Shelle Acello
Member Since 2020
First time that I’ve received a HI response from relook prime meter. What do I need to do? Berlioz’s spreadsheet is up to date.
Thank you! I will definitely get more pm tests in there starting tonight. I attempted a curve on Wednesday, but he went too low and then I was just focused on getting his numbers back up. I appreciate your quick response. I feel so bad that I’m learning on him, poor guy.Shelle -
There's really not much you can do to pull numbers down. My best guess is that Berlioz is bouncing in response to the 44 on 1/27 and from the drop from the 400s to 157 the following day.
If I can make a suggestion.....
You don't have enough data on your spreadsheet to begin to decipher your cat's patterns. It would be very helpful to get a before bed test every night. Just as an example, that 65 at AMPS on 1/20 tells you that your cat was likely in lower numbers during the PM cycle on 1/19. The question is how low did the numbers get? Most days, you're only testing at pre-shot times. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers. Without more tests, it's very likely that you're missing some dose reductions.
With SLGS, you want to be doing a curve once a week. Unless a reduction is warranted, you hold the dose for a week, do a curve, then if necessary, increase the dose. The only curve is on 1/27. In general, you're holding the dose too long. Holding a dose for longer than necessary can result in glucose toxicity (i.e,. your cat starts to treat higher numbers as the new "normal"). You can find more information on SLGS in the dosing methods sticky on the Lantus forum.
You are correct about stress. For most cats, stress causes numbers to go up. However, not all cats read the rule book. There are some cats whose numbers drop with stress.
That is a great idea! I will do that as soon as I get to my location. The kindness given on this site is unbelievable. I found you guys for a reason. I will get this. One day at a time.We all end up learning about FD from our kitties! It can be a steep learning curve but you've got a lot of people who are here to offer back up. Many of the people I work with are surprised at how much I know about diabetes. (They are even more surprised when I tell them that I learned everything from my cat!!)
It is helpful to some members to look at other members spreadsheets. It can give you some idea of how much or how little testing you need as well as what patterns to look for. If you jump over to the Lantus forum, almost everyone there using Lantus (there are some Levemir users and a hand full of people using Basaglar) so it's easier to find the spreadsheets on that Board than on Health.