Hypo last night. What to do today?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Baby

Member Since 2011
Baby's PMPS last night was 53. I think part of the problem is that she is refusing to eat (again). I am going to buy different food for her today, and i'm wondering what you all think i should do as far as dosing. I am following Vicky's split dosing schedule http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=49926#p538778 and shooting 1.5u. Hopefully I will find some help/advise on this before her AMPS is due in 7 hours. Thank you all for help.
 
Sarah, in order to understand how this insulin works....you don't really shoot based on that am or pm ps. And once you see the number rise...it is safe to give a shot...even a reduced one.
A week or so ago you pass a 90 or so to not shoot.
This insulin will not work this way.
NOT GIVING DOSE ADVICE but too slow to type out the workings. Call me for just the workings.
Also...if number is too low to shoot...wait...test for a rising number and shoot a reduced dose.
Only becuase your pmps was low enuf to suppose you are warrented a dose reduction.
remember the insulin won't really kick in for a few hours.
you leve? or lntus?
 
whoa, just read your thread last nite in health.
i see you had to work to get that 53 up.
and you had jill and alex help. i trust her judgement par excellence.
i also forgot your split dosing thing.
i am out of my league darlin...
jill, vicky....these people understand....
you are in very interesting territory and once you get it down you yourself will be an expert of sorts.
lori
 
Sarah, because of the schedule changes it's probably best to stay with 1.25U now. You need to be able to find a dose which will allow you to do split dosing. That's probably not as high as 1.5U, as you just found out. The splits based on 1.5U total extended her duration a little too much.

It's very easy, especially in the beginning to jump the gun on dose increases. The longer-acting insulins can take even a week to reveal how well a particular dose is working. Most of us have had a tough time learning to sit on our hands and not change things around so much.

In your case that's especially so with dose changes you do make, because you not only need to make dose changes but also since you're still trying to find her best dose. Then you are occasionally changing the shot times as well, which we consider having similar effect to dose changes. Each change, whether it be in dose or shot schedule, effects the overall BGs over the course of several days in some cases. Or more immediate, as you witnessed with the 53 last night. That's another reason to go down to 1.25U and see how that works for this week in to next.

I don't think there's another split dose needed for a little while yet, right? It may even be a good idea the next time to base it on 1U instead of 1.25U, just to prevent what happened last night. Also, .5U is easier to measure. But let's see how she does on 1.25U till then.

Sound like a plan?
 
Sounds excellent. Especially since i was going to ask you how to split the 1.25u. I will be able to stay on this rotation until thursday night, I believe. Thank you so much for your help, I really appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top