Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
This is not 911, hypo event 2 1/2 hours ago, his values are 84.
Leo has been in the 300-400 range since he was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago. He started at 1.5 and has been at 2 units for 2 weeks. We laid off the frequent testing at the vet's suggestion to give him a break from the trauma, and retested curves after starting the new dose. The values were still high - his spreadsheet is in my sig. We couldn't test for the last 3 days because we were out of town and the sitter doesn't know how to do the BG testing. (She may learn but that's another issue). I returned home last night and had a better preshoot value (297 - yay!) I shot 2.5 units, which the vet approved based on the previous weeks values - that was the first shot at that dose. (I probably should have held off on the dose increase with that lower preshoot value.) I got up to test at +5 and his BG was 38!!! I gave Fancy Feast, retested 10 minutes later (43), more Fancy Feast (he's not really interested in eating much) and retest at +6 (69), retest at +6.5 (68). He's not eating the FF, but he's out of the danger zone it seems, but I'll test in 45 minutes as was recommended somewhere on this site.
Summary
PMPS 297
+5 38
+5 and 10 minutes 43
+6 69
+6.5 68
+7.25 84
+10 176
My question - he is due for a 2.5 unit dose in the morning. What do I do? I read for the tight regulation protocol to reduce the dose by .25 units, but since I don't have BG values for the last 3 days, I don't want to do that. Should I go back to 2 units or decrease it further? Also, I will be home tomorrow all day so I can closely monitor him whatever the dose.
I will call the vet, but they don't open until an hour after his scheduled injection time. Should I wait to talk to them before shooting, or keep him on schedule with a lower dose?
On a side note, could this be a turn towards remission? We've only had a few nadirs under 300. We can hope and pray Mr. Pancreas has started to perform his duties again!
Thanks!
Lisa and Leo
[Edited to add +10 BG value)
Leo has been in the 300-400 range since he was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago. He started at 1.5 and has been at 2 units for 2 weeks. We laid off the frequent testing at the vet's suggestion to give him a break from the trauma, and retested curves after starting the new dose. The values were still high - his spreadsheet is in my sig. We couldn't test for the last 3 days because we were out of town and the sitter doesn't know how to do the BG testing. (She may learn but that's another issue). I returned home last night and had a better preshoot value (297 - yay!) I shot 2.5 units, which the vet approved based on the previous weeks values - that was the first shot at that dose. (I probably should have held off on the dose increase with that lower preshoot value.) I got up to test at +5 and his BG was 38!!! I gave Fancy Feast, retested 10 minutes later (43), more Fancy Feast (he's not really interested in eating much) and retest at +6 (69), retest at +6.5 (68). He's not eating the FF, but he's out of the danger zone it seems, but I'll test in 45 minutes as was recommended somewhere on this site.
Summary
PMPS 297
+5 38
+5 and 10 minutes 43
+6 69
+6.5 68
+7.25 84
+10 176
My question - he is due for a 2.5 unit dose in the morning. What do I do? I read for the tight regulation protocol to reduce the dose by .25 units, but since I don't have BG values for the last 3 days, I don't want to do that. Should I go back to 2 units or decrease it further? Also, I will be home tomorrow all day so I can closely monitor him whatever the dose.
I will call the vet, but they don't open until an hour after his scheduled injection time. Should I wait to talk to them before shooting, or keep him on schedule with a lower dose?
On a side note, could this be a turn towards remission? We've only had a few nadirs under 300. We can hope and pray Mr. Pancreas has started to perform his duties again!
Thanks!
Lisa and Leo
[Edited to add +10 BG value)