Hypo help!

TooFar McGee

Member Since 2025
Norman got his regular 2.5 dose as 3.0 sent him into a dive... well he hasn't been interested in food today despite his mirtazipine and thank God for the Libre

I syringe fed him about 10 mL of a wet food with half a scoop of high cal supplement in it about 20 minutes ago and for the past hour he's wavered between 50 and 60. right now he's at 52, Libre numbers. AlphaTrak said 75 but I don't actually trust it. It's new to me and I haven't gotten the darn thing to work half as well as the WalMart One Touch.

I have honey on hand just in case, but right now he's just huddled up, thoroughly sick of me for today
 
Last edited:
Depending on where you are at in the cycle, you may need to continue to monitor and test, and perhaps use some intervention with high carb food or syrup, Numbers appear to still be in the safe range, can you tell me more where you are at in terms of hours after shot time? Have you been able to test again?
 
Anyway, I explained about the problem with the Libres giving unreliable low readings in the lower end numbers (ask me to show you some spreadsheet examples of this tomorrow). Rely on your handheld meter when dealing with lower numbers. On the pha Trak, we don’t want him lower than 68 and with a human meter we don’t want him going below 50. Above those numbers, you can manage the numbers with regular low carb or medium carb food. Christie is excellent and can help of you are still experiencing low numbers. I will be signing off shortly.
 
I am back at work now... I saw the spreadsheet somewhere on here where the Libre measured 40 and a handheld read almost 100, so that's concerning. I'm just glad for the Libre because I'd just arrived at work and checked because the ProZinc hadn't 'hit' yet by the time I'd left, and all of a sudden he was in the 50s. Bless my boss, I said "I've gotta *go*." and he wished me good luck and forbade me get any speeding tickets on the way.

I'm having nothing but problems with the AlphaTrak 3 between theoretical BT connection and oddly, required sample size? The Alpha readings I got were 106, 79, 65 at the lowest. I ended up syringe feeding about 25mL of food with a little "under the weather" mixed in in two sittings. The first only sort of flattened the curve, the second with a little added honey (maybe 1/8 tsp, if that) started bringing it up again.

The dive started at about
+1 - where he started at 349.
+2, - he was at 209. That's when I leave for work.
+3 - 66 when I got to work, and showing no sign of tapering off.
+4 - 53 My first syringe feed more or less flattened things .
+5 - 54 and I wasn't sure, halfway through the curve here, if he would start to trend upward again
+6 - he was at 153.
+6.5 - a peak at 200
+7 - 183

I think contributing factors in this are that I couldn't get him to eat this morning beyond his probiotic "soup", and he wasn't terribly interested in food last night, either. My vet and I are weaning him off prednisolone and he usually got 8.5 mg/day for his IBD, in addition to 8mg Cerenia. Yesterday was his first 2.5mg prednisolone dose and I couldn't get it in him today. Figured he might tolerate it tonight better after his Mirazapine had some time to work...?

This is the same dose that he was at yesterday when he started around 300 and ended over 600 with a "nadir" of 280.

Then again, he was just diagnosed on the 4th and we're still figuring things out. Definitely didn't start with the "low and slow" protocol because starting numbers were so high. Any advice there is really appreciated.
 
Back
Top