Hypo last night lowest dose this morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. Kya had a hypo last night which I successfully brought her out of. She has a PS this morning of 240. I Read that you should skip a dose and then give evening dose instead. Can I just give lowest dose this morning .25 so she Is not left with nothing or let her run high all day. She had been bouncing around trying to get her regulated. She has high today because of all excess carbs in her system from last night. I’m leaning towards not shooting any this morning. I hope that’s a good choice
 
Last edited:
Sorry for the delay. Just seeing this now. Next time you need quick attention, try using the "?" prefix to show you need some assistance and it should get you more attention than the question mark at the end of the title. Folks tend to scan for questions or urgent post and don't always notice question marks at the back end of the title.

Looks like you skipped this AM and that was a good decision. Those lows last night could make Kya more sensitive to the insulin. Her BG isn't that high this morning given those lows last night so I think caution is in order.

Kya has earned a dose reduction so depending on PMPS you need to reduce to at least 2.25u or even 2u if BG stays in lower shootable range. Post for assistance tonight if you have questions.
 
Thank you for advice. Since her numbers have been so crazy lately I actually though about starting over and starting her back on 1 unit to increase safely. What do you think? I may also be able to do full curve on her tomorrow. Supposed to be off from work
 
Last edited:
Kya's BG has definitely been coming down over the past few days and she went too low last night but I'm not sure taking her all the way back to 1u is the right move right now. You were shooting 2.5u on pretty low pre-shots, and during the night cycles the last few days as well as the day cycle of the 31st she may have been going lower than you are aware of so right now.

First of all I would NEVER give insulin without first checking to see that BG is high enough to safely shoot. Second, I would make sure to get at least one mid cycle test in for all cycles but if not possible then err on the side of caution with dosing and third, I would be extremely cautious about shooting pre-shots in the 90s. Novolin can hit hard and fast and for that reason, your aim should be to get Kya into high green (90's) to low blue range during the cycle so shooting at that range is unsafe and even more so if you cannot monitor the cycle closely.

There are a lot of unknowns about what Kya is doing right now. That said I'm not sure dropping all the way back to 1u is the right move but it's difficult to know what the dose should be to get her into good numbers without risking her going too low.

I think if you can monitor her tonight, and PMPS is 200 or more, you could try 2u and see what she does. Ultimately it's up to you and if you feel more comfortable taking her back to 1u that is fine but I still wouldn't give insulin if BG is low at pre-shot and get mid cycle tests whenever you can. I realize it's hard to do on day cycles when one is working but even grabbing an extra test an hour after shot on the way out the door or as soon as you come home will help fill in the gaps in the picture. And definitely get a test every night before bed to see if she is dropping quickly so you can intervene early to prevent lows like last night.
 
Ok thank you. I can monitor tonight so will try 2u if PS is above 200. Then I will try to do full curve tomorrow. For a while there I felt like the insulin wasn’t doing what it normally did or her body was responding weird which is why I took it up to 3 units especially after the vet visit pre surgery did a BG check and said it was high to be in the middle of the cycle. It’s been a crazy month with her BG
 
You've no doubt posted about the surgery before so forgive me but what was the surgery and when was it done?

BGs taken in the vet's office are known to usually be elevated due to stress as most kitties are none too happy travelling to the vet or being there. Vet readings have all too often led to kitties getting too much insulin. Too much insulin can look just like too little so vet BG testing is not a reliable way to make dose adjustments or get kitty regulated.
 
Got ya. Her surgery was on the 2nd of July and I took her that Sunday before on the 30th of June to check her chin out to make sure surgery was still an option. She had a sebaceous cyst removed from her chin as well as teeth cleaned. After that I was increasing doses to try to get her mid cycle numbers down a little more. That makes sense that vet BGs cause too much insulin to be given.
 
Ok that makes sense. I will def post around 5 or 6 tonight with pmps and numbers every 2 hours. Thank you. Glad I took her for surgery and teeth of it’s making that big of difference.
 
Hey there. Update on Kya. Just took pmps and we are at 293 on the ReliOn Prime. So I will go ahead with the 2 units when she gets done eating 30 min after and then test tonight until +6 hours. I will keep you updated
 
+2 we are at 229. So it has dropped about 64 points. I will test again at +4 and if I can stay awake at +6. Only got 3 hours of sleep with her hypo episode and having to go to work around 5am this morning.
 
Last edited:
I bought friskies today that was 17 carbs. Would you consider that medium? If not then how much low and high. Tablespoon of each?

Ok she got a teaspoon of friskies and teaspoon of fancy feast, her reg food I will test again at +5
 
Last edited:
Ok good to know. So we are at 70 for +5. Could I do a bit of honey to get her through hour 6? Or you think she is good? I’m so about to crash hard. I’m running on 3 hours of sleep from last night
 
OK....another teaspoon or two of food and test again in another 30 since she's still dropping....but at least she's not dropping as fast!
 
That's still pretty much the same number but a nice safe one.

If it were my cat, I'd want to get 1 more test in about an hour just to make sure, especially if you've been feeding something MC or HC for the last hour.
 
I know.....they don't tell us that this diabetes diagnosis also comes with a lot of sleep deprivation!!

Cats get to sleep all day and most of the night....We caretakers, not so much!
 
Wow Kya is really putting you through your paces. Glad Chris was here to assist you. I'd definitely be cautious right now because Kya is obviously doing better on the lower doses but it's hard to know exactly what the best dose is to keep her in safe numbers without having to steer her right now. Hopefully the 1.5u will make for a little less active and safe cycle.
 
Lord she is!! I was so tired last night I thought my eyes might fall out. Yes I’m hoping 1.5 does well today too. I’m thankfully off today so I can monitor and do a curve to see.
 
There is really no point doing a curve today. It's a new dose and the first day on a new dose is not always indicative of what that dose will do the next day or the day after. I'd start with a check at +3 then give her a snack to slow down the drop. Then depending on where she is, decide on next test time. Besides you 've been poking her a lot by necessity lately so good to give her ears as much of a break as you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top