Humulin N and Other Insulins

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amp13

Member Since 2015
Hi everyone. I'm brand new to feline diabetes as my 11-year-old male Woofy was diagnosed this morning.

I read many, many articles today on this site and read that Humulin N should NOT be used on felines, but that's what my vet prescribed Woofy. I did a little more research online and found a source that says it's a good option for a difficult case. I don't know just how difficult Woofy's case is but his bg levels were 600 when they tested him this morning and he's pretty overweight so maybe Humulin N is a good option for him.

Should I go ahead and start him out with this insulin and see how he reacts to it? I know my vet is knowledgable about diabetes but after reading so much anti-Humulin N literature I'm not so sure I should blindly go with his prescription.

I'm also so new to this that I'm terrified of taking a wrong step and making my cat sicker. I'm sure most of you have been there.

Also, I printed out a list of the recommended supplies but if anybody has recommendations on brands of glucometers and food and what's worked for their cat's situation, I'd appreciate that.
 
See Cat Info for nutrition info. I feed mine Friskies pates.
ProZinc or BCP PZI would be better insulin choices as they last roughly 12 hours per dose and have a more gentle onset, while Humulin/Novolin NPH last about 6-8 hours per dose. hits hard, then wears off abruptly. Your vet may not be familiar with some of the newer, longer lasting insulins.
I'd start with the food change asap (about 20-25% different food per day) and get home testing equipment - an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart ReliOn Confirm, Confirm Micro or the Target Up and Up - matching test strips, and lancets intended for alternate site testing (25-28 gauge).
 
Wonderful advice. I apologize if I asked the same questions that have already been answered here, but the list you gave me is very helpful and takes the doubt out. I'll see if my vet is receptive to changing the prescription to a longer lasting insulin.

Thank you BJM.
 
Lantus and Levemir are also great insulins for cats. They work in a totally different way than ProZinc/BPI but are still long-acting insulins. Both are human insulins you can get at any pharmacy (including a pharmacy in Canada that's a whole lot cheaper than here in the US)

Lantus has a published protocol too that's been very successful in getting newly diagnosed cats into remission. There are several links to the protocol we use here-- Lantus and Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol as well as links to the Start Low, Go Slow protocol (which also uses Lantus or Levemir)

Here's a "Getting started shopping list":

1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointmentwith pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

Welcome to the FDMB and if you have any more questions, please feel free to ask them!! The people here are great!
 
If your vet has no experience with Lantus or Levemir, he may not understand the protocol for using them. If he's willing to learn, we've got research articles you can give him.
Also, if you want to use Lantus or Levemir and you're in the US, you'll want to get it from Canada (ex. Mark's Marine) where it is much less expensive than in the US, and get the pens, not the vial, so you can use all of the insulin.
 
Thank you for the list. Again, this takes out the guesswork. I'm currently reading about the Lantus and Levemir Tight Reg Protocol and additional info and will be talking with my vet about what I learn. It's encouraging to read there are good remission rates associated with it. I'd like to act as quickly as possible.

I have a side question about eating on this first day. He is very, very hungry and still on his pre-diabetes diet of about 6 oz. per day of dry grain-free food until I can get to the store early tomorrow to get a stock of low-carb wet food. Should I feed him whenever he's hungry right now or restrict him to his normal amount of food?
 
If your vet has no experience with Lantus or Levemir, he may not understand the protocol for using them. If he's willing to learn, we've got research articles you can give him.
Also, if you want to use Lantus or Levemir and you're in the US, you'll want to get it from Canada (ex. Mark's Marine) where it is much less expensive than in the US, and get the pens, not the vial, so you can use all of the insulin.


Is that a non-prescription site? I am in the US and I read somewhere on here where it may be that you don't need the prescription. I don't entirely feel like educating my vet, but if that's what I have to do I will. Everybody up there seems a little complacent about diabetes but I wouldn't mind showing them alternatives.
 
You will need a prescription with them. Check your local Craigslist, too.
 
Marks Marine in Canada does require a script....they all do now. There used to be one site that didn't, but they changed in 2015. If you do go with Lantus or Levemir, the last post in the Insulin from Canadian Pharmacies has the info on Marks

As for the food, for now, it's fine to feed him more. Until they're better controlled, our sugarcats are actually starving since without insulin, the glucose from the breakdown of their food can't get into the cells. Think of insulin as the "key" that unlocks the door and let's the glucose into the cells. Without the insulin, they can eat huge amounts of food but still be starving since the glucose can't get into the cells to nourish them

Once your kitty is better controlled, his appetite should come down
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top