Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Africanbb

Member Since 2014
My cat went to stand up at 2:30pm and fell over. Tested his BG it was 22. Immediately applied glucose gel to his gums. 30 minutes after his BG went up to 39. Tried to get him to eat, he won't eat. Syringe fed him, and he threw up. Tested BG at 3:30 pm and it was down to 30. Readministered the glucose gel. What do I do now? How do I get his BG if he won't eat? Help please.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

I would take him to the ER. If he is that low and won't eat and the sugar doesn't bring it up enough, he needs special attention. This can be deadly.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

I would take him to the ER too, and bring karo or whatever syrup you have and your glucometer, with you. Sometimes stress will cause a cat to go lower. When I took J.D. to the ER because he was low, a long long time ago, I pulled over and stopped 3 times on the 25 minute drive to put karo on his gums. The ER put him on a glucose drip.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

Thank you for the replies. BG is up to 42. Just spoke to my vet. He said to keep applying glucose to his gums every half hour, and retest BG every hour. Insulin is starting to wear off. If he goes back down, then take him to the ER.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

What kind of insulin? Some of the longer lasting insulins hypos last longer than 6-8 hours

We generally say you can't relax until you have three rising numbers.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

He is on Lantus, 4 units BID. He received his 4 units at 7am. Obviously not going to administer tonight. Thank you, I will look for 3 rising numbers.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

Low numbers on Lantus can last 8 hours or more so I'd watch him carefully. He might rise some but then go down again.

Time to reduce the dose!
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

Yes! Just changed his food, so that is probably what caused this. I think I just lost 5 years of my life! What a scare!!
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

Changing his food could have a lot to do with it.

I would halve the dose to 2 units or maybe even start over again at 1 unit.
Beside Always testing before you give the insulin, also try to get a test around nadir (the lowest point of his cycle, which is typically about 5 to 6 hours after the shot) whenever you can, as Lantus dosing should be based on the lowest test in the cycle, not the pre shot test. I'm just saying this, because some vets seem to not know Lantus very well, and try to get you to base dose amounts on a pre-shot test, like the other insulins. Lantus is dosed based on the nadir, not the pre-shot test.
 
Re: Hypoglycemic episode...can't get him to eat. What do I d

I did not know that....thank you! BG at 6:30 pm is 53. Slowly rising!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top