Dr Schrodinger said:
How did you manage with Bertie, Eliz? He's nicely in the blues & greens, isn't he?
Hi Juliet,
Bert is now mostly a 'blue boy' with occasional dips and forays into green numbers and the occasional spike into low yellows where he can get stuck for a couple of days. He spends most of his time between 7 (126) and 8 (144) at the moment. It's hard to get him to hang in numbers any lower than that. (I really must set up a new spreadsheet for him, but every time I look at the instructions I get the sudden urge to go off and get a 'nice cup of tea'... :roll: ) I'm currently experimenting with shooting him at lower numbers to see if that helps (last 3 preshot numbers were between 9.3 (167) and 9.8 (176)).
But these decent numbers are a fairly recent phenomenon for us. This has only happened since switching to Hypurin. Bert's previous numbers were all over the place, and often just really high. During the past 6 years I've clocked up 3 different insulins and quite a range of different shooting strategies in order to try to help him into better numbers. I've tried fixed dosage and sliding scale; shooting twice a day, three times a day, and shooting TR (Tight Regulation) as soon as the BG was past peak and rising. And all complicated by the fact that Bert had a 'sputtering pancreas' that flicked on and off like a light switch (Bert has had 3 hypos...) nailbite_smile
Bert's numbers are now the most stable they've ever been. That's partly due to Hypurin's long duration, I think, and partly due to the fact that his pancreas is either producing a little insulin more consistently or has died completely! Either way, that's one factor less to deal with! :lol:
Just like Milo, Bert didn't like lower numbers at first. But then suddenly he got used to them and things settled down.
Milo is doing way better than Bert was at this stage of the game! Those long gentle yellow curves Milo is starting to get are lovely. But it would be great if we could keep the long gentle curves but ease the numbers down into the blues...<
She drums fingers on desk and dreams, wistfully...>
Dr Schrodinger said:
I think I should just plough on with the same dose for a while & see if Milo acclimatises. Now he's heftier & stronger, he's in a far better position to deal with a bit of instability. Before he gained weight, the goal was simply to stabilise & pile on the pounds...now we have a more sturdy animal, who is eating well, and responding well to insulin, it would be heartless not to try & bring him to the next level, wouldn't it?
I think you're right that initially the important thing was to get Milo feeling stronger. And you've done that really well! So, perhaps this is the time to try to move things on, and maybe see how Milo deals with dipping into those blue numbers on a more regular basis...? You know him well, so if you see that he's not happy doing that then you can always pull back from that strategy...? But maybe he'll surprise you! ;-)