? HYPO POSSIBLE??Tuxie PM Active PS 380 +2.5-180 +4-101 +5-68 +5.5-113 =6.5-94 +7-90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
Tuxie's readings are done on an AlphTrak pet meter so his numbers show higher than on a human meter by about 35%

His morning was basically flat. Now his evening numbers seem to be coming down rather fast.

I gave him a Tbsp of MC at +2.5 and I just gave him a Tbsp regular food after his +4. His +5 is 68 and his nadir may still be coming. I gave a Tbsp HC since I am panicking a bit.

+5.5-119 (78 on FSLite human) 1/2 hour after HC food

Is he coming down too quick..should I be concerned?? I can monitor until +6 but due to lack of sleep I don't know if I can stay up any later.
 
Last edited:
You're doing OK at steering his numbers.

Shooting and Handling Low Numbers

He isn't quite hypo yet and as long as he is willing to eat for you, continue checking him about every 30 minutes.

You can give him 1-2 teaspoons of food - high carb if he goes below 68 mg/dL, medium carb if he's barely above it, and low carb if he's starting to rise and past nadir, but you want to make sure he is stable after any high carb has worn off (which it can do quickly).


You can abort the cycle completely by feeding high carb and a fair bit of it, if you really need to crash.

Setting an alarm for 45 or 90 minutes from now would let you get a short nap in, once you have given him a couple of ounces of high/medium carb food, and you could check again.
 
You're doing great - look how he's responded to the carbs. Now he just needs to stay there! :) He may have nadired early - some cats do when they're going for a reduction. If you look at Rosa the last few days, her nadir has been about where it should be between +5 and +8 (on Lantus which I know is often an earlier nadir than Levemir) - this morning she headed low at +3. That's normal for her when she's ready for a reduction and Tuxie might be the same way - I understand a lot of cats do exactly that and +5 I believe would be an early nadir for a lot of cats on Levemir. On Tuxie's ss it looks as though when he does drop into green it's usually before +7 so as long as you can keep him level or rising for a bit longer he's going to do great.

And for what it's worth (I know it's not going to help much right now) yes, that 50% drop between shot and +2.5 was a strong indicator that this might be an active cycle. Just something to look out for in the future. If I'd seen your post earlier, I would have let you know then.
 
Could summarize which readings are on the AT and which of the Freestyle. It's hard for us to help when you mix and match. It's easier if you pick one and stick to it.

Was the 68 on an AT or a human meter?

It looks like Tuxie is doing fine. Could you also update the title with the latest numbers so we know at a glance that he is up now. Thanks.
 
Thanks for the replies. I am still up and monitoring him. It is easier to stay since I don't go to sleep quickly. Tuxie seems to be holding his own but I am glad I gave him the HC at +5. At least I didn't over panic and give him syrup too. He is dropping a bit more at +6.5 after the HC is wearing off but I am trying to handle it with his regular food. He seems to be fine.

But that BIG drop so early really shook me up. I am going to reduce his shot by .25 units for tomorrow
 
Could summarize which readings are on the AT and which of the Freestyle. It's hard for us to help when you mix and match. It's easier if you pick one and stick to it.

Was the 68 on an AT or a human meter?

The only one I listed on here with both meters was:

+5.5-119 (78 on FSLite human) 1/2 hour after HC food. The rest of the numbers I listed in the post were all from the AT2 pet meter.
 
Last edited:
So the latest number shouldn't be affected by the HC food if the last time you gave that was an hour and a half ago. I'd want another test to make sure he's going to stay level on his regular food, but @Wendy&Neko knows Levemir where my experience is only with Lantus so if she can confirm that for you that would be great!
 
So the latest number shouldn't be affected by the HC food if the last time you gave that was an hour and a half ago. I'd want another test to make sure he's going to stay level on his regular food, but @Wendy&Neko knows Levemir where my experience is only with Lantus so if she can confirm that for you that would be great!


I just did a test it is listed as +8 but was done in real time at +7 His reading was 90 so he cane down just a bit from his +6.5. Sorry if my numbers are mixed up but I haven't figured out how to list 1/2 hour readings in the SS
 
To put a second number into the same cell in the SS, I just put say +6.5 94, +7 90 all in the same cell - when you do that you will have to manually fill in the color though using the little icon that looks like a paint can at the top of the screen. The 94 and 90 are essentially the same number when you allow for the 20% variance in meter readings so it looks like he might be going to surf but as the tests are closer together than I thought they were you might want one more (I'm sorry, I'm sure you must be exhausted by now). You could probably nap for an hour if you want to but from what you said it sounds as though you're similar to me - it would take you most of the hour to get to sleep and then you'd likely feel worse when the alarm went off than if you just stay awake for a bit longer now. Or if you really have to sleep, as BJM said you could give him more carbs to abort the cycle - he's really got nothing left to prove tonight!
 
To put a second number into the same cell in the SS, I just put say +6.5 94, +7 90 all in the same cell - when you do that you will have to manually fill in the color though using the little icon that looks like a paint can at the top of the screen. The 94 and 90 are essentially the same number when you allow for the 20% variance in meter readings so it looks like he might be going to surf but as the tests are closer together than I thought they were you might want one more (I'm sorry, I'm sure you must be exhausted by now). You could probably nap for an hour if you want to but from what you said it sounds as though you're similar to me - it would take you most of the hour to get to sleep and then you'd likely feel worse when the alarm went off than if you just stay awake for a bit longer now. Or if you really have to sleep, as BJM said you could give him more carbs to abort the cycle - he's really got nothing left to prove tonight!


I just finished giving Tuxie a Tbsp of HC...I can barely keep my eyes open and I have to be up in 4 1/2 hours to do hi morning shot. He is happily eating the HC so I think he should be ok till morning. Thanks for the help...I am so tired now so I will figure out the spreadsheet entries tomorrow.
 
Thanks all for the help last night.

Julie I did leave a bit more food out before I went to bed.

Tuxie survived the late night...me not so well..I look like I was up partying all night..LOL I was 1/2 hour late with his AM shot. Tuxie was 362 at AMPS so he did bounce up but not as high. I gave him 5.0 units this morning which is .25 unit reduction because of his lower nadir last night. I hope this fits the protocol.

I will be able to monitor him for most of the morning/afternoon except for a few hours when I have some appointments. It seems that most of his active cycles come in the evening time, so I hope to grab a nap at some point just in case he decides to go sky-diving again later. Unfortunately I do not go to sleep quickly so after getting to bed last night it still took me an hour to get to sleep. :(


Just to add...it was wonderful to get up this morning and have a very small pee in the L/B and virtually no water consumed overnight :)
 
Last edited:
I'm glad Tuxie was fine after you had to sleep last night. And I have to admit, I've spent weeks looking as though I'm half dead from lack of sleep! This is, I think, the first morning since Rosa's diagnosis where I've actually had 6 hours sleep and don't feel too much like crawling right back into bed so I really do sympathize. I really hope you can grab 2 or 3 hours clear in the day so you can get a nap even with it taking you a while to get to sleep. Yes I think I'd take the reduction - OK he got to 68 instead of just under it, but meter variance or even a 5 minute difference in when you took the test would have changed that so I think it's reasonable to give him a try on 5.0 units. :)

A lot of cats do go lower at night so it looks as though Tuxie's fitting that pattern which does at least give you some time to relax a little during the day. :)

And it's great to hear that Tuxie's drinking and peeing less - that's a really good sign that the insulin is helping him! :D
 
Well Tuxie is doing a non-worrisome level this morning so I did manage to grab about 1/2 hour sleep. I will be out until later this afternoon so this is all good for me. Hopefully he will come down tonight...but not TOO fast :)
 
I'm glad he let you get a little extra sleep this morning. His numbers look just fine for him to be left for a while - maybe a tiny bit of a bounce going on, but while he's going low at night I'd take advantage of that to get things done (including sleeping). :)
 
I'm glad he let you get a little extra sleep this morning. His numbers look just fine for him to be left for a while - maybe a tiny bit of a bounce going on, but while he's going low at night I'd take advantage of that to get things done (including sleeping). :)

Yes..a little breathing time is a good thing AND a little sleep time too :)
 
Go ahead and start a new thread every morning - it helps make things more manageable! You can answer questions from the day before in the current day's thread (condo).

Technically he didn't earn a dose reduction because he didn't go below 68AT. That's the dividing line for the dose reduction on ATs. But since you were intervening and carbing him it probably makes some sense to reduce. These dose reduction points - 68AT and 50 on a human glucometer, have a safety measure build in to them. You don't have to worry that he's going to hypo if he goes below 68. You have a margin of time to take action and give him carbs then. I just want to reassure you that the point isn't necessarily to keep him over 68. The goal is to get as many hours spent in normal numbers so that his pancreas can heal if at all possible. So when he's getting down around 68, celebrate - and just give him a little carbs in order to keep him coasting along for as long as possible under 100ish.

Keep alert for when he clears this bounce - if he's not back into this same normal range again, you may need to go back up to 5.25u.
 
Go ahead and start a new thread every morning - it helps make things more manageable! You can answer questions from the day before in the current day's thread (condo).

Technically he didn't earn a dose reduction because he didn't go below 68AT. That's the dividing line for the dose reduction on ATs. But since you were intervening and carbing him it probably makes some sense to reduce. These dose reduction points - 68AT and 50 on a human glucometer, have a safety measure build in to them. You don't have to worry that he's going to hypo if he goes below 68. You have a margin of time to take action and give him carbs then. I just want to reassure you that the point isn't necessarily to keep him over 68. The goal is to get as many hours spent in normal numbers so that his pancreas can heal if at all possible. So when he's getting down around 68, celebrate - and just give him a little carbs in order to keep him coasting along for as long as possible under 100ish.

Keep alert for when he clears this bounce - if he's not back into this same normal range again, you may need to go back up to 5.25u.


Thanks for the advise. The reason I did the reduction was because he dropped so quick and I intervened with HC food. I guess I am still too nervous with big drops like that. For most of the last 4 1/2 months I have been concentrating on when to increase his dose rather than worrying about going too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top