HYPO

Status
Not open for further replies.

HyperJMA

Member Since 2016
Please pray - dealing with my first hypo event! BG was 58, I think I caught it early enough! OMG
Will udpate after!

Update
310 - BG was 58 / 58 / 52
Fed handful of his favorite dry kibble (ate)
nibble of fancy feast (walked away)
nibble of Stella and Chewys chick chick (walked away)

320 - BG 68 not interested in canned food

325 - gave grilled chicken (ate two small portions)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Looks okay. We want three rising tests before you relax. Congrats on handling your first hypo.

I can't see any recent info on your spreadsheet? The 52 probably warrants a reduction in dose. The pmps may be high since he got some high carb today, but I would still reduce the dose.
 
340 - BG 63 / 68
Not interested in a third portion of grilled chicken
Walked over to back door and asked for it to be open so he could sit and watch outside (normal daytime activity)
 
Looks okay. We want three rising tests before you relax. Congrats on handling your first hypo.

I can't see any recent info on your spreadsheet? The 52 probably warrants a reduction in dose. The pmps may be high since he got some high carb today, but I would still reduce the dose.

Hubby and I have been traveling and dealing with family stuff so we haven't kept good records. I will try toupdate it from what I have written down on the fridge after his nex
 
How long since the shot is it right now? If you are at/near the usual nadir (lowest number) time then it is less scary. Mr M seems to be holding his numbers up and not dropping any further.
 
355 pm - BG 71

BTW we are using Advocate Pet meter (I hear they read higher numbers than human ones?)
 
I gave the morning shot at 8:45 am. I'm too freaked out, I don't know when Nadir happens because we can't get a good curve on him.
 
He doesn't want to eat anymore --- Should I insist and try to get him to keep eating? Or let what he's eaten process through his system?
 
355 pm - BG 71

BTW we are using Advocate Pet meter (I hear they read higher numbers than human ones?)


Mr M is holding the numbers well right now. The pet meters do read higher than the human meters, but you are still just in a range where close monitoring is needed at this point.

That would mean that it is almost 7 hours since the shot. The usual nadir time with Prozinc is around +6-+8, although that can vary with different kitties. You should be getting close to or at nadir, but keep checking,
 
He doesn't want to eat anymore --- Should I insist and try to get him to keep eating? Or let what he's eaten process through his system?


He is not dropping any more right now and his numbers have come up with what he has already been fed. You could leave him be as far as food goes and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if he is holding the numbers without more food being added in.
 
It would be very helpful if you could update the spreadsheet for the last 4 or 5 days. Mr M will likely need a dose adjustment for his evening shot and the Prozinc "gurus" will need to see the readings in order to give proper advice.
 
4:15 pm - BG 98


That should be at around +7 since the shot and the numbers are holding steady and rising. Mr M should be okay, but you could do another test in about an hour...without any more food...just to be sure. His PMPS will probably be high both from the dry kibble he ate and from hitting lower numbers.

You should be okay to remove the 911 icon from the title, but keep posting as you go along. :bighug:
 
You are doing great Jess/Bryan. Don't forget to breath ;)
It's going to be fine you stired Mr.M up so just keep a close eye on him, he's going up in numbers so it should be fine.:bighug:
 
Hi Jess, good to know!
See? you are doing great and so is Mr.M!
You caught it right on time and you did the right thing!:bighug:
 
Update
515 pm - BG 179

I am going to post over the in ProZinc forums also.
Our Monitor is giving some really really weird historical readings for the last few days. I'm trying to recreate it for the spreadsheet --- but it isn't really helpful. I learned my lesson this time. I need to take better records and not rely on my monitor for data.
 
Great 179!

Oh, I will go to the prozinc forum as well as I maybe can help you with questions!
Will look out for your thread there!
 
Update - 242 now. He's resting comfortably. Trying to work out the spreadsheet now. Also heading over to ProZinc board

B
 
Update
515 pm - BG 179

I am going to post over the in ProZinc forums also.
Our Monitor is giving some really really weird historical readings for the last few days. I'm trying to recreate it for the spreadsheet --- but it isn't really helpful. I learned my lesson this time. I need to take better records and not rely on my monitor for data.

For Shorty, I (Dan), keep the spreadsheet updated, and my wife (Kelly), keeps a paper trail, with her including notes on which foods we are trying, and if Shorty or the two non-diabetic cats like the food or not (they are both kibble addicts). This is in addition to the fact that the meter also keeps track of, like, the last 300 tests. It's a little redundant, but in a situation like this, it could help.
 
Update -
10 pm -- Bryan gave him a dose of 2 units around 830 pm, with a BG of approx 242. AS of 10 pm he is maintaining the value and we will give hime some more chicken soon.

@Shorty --- Question --- What kibble do you use? Because Mister is also a kibble addict, as well as has kidney insufficiency / failure. So we are trying to balance both of those.

~~J~~
 
I don't feed dry but if I did that is why I would feed--
I do have a ckd cat as well--luckily we have not had a phos issue
YA sales people are very skilled be on guard--it is a decent food but the make claims that skirt the line of truth-
I think the kitten Evo has 5%
not sure about phos on either-
 
Update -
10 pm -- Bryan gave him a dose of 2 units around 830 pm, with a BG of approx 242. AS of 10 pm he is maintaining the value and we will give hime some more chicken soon.

@Shorty --- Question --- What kibble do you use? Because Mister is also a kibble addict, as well as has kidney insufficiency / failure. So we are trying to balance both of those.

~~J~~

Well, before all of this, I believe it had been Purina Cat Chow. Now, if the addicts start screaming, we give them maybe 5-10 pieces of the Purina DM, smashed up, sprinkled, and stirred into their [edit - WET] food. But, I'd be willing to bet the main difference between Purina Cat chow, and Purina DM, is the packaging. It's like comparing Cheerios to Fruity Pebbles. Sure, one may be... "less bad" than the other.... but, it's still crap.

For the kidney thing, I know that previously, Sarge (GA) had been on a Hills Prescription Diet specific for kidney problems. But, along the same lines, a dry food just isn't ever going to be given a thumbs up by me for a cat again.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top