Welcome.

I totally understand being fearful of starting Lantus. Its the not knowing part that is a bit scary.

But it sounds like you already have some good experience under your belt in terms of dealing w/feline diabetes. That's great! You already know how to test and give the shot. Super!!

You asked about when kitties peak on lantus......it seems that every kitty does it differently.....Mine peaked (nadir) at 3 hours when she first started the lantus. Now she will peak (nadir) around 3.5 or 4 hours. Others will chime in here and share their experiences. You can also read others spread sheets and see when their kitties will peak. But the best idea to get data from your kitty and she how she responds to the lantus. Lantus really seems to be a great insulin....lots of folks w/lots of success.

You've got many folks here w/a ton of experience who are eager to help you and Pepperzoe through this journey.

Let us know how we can help.

And don't forget to breathe.
 
Kazi was on Vetsulin- so similar to the pro zinc in that she peaked at +3 and went up from there. I had so-so numbers on it, switched to Lantus and got the slow even curve I had wanted...and her numbers are MUCH better. I kick myself for waiting as long as I did to make the switch.

As far as the nadir...well Kazi doesn't follow the rule book. Some days she peaks at +2.5, other days it is +5 or +7. :roll: The nice thing is that she doesn't ride a big rollercoaster- everything is usually pretty gradual.
 
Welcome! You sound like me when I started. I think we were all there at the beginning. You have found a great place, and Lantus is a wonderful insulin - I think you will like it alot. The others have alls aid what I would have - so I will just welcome you aboard.
 
Thank you for all the responses. I'll try to answer all the questions.

I started her on 1u this morning. Rather be conservative with the insulin. How long does the storage shed take to fill up? Sounds like we won't get any results for a few days?

I don't know what Zoe's ideal weight is, she weighs 11.5 lbs. She eats grain free canned cat food except when I'm feeling poor then she's on canned Friskies.

I bought new U-100, 3/10mL 30G syringes which cost nearly double the U-40. Still have nearly two boxes of the old U-40 syringes which I like better since they are bigger and easier to handle but not sure how or if there is a conversion.

Zoe doesn't have any history of ketones that I'm aware of. Zoe doesn't care much for glucose testing. Want to test while we are starting out so I pricked her ear this afternoon and she took off running. I have a hard time holding her while putting a strip in the meter. Use a One Touch ultra mini. When I tried to prick her again couldn't get any blood so I gave up for now. Think she doesn't mind the shots because I can just give them to her while she's doing whatever it is she's doing. With the ear pricking I need to move her for better lighting plus she doesn't like her ears messed with.
 
Hi again. Congratulations on starting Lantus. Unless the numbers tell us otherwise, I believe we hold the dose (stay with the same dose) for 5 days, initially. You'll get the hang of testing soon. We all go through the same testing troubles in the beginning. My cat, J.D., comes to me whenever he hears me upzip the glucometer case. He even gets up and comes to me, when he's been sleeping.
I buy 100 Reli On U-100 syringes from WalMart for $12.58. And Friskies is fine, as long as you choose the low carb varieties Janet and Binkys Food Chart. I feed low carb Fancy Feast and Friskies and I just found out about Sophisticat at PetSmart which are 38 cents for a 5.5oz can and they have some that are 1% and 0% carbs.
I hope to see you posting everyday :-D
 
Welcome Pepperzoe!

You have gotten excellent advice from the folks here. I know its a huge help to know your not alone. My first vet had my kitty on 5U vetsulin. I found this board and am very thankful she did'nt have a hypo. After about a year in remission I told my new vet I wanted to try lantus. She is currently on a little less than 1/2U and is very well regulated. You can take a look at her ss to see how she has progressed since she has been on lantus. I am very happy, and so is she.

Why not get things ready for testing Zoe before you try to test her. You can put the strip in the meter than take to Zoe. I think my meter runs for a couple of mins. If it runs out just pull out and push back in. Do plenty of dry runs, by bringing the meter out and stroking her ears and than give a treat without actually taking blood. She might decide its not such a bad thing after all. Than through a test in every now and than. Cats like routine and she should come around, especially if its to her advantage. My cat actually sleeps through some of them so I know it can't hurt that much.

Good luck with Zoe and ask plenty of questions.

Hope to see you posting here everyday, and again welcome.

jan and sara
 
we just started Lantus last Monday at 2 units (mr. bibbles weighs in at 11 lbs.) and tonight we tested at vet and he is at 170 (down from 530). we are doing a glucose curve in 1-2 weeks. good luck!

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Welcome to Lantus Land. :) I, too, was scared about starting Blackie on Lantus, but I'm glad I did. I'm still trying to get her regulated, and it's taking some time. I also started her on 1u BID when we first began this.

You'll do fine. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top