Hypoglycemia

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teire

Member Since 2024
My cat's BG pre-shot at 9 pm was 150 mg/dL, I gave him his habitual dose and food.

The thing is, this afew hours before he had been drinking some cooking oil, and I think that gave him indigestion. After giving him insjlin he was acting a little strange, I had a bad feeling so I slept in the couch. At 1:15 am I wake up to him puking all of his food, completley undigested, and him crashing on to furniture. I don't have a high carb can, so I gave him half of his usual can (he eats 1 can a day), and tried to give him honey but he refused. At 1:20 am his BG was 54 mg/dL, at 1:50 am 42 mg/dL, and at 2 am it was up to 50, I have to test him again in a few minutes.
During this time I've been feeding him his can and my other cat's kibble, and he's basically full by now. He looked more awake and jumped but is sleeping right now.
I'm in a panick attack, what else can I do? Theoretically nadir is at 3 am.

Edit: He's on 1 U of Lantus twice a day
 
Just tested again, is 73 mg/dL now.

My parents told me to go to sleep to my bedroom, but I didn't since I felt something was off. If I hadn't listened to my gut feeling I think he may not have survived this night.
 
Last edited:
A summary for people reading this thread.
pre PMPS - got into the cooking oil
PMPS (9pm) - 150 - gave 1 unit Lantus
+4.25 (1:15am) - vomited meal (undigested), crashing into furniture.
+4.3 (1:20am) - 54 - given 1/2 can usual food - refused honey
+4.8 (1:50am) - 42
+5 (2am) - 50
last ate 2:30am
+6 - 73
 
He needs to up on the way up for at least an hour without benefit of food.

What food are you feeding?

him crashing on to furniture
Was he crashing into furniture because he was panicking? or because he couldn't see?
There's such a thing as temporary brain blindness that can be associated with low numbers.

And congratulations. You just saved your cat. Waving from Canada.
 
From:
Sticky Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out. A good example of why this is important is in this post from an experienced member (now Moderator) who was struggling to get her kitty's numbers to rise.
 
I tried to, but he moved and strip did not get enough blood. Sadly it was my last strip, I have to buy more tomorrow. He's acting as usual tho.
And he's blind but he's never crashed onto furniture, I think he was confused because of low BG.
 
I tried to, but he moved and strip did not get enough blood. Sadly it was my last strip, I have to buy more tomorrow. He's acting as usual tho.
And he's blind but he's never crashed onto furniture, I think he was confused because of low BG.
Since you don't have any strips left, feed a bit more kibble. He should be past nadir by now.
What is his usual food?

He (name?) earned a reduction to 0.75 units.
 
His belly is full right now, if you touch him you can feel it. His usual food is Criadores esterilizado wet food, is around 7% carbs, but I fed him my other cat's kibble too and he ate as much as he wanted.
His name is Neo, I think tomorrow morning I'll skip his dose (specially since I have no strips left) and call his vet as soon as he opens.
How can I make that reduction? In my country the only syringes available are marked one unit
 
Welcome, Neo.
No shot in the morning is fine if there isn't a history of DKA.

How can I make that reduction? In my country the only syringes available are marked one unit
You have to eyeball it. Try with coloured water until you are satisfied with the level. Keep that syringe as a guide.

I'm tagging
@Gill & George who lives in Spain regarding half unit syringes.

Get some sleep.
 
I just woke up.

He's acting like before he started insulin, which ia bad but better but better than yesternight.
He was diagnosed as diabetic in 2018, got into remission but was recently diagnosed again. The thing is this is the first time he's been hypoglycemic, I had been reading what to do but I was panicked anyway.
I think that this happened because the oil caused him indigestion and I gave him insulin, but since the food was not digested it was like of I gave him insulin but without any food after that.
 
It is possible that the cooking oil and not feeling well had something to do with it.
However, it took some time to bring him up to a safe number and he's recently fallen out of remission.
I'd take the 0.25 reduction. If it turns out to be a failed reduction, you can always go back up.
Go out and buy lots of strips. As you saw last night, low numbers eats a lot of strips. And a couple of cans of high carb wet food.
Tagging
@Gill & George in Spain
@AliceL in Portugal
regarding half unit syringes.

And when you have time, set up a spreadsheet. It is beneficial to you and to us.
 
Thanks for your comments, I couldn't find the neccesary strips locally so I had to order them online, they're supposed to arrive tomorrow and after this I'm too afraid to inject insulin without testing first.
He's acting completley fine now, with normal hunger and normal activity.
And thinking that my vet said that he might be insuline resistant because of his age
 
Last edited:
Becaus of how the syringes I have work I can only do 0.5 increase/reductions, I've just linked Neo's spreadsheet @Red & Rover (GA)

Today at 9 pm his BG was 290 mg/dL and I gave him 0.5 U
 
Last edited:
To look at your spreadsheet it says "You need access". Can you change it to anyone with the link?
 
I decided to give him 1 U again because (PMPS) this evening his BG was 395 mg/dL, although I was unable to draw a blood sample this morning.

We started insulin past friday with 1 U so I think that what happened was indigeston because of the cooking oil, specially after seeing such a high number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top