Humulin R vs Novolin R

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregH

Member Since 2017
The doctor wrote a prescription today for Humulin R #1 insulin. Someone at the pharmacy told me that Novolin R is the same thing and does not require a prescription. Is there a difference between the two? I know the Novolin is in stock now but I would have to wait several days for the Humulin R. Novolin R is also much less expensive, $25 a bottle vs the $160 a bottle I was quoted for Humulin R and we would not be using it all that often (hopefully).

We're using Prozinc as primary insulin but we're trying to fight off when ketones start to come back and I get high +6 BG numbers. The idea of using "R" insulin is to give it at +6 or later on rare occasion so he doesn't have to suffer high numbers for another 6 hours until his next shot.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks!
 
Yes, Humulin R and Novolin R are the same.
You can also buy Novolin R at WalMart. The price is around $25 - $30. :)
No prescription required.



Edited to add: You might want to have someone experienced with R around the first couple of times you use it. Suggested starting dose is usually a teensy tiny dose of 0.1 unit.

01unit-1.jpg
 
Last edited:
Cont'd:

You may already be aware, but if not...

Initially, you'll want to test every hour from when you give the R thru +4 or +5 to determine onset, nadir and duration of the R. Reason being, you don't want the nadirs of the basal and bolus insulins to coincide. You're looking for R to drop numbers a maximum of 100 points. Anything more than that is usually counterproductive because larger drops only serve to set kitty up for another bounce.

If you have more questions, I'd post in the PZI/Prozinc forum if I were you.
Good luck!
 
I agree with having someone experienced in using R insulin to help you and guide you in the beginning, for at least the first few days.

Also, do not store the R insulin in the same place in the refrigerator as your basal insulin. I have seen too many times of people posting that they accidently shot their regular basal insulin dose of R insulin by mistake. I always kept my Lantus or Levemir on the top shelf of the frig and my R insulin in the door of the frig. You don't ever want to be too tired or too stressed or in a hurry one day and reach for the wrong insulin, or have a pet sitter or someone else give your cat the wrong insulin.
 
Thanks for all the advice and feedback! I did end up getting the Novolin R instead of the Humulin R because it was more readily available and significantly less cost.

I was hoping to not have to use it, but Moe's nadir number this evening on prozinc is higher than his preshot number!! I am tired, and can't stay up all night, but at the same he has been flirting with DKA the last week or two, and for the most part I think I managed to get him turned around without using R right now, and the vet prescribed this because she trusts us and hopes it can keep him out of the hospital in the future. She suggested a starting dose of 1 unit using a U100 syringe and seeing how he does. Are you serious, you really mean starting with .1u?

If you look at this chart, its very colorful and he's not able to tolerate the higher numbers very well any more and is starting to develop DKA and Neuropathy.

I was going to take his glucose again at +6 (here in about 20 minutes) and see if its lower and higher than the +5 was and then make a decision.
 
oh and also, the instrutions say to only store novolin R in the refrigerator before opening, then store at room temp after that? Is that really right?
 
We're dodging severe storms and tornadoes so I have to make this brief.
  • Yes, I'm talking a starting dose of 0.1 unit. Look at Alex's 2014 spreadsheet (she was a ketone prone kitty)... specifically, 3/10/14. A 0.1u dose of R dropped her from 285 @ +13 to 165 @ +4.5 and then 89 @ +6.25 after the Lev kicked in. I never had to give her more than 0.25u of R ever. Your mileage may vary, but R is a very powerful insulin. Start low. If your data shows 0.1u didn't do anything, then increase the R dose to 0.25u the next time. Better safe than sorry.
  • Keep the R in the fridge. It'll stay good for a long time if you keep it in the fridge.
Honestly, if you're tired, I'd wait til you can stay awake to monitor to start with R...
 
I appreciate it, thank you. Hope the tornadoes and storms miss you! I hate the spring storms!

I don't know how I'm going to measure tenth of units using a U-100 syringe, seems soooo tiny. I get the picture but its hard enough for me to do quarter units on my U-40 syringes with half-unit markings. I'm glad I talked to you, the vet said to start with 1 unit on a U-100 syringe!
 
Just do the best you can. Your 0.1u dose and mine don't have to look exactly alike. Just try to be consistent when you measure the same dose. Oh, and those magnifying reader glasses that you can buy in any drug store really do help!
Good luck!
 
Most vets seem to think in whole units. I remember taking my cat to the ER for something and I said "and I occasionally give him some R insulin" and they asked how much and I said 0.1 unit and they said "1 unit?" and I said 0.1 and they said "1 unit?", and it was like they just couldn't comprehend and gave me a deer in the headlights look.
Good luck with the R when you decide to use it. And like Jill said, I would only use it when you can be home and awake to monitor and test.
 
store novolin R in the refrigerator before opening, then store at room temp after that? Is that really right?
We always store our insulin in the fridge even after piercing the vial or pen. I have used one vial of R for over 4 years.
I would start with a low dose of R, much less than 1 unit and then increase as necessary when the BG indicates an increase is in order.
 
Novolin and Humulin are just 2 different manufacturers - same insulins...the difference in the price if you buy at Walmart is which one they have the current contract with. 4 years ago it was with Humulin, (Eli Lily) now it's Novolin (by Novo Nordisk) ....
 
Humulin is Eli Lilly's trade name for a family of Recombinant DNA origin human insulins. They include N (sometimes called NPH), and R (very fast actions) and mixture of the two. Only N/NPH is OK, but not that good, for cats.

Novolin is Novo Nordisk's trade name for a family of Recombinant DNA origin insulins. They include N (sometimes called NPH), and R (very fast actions) and mixture of the two. Only N/NPH is OK, but not that good, for cats.
Novo Nordisk's Novolin insulin is typically less expensive that Eli Lilly's Humilin
 
Following to see how the R works out for you.

I haven't had a need to use R yet because Moe's glucose levels have actually been really pretty good (for Moe) these last several days. He's been feeling pretty good (all things considered) up until tonight and although he ate most his dinner it was a struggle and his diarrhea and light colored stools are back again. While we now know our time left with him will limited (a long, heart-breaking story), we were trying to make him more comfortable by using R insulin when the long-acting, prozinc insulin seems to be "stuck" and his levels are still high during the +6, +7 hours after his shot. Since I got the short-acting R insulin last Friday we haven't had to use it yet, but I will reply to this thread when we do use it for the first time and let you all know how it goes.
 
Well his +6 level was just 504 (my fault for accidentally feeding him too much dry food at +3).

I just tried the 0.1u of R. I don't know that he got anything, the amount was so low i doubt anything left the plunger. But we'll see here in an hour what his level is. If it is the same or higher I'm going to assume that he didn't get anything and try a quarter unit in an hour.
 
Well, after an hour, it dropped 34 points from 504 down to 470. At least its something, but not enough. Is the peak supposed to be 1 hour or 2 for R insulin?
 
Thanks for the response. After 2 and a half hours, it had only dropped from 509 down to 466, so I gave another 0.1u to Moe. I'm hoping that his morning preshot will be in the upper 300s so I can give him his normal amount of prozinc, but I'm skeptical. Its really tough to measure a 0.1u and I tested my measurement and it works out to be 0-2 drops of insulin when you press the plunger in hard. He's had more diareha, so its possible his number could just be dropping due to that and/or what's left of the prozinc still working.
 
We had mostly a fur shot this morning, I think for the 2.75u of Prozinc that was given. Moe's +4 reading climbed up to 377, so I gave .25 of R this time because .1 R didn't do much last time we tried R. I just took a +6 reading and it was only 359, so I gave .5 of R. He should be at his low readings right now, but we're still in the mid 300's. I'm hoping we start seeing some decent numbers soon. It seems that even .5U of R is only a couple of drops in U-100 syringes.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top