? Hypo

jill_jewett

Member Since 2025
Hello, my cat is currently on 1.5 units of lantus every 12 hours, his 730pm- PMPS was 10.1 I gave him his 1.5 units and fed him some low carb food 1/4 can he ate, and a low carb treat. I checked at +3 hours (1030pm) and his blood glucose was 4.1, checked 20 mins later and he was 2.9- I gave him 1tsp of high carb food and tested 20 mins later his blood glucose was 4.2, I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food, tested 20 mins later and he was 3.5, I put 1/2 tsp of honey on his gums and gave him another 1tsp of high carb food, checked in 20 mins and he was at 4.1 and I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food… is there anything thing else I should be doing?

Emmett's Spreadsheet (Jill)
 
Hello, my cat is currently on 1.5 units of lantus every 12 hours, his 730pm- PMPS was 10.1 I gave him his 1.5 units and fed him some low carb food 1/4 can he ate, and a low carb treat. I checked at +3 hours (1030pm) and his blood glucose was 4.1, checked 20 mins later and he was 2.9- I gave him 1tsp of high carb food and tested 20 mins later his blood glucose was 4.2, I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food, tested 20 mins later and he was 3.5, I put 1/2 tsp of honey on his gums and gave him another 1tsp of high carb food, checked in 20 mins and he was at 4.1 and I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food… is there anything thing else I should be doing?

Emmett's Spreadsheet (Jill)
Mountain standard time zone
 
Hi Jill, it sounds like you are doing the right things! It can be scary to face a hypo for sure.

I'm still new here myself but I've learned from all the wisdom on this forum that monitoring Emmett closely and giving high carb foods and glucose sources like honey is exactly the right course of action. Does he have any other symptoms like lethargy or wobbly legs?

His numbers seem to have popped up after the 2.9 and back into a decent range in the 4's so that is a good sign.
 
Here’s an update!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9049.png
    IMG_9049.png
    361.9 KB · Views: 23
Hi Jill, it sounds like you are doing the right things! It can be scary to face a hypo for sure.

I'm still new here myself but I've learned from all the wisdom on this forum that monitoring Emmett closely and giving high carb foods and glucose sources like honey is exactly the right course of action. Does he have any other symptoms like lethargy or wobbly legs?

His numbers seem to have popped up after the 2.9 and back into a decent range in the 4's so that is a good sign.
No other symptoms!!
 
Ok great, that's a good sign with no other symptoms!

From your spreadsheet, it looks like the nadir is around the +7 hours PS. Once you're around the +6 and +7 you should see the numbers stabilise and then start to rise again as the insulin dose loses effect closer to the AMPS.

If you're still a few hours away from the nadir or you're not sure of when the nadir is, you can try giving Emmet high carb kibble if you have some? Kibble will keep the BG rising for longer than honey or liquid gravies from wet food will
 
Last edited:
Ok great, that's a good sign with no other symptoms!

From your spreadsheet, it looks like the nadir is around the +7 hours PS. Once you're around the +6 and +7 you should see the numbers stabilise and then start to rise again as the insulin dose loses effect closer to the AMPS.

If you're still a few hours away from the nadir or you're not sure of when the nadir is, you can try giving Emmet high carb kibble if you have some? Kibble will keep the BG rising for longer than honey or liquid gravies from wet food will
Just tested again and he’s at 4.2 after 30 mins, I did give 1 tsp of low carb, I’ll see if I can get him to eat some high carb kibble! Thank you
 
Good morning I am very sorry I was not able to be there for you last night I normally go to sleep at 12:00 PM ET, I must’ve been really exhausted
Well you worked the hypo protocol perfectly, however the greens on the spreadsheet in the 60’s and 70’s are not hypo at all, a sign of hypoglycemia is 50 and under, I understand you freaked out seeing the two digits, but actually, thiscIS where Jill needs to be, Too much too fast, after all the Previous BG’s if you like you may take a look at Corky’s SS he’s all green, except hi AMPS he is tightly regulated, He’s on ProZinc but is the same for hypo, a non diabetic’s cat glucose level should be 50-100, and you did great
You had your first practice run with Hypo! , At the beginning I used to freak out when I saw a 150 1 hour before shot, the vet at the hospital said that he needed to be between. 200-300 when I would see a blue I was frantically Ill, when in the greens the pancreas begin to heal, it was a sudden drop from previous cycles ,, keep us posted, you did great l, Emmetts numbers will most likely be higher today due to the syrup and high carbs
 
Last edited:
Good morning I am very sorry I was not able to be there for you last night I normally go to sleep at 12:00 PM ET, I must’ve been really exhausted
Well you worked the hypo protocol perfectly, however the greens on the spreadsheet in the 60’s and 70’s are not hypo at all, a sign of hypoglycemia is 50 and under, I understand you freaked out seeing the two digits, but actually, thiscIS where Jill needs to be, Too much too fast, after all the Previous BG’s if you like you may take a look at Corky’s SS he’s all green, except hi AMPS he is tightly regulated, He’s on ProZinc but is the same for hypo, a non diabetic’s cat glucose level should be 50-100, and you did great
You had your first practice run with Hypo! , At the beginning I used to freak out when I saw a 150 1 hour before shot, the vet at the hospital said that he needed to be between. 200-300 when I would see a blue I was frantically Ill, when in the greens the pancreas begin to heal, it was a sudden drop from previous cycles ,, keep us posted, you did great l, Jill’s numbers will most likely be higher today due to the syrup and high carbs
Did you see the remarks? I put what he was at for the hour mark + but he dipped down to 2.9, because I was testing every 20 minutes I didn’t have even columns to put all of his numbers!
 
Ok in US value whats her BG and you can put in the same cell all the BG numbers for that hour again ser Corky’s ss yesterday @ +4 I tested at a 1/2 hour so I typed 65@11.5 if I would have tested again in 20 minutes It would be 65@11.5/65@12:00 on the upper right of the SS there’s a paint bucket, click on it there’s a drop down window, place curser on the cell go back to the color click and it paints the cell in this case green
 
Last edited:
Your SS only shows on your first post you can remove the 911 from your title once answered. You have been a member since 2025, and you knew exactly what to do, it is true that every cat is different as we do, just like I tested Corky this mornings AMPS at 6:00AM ET, he tested 116, jut tested at +3 so I tested again and BG is 56, Corky is very sensitive to carbs, so I just have him his ham snack in abundance, and will re-test in 1/2 hour, let us know how Emmett woke up
 
Last edited:
@Staci & Ivy , I am sure you can input on Emmett's BG numbers last night Jill was able to raise the BG with the hypo protocol, I explained those number were not hypo, as she uses Lantus, I could not give any other advice. she is on Central Time ;)
 
Your SS only shows on your first post you can remove the 911 from your title once answered. You have been a member since 2025, and you knew exactly what to do, it is true that every cat is different as we do, just like I tested Corky this mornings AMPS at 6:00AM ET, he tested 116, jut tested at +3 so I tested again and BG is 56, Corky is very sensitive to carbs, so I just have him his ham snack in abundance, and will re-test in 1/2 hour, let us know how Emmett woke up
He’s at 16 now
 
Ok in US value whats her BG and you can put in the same cell all the BG numbers for that hour again ser Corky’s ss yesterday @ +4 I tested at a 1/2 hour so I typed 65@11.5 if I would have tested again in 20 minutes It would be 65@11.5/65@12:00 on the upper right of the SS there’s a paint bucket, click on it there’s a drop down window, place curser on the cell go back to the color click and it paints the cell in this case green
I seen this on corkys spreadsheet, but how do I do that if I’ve tested 3 times in one hour?
 
Type THE BG, the time example:100@11:15/99@11.5/98@11:30
go to the other next square you will see everything you posted or are posting will fit in the same square
 
Type THE BG, the time example:100@11:15/99@11.5/98@11:30
go to the other next square you will see everything you posted or are posting will fit in the same square
Thank you!!!! Done! I’ll keep this all in mind next time this wasn’t a hypo, when I seen the 2.9 and then it kept dropping after he was fed I felt like I needed to keep going since his numbers were dipping and it was so early after his dose. We’ve only been doing this since Dec 29th, 2025. So still very new and still trying to figure it all out. Bad timing with no one around so this is what I did with the limit help at the time.
 
Thank you!!!! Done! I’ll keep this all in mind next time this wasn’t a hypo, when I seen the 2.9 and then it kept dropping after he was fed I felt like I needed to keep going since his numbers were dipping and it was so early after his dose. We’ve only been doing this since Dec 29th, 2025. So still very new and still trying to figure it all out. Bad timing with no one around so this is what I did with the limit help at the time.
Hi Jill! It's scary when those numbers drop lower than what we're used to! We've all been there. You're doing a good job taking care of Emmett.

One other thing we need you to do with your profile is set up your signature and link Emmett's spreadsheet in the signature. That way, whenever you post, his spreadsheet link is handy. Here are the instructions: Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Also, when you are stacking your numbers in a spreadsheet cell, you need to use a function key to enter multiple lines in a cell. Here are some instructions from ChatGPT that might help:

On a Computer (Windows / macOS / Chromebook)

Method 1: Keyboard shortcut (most common)

  1. Double-click the cell (or press F2) to start editing.
  2. Type your first line.
  3. Insert a line break:
    • Windows / Chromebook: Alt + Enter
    • Mac: ⌘ Command + Enter
  4. Continue typing on the next line.
  5. Press Enter to finish editing the cell.

On Mobile (Google Sheets App)

Android

  1. Tap the cell to edit.
  2. Type your text.
  3. Tap the Enter / Return key on the keyboard to add a new line.
  4. Tap the ✔️ checkmark to save.

iPhone / iPad

  1. Tap the cell to edit.
  2. Type your text.
  3. Tap Return on the keyboard for a new line.
  4. Tap Done to save.
 
You are likely to get more specific Lantus related information on the Lantus forum. However, it is best to decide where you want to post since the members who post on any given section of the site will get to know you.

I also agree with what Wendy posted on the Lantus board. Please get your signature set up. That will help a great deal. Also you will need to give some thought to which dosing method you want to follow, The information about dosing methods is in the sticky note at the top of the Lantus board.
 
Back
Top