? Hypo- admins I need some advice

jill_jewett

Member Since 2025
Hello, my cat is currently on 1.5 units of lantus every 12 hours, his 730pm- PMPS was 10.1 I gave him his 1.5 units and fed him some low carb food 1/4 can he ate, and a low carb treat. I checked at +3 hours (1030pm) and his blood glucose was 4.1, checked 20 mins later and he was 2.9- I gave him 1tsp of high carb food and tested 20 mins later his blood glucose was 4.2, I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food, tested 20 mins later and he was 3.5, I put 1/2 tsp of honey on his gums and gave him another 1tsp of high carb food. Now waiting 20 mins to test again… is there anything I’m missing?

Emmett's Spreadsheet (Jill)
 
Hello, my cat is currently on 1.5 units of lantus every 12 hours, his 730pm- PMPS was 10.1 I gave him his 1.5 units and fed him some low carb food 1/4 can he ate, and a low carb treat. I checked at +3 hours (1030pm) and his blood glucose was 4.1, checked 20 mins later and he was 2.9- I gave him 1tsp of high carb food and tested 20 mins later his blood glucose was 4.2, I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food, tested 20 mins later and he was 3.5, I put 1/2 tsp of honey on his gums and gave him another 1tsp of high carb food. Now waiting 20 mins to test again… is there anything I’m missing?

Emmett's Spreadsheet (Jill)
Just checked and he’s up to 4.1 and I gave him 1 tsp of low carb food
 
Hi
It looks like you managed this situation beautifully. Keep your eye out and keep doing what you're doing.
Just a question, when you got the 2.9 did you re-test right away? It's always good to do so when getting such low numbers. Just in case the testing strip was faulty etc.
 
Hi
It looks like you managed this situation beautifully. Keep your eye out and keep doing what you're doing.
Just a question, when you got the 2.9 did you re-test right away? It's always good to do so when getting such low numbers. Just in case the testing strip was faulty etc.
No I didn’t, I tested in 20’mins but I’ll be sure to do that next time! Thank you!
 
Jill, Have you decided which dosing method you are going to follow with Emmett? Here is an explanation of the two dosing methods: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

When people offer you dosing guidance, they are going to want to know which method of dosing you are following since those methods indicate when we take dose increases/decreases.

You're testing enough to follow TR, but I'm not sure what you're feeding Emmett, and cats on TR cannot be fed dry food--wet food only.

Also, what are you currently feeding Emmett? Have you made any recent changes in his diet that could have caused those lower numbers last night?

Diabetic cats should be fed a low carb, (preferably) wet cat food.
 
There is some additional information we like to see about your cat, such as whether he was diagnosed with ketones or DKA, what food you are feeding,etc. That information can go in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! Only with those answers, knowing which dosing method you want to follow, and the spreadsheet, can we give answers about what his dose should be.

Sorry your skip today caused those high numbers. He will get over them soon enough.
 
Jill, Have you decided which dosing method you are going to follow with Emmett? Here is an explanation of the two dosing methods: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

When people offer you dosing guidance, they are going to want to know which method of dosing you are following since those methods indicate when we take dose increases/decreases.

You're testing enough to follow TR, but I'm not sure what you're feeding Emmett, and cats on TR cannot be fed dry food--wet food only.

Also, what are you currently feeding Emmett? Have you made any recent changes in his diet that could have caused those lower numbers last night?

Diabetic cats should be fed a low carb, (preferably) wet cat food.
slgs is what i was going for, hes on all wet low carb since december (he always ate high carb kibble prior to diagnosis), he does have an approved low carb hard food that we have down incase hes hungry between times were working or in the night but he rarely eats it, hes eating fancy feast pate and he did just start some friskies pate a few days ago but we just upped his dose to 1.5 on the 15th,
 
slgs is what i was going for, hes on all wet low carb since december (he always ate high carb kibble prior to diagnosis), he does have an approved low carb hard food that we have down incase hes hungry between times were working or in the night but he rarely eats it, hes eating fancy feast pate and he did just start some friskies pate a few days ago but we just upped his dose to 1.5 on the 15th,
You'll want to note SLGS on your spreadsheet AND on your signature.
 
we just upped his dose to 1.5 on the 15th
Those numbers below 90 tell you that 1.5 units is too much insulin at this point in time and his dose needs to be reduced to 1.25 units. Note, with SLGS, you stay with the same dose for 7 days before increasing, unless he goes below 90, in which case you'd decrease the dose.
 
Back
Top