Human meter readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

drjsiems

Member Since 2010
I am not sure if this is the right place for this question, but here goes. It has recently been brought to my attention that human meters actually read about 40 points lower than what blood glucose actually is. This is very confusing and upsetting to me since Jake is in remission (last Lantus injection was in April 2010) and a difference of 40 points could make a big difference of whether he stays in normal range or not. I use One-Touch Ultra Mini and thought I found it to be pretty accurate. I compared to my animal AlphaTrak (which I no longer use due to difficulties in getting the strips) and the OTU Mini read only 10 to 20 points lower. I would be interested to hear what numbers you go by since I assume most of you are using human meters? Do you go by what the meter says or do you add 40 (or whatever number) to the number on your meter?

Thanks much,
Judy & Jake
 
Hi,
I use the Alpha Trak, but the strips are breaking me. It's hard getting the strips thru the Vet for some reason with delays, so I order from Amazon.com and they arrive on time.

I've compared my Alpha Trak with the Relion, and there's a difference of 22-30 points or readings with the Relion reading lower. I'm about the only one using the Alpha Trak that I'm aware of, except Libby is using it with Jazzie. I'm sure you will get lots of responses.
 
It you take a look at the Rand protocol (see the tables), there are different BG ranges for human meters vs. the AlphaTrack. Specifically:

Rand Protocol said:
NB. The blood glucose values were based on using portable glucose meters (Ascensia Contour, Bayer,
Leverkusen, Germany; Accu-Chek Aviva, Roche Diagnostics, Basel, Switzerland) which use ≤0.6 μL of
blood per test. These meters measure blood glucose concentration in whole blood and are calibrated for
use with human blood.
Measurements from meters calibrated for human blood which provide plasma equivalent
values are approximately 10% higher.

NB. It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood
glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than
glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyzer or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated
for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer,
add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in
contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.
 
We use the readings from the meter without adding anything.
We keep in mind that when visiting the vet office, some kitties elevate their BGs from stress. The number you get with your meter at home will be a lot lower probably than the reading you will get with the vet stress at the vet office with the vet meter.
I hope you read the links to Health...had a lot of good information.

As long as you are using one meter, stick to that one and use those numbers. Once you start comparing a blood sample with numerous meters, you see varying readings and it is just confusing and pointless really. We never get get the same number consistently..even while taking a reading with the same meter right after the first number! Hope these answers all help... :razz:
 
I just tested Jake with his One Touch Ultra Mini and then with the Alphatrak for comparison purposes. Just for everyone's information, the AlphaTrak only read 6 points higher so I am going to go under the assumption that my One Touch Ultra Mini is pretty accurate and will continue to use that one since it is so much easier to obtain strips for that one. I am not sure where the claim came from that human meters read 30 to 40 percent lower than what BGs actually are unless my Alphatrak is off, and I do not think that it is.

Judy & Jake
 
There is a difference, I don't think you can specify that it is always 30 or 40%, in general you can assume that a human will read some amount lower. There will also be differences between any 2, 3 or 5 meters you test (even from the same brand) all of these glucometers are FOR HOME USE and accurate enough for the patient to safely monitor his/her own BG, they are specifically labeled NOT FOR DIAGNOSTIC USE. If you are following the protocol for Lantus, it was developed and tested using human meters (there is a separate instruction for pet meter use) the guidelines (like <50 mg/dl being considered low BG or >100 mg/dl being considered abouve the optimal range) are suggested with the assumption that the human meter underestimates the actual BG. In mammals the reference range (means 95% of healthy individuals will have values that fall within the range) are 70-120 mg/dl (in plasma) so by considering 100 mg/dl to be on the high end of the reference range we are basically redefining the reference range when using a human meter on another animal. In the clinical lab we use a large chemistry analyser to run multiple tests on a sample of plasma to measure the amount of biological chemicals. This machine as well does not "know" from what species the blood came nor does it care, it just gives a number. when I print the results to be sent to the doctors offices I simply tell the computer software that the result is for Feline or Canine and it adjusts the reference range to tell the doc if the result is normal or not. Every lab uses a different reference range specific to thier testing methods and standarized results (calibration of thier machines) which is why it is advised not to compare results collected from different labs. Another reason I get irritated when people ask "My liver values were 45 last week is that to high? They were lower last month when I was in the hostpital" Apples and oranges....no units and no reference ranges no reasonable conclusions can be drawn, 45 could actually be a decrease when the units (or test method) is not the same or the refence ranges are significantly different.

The OT meters are highly rated and certainly are cheaper and more availble than the Alpha Trak and for treating and monitoring your cat they are a very good choice.
 
Judy,

Keep on using your One Touch Ultra Mini. I have the same meter and it is by far the best/most accurate I have used yet. It was actually 50 points higher than my vets AlphaTrak which was 50 points lower than lab results at high numbers. So I trust my One Touch. Do you use the Ultra Blue test strips? I have always only used them and they are supposed to doublecheck the the number and from test strip to test strip when I get a low number they are literally 1 point of if that. I get them at Amazon.com. They are half the price on there and if you have Amazon Prime you get them within 2 days. Ebay has them for cheap sometimes also.
 
Yes, I use the Blue strips. I have this post on the Honeymoon page also. Along with your post, a post on the Honeymoon page, and my comparison test today between One Touch Mini and Alphatrak (One Touch was only 6 points lower), I am reassured that my One Touch Mini is very likely accurate.

Thanks,
Judy & Jake (especially :-) !!!) :mrgreen:
 
drjsiems said:
Yes, I use the Blue strips. I have this post on the Honeymoon page also. Along with your post, a post on the Honeymoon page, and my comparison test today between One Touch Mini and Alphatrak (One Touch was only 6 points lower), I am reassured that my One Touch Mini is very likely accurate.

Thanks,
Judy & Jake (especially :-) !!!) :mrgreen:

That is good to know about the One Touch Ultra Mini. Can I ask how expensive are the strips in comparison to the Alpha Trak strips?
 
I bought them at Target - 100 strips for $98.00. But you can also buy 50 strips for $55.00 if you want to!
 
drjsiems said:
I bought them at Target - 100 strips for $98.00. But you can also buy 50 strips for $55.00 if you want to!

Thank you. That makes it much easier to buy when you need the strips, whereas with the Alpha Trak strips, our Vets have to order them for us.
 
I just got 200 one touch ultra blue test strips on eBay for less than $100, expiring 10 or 11/2011 (can't remember which). I either buy them from eBay or from Amazon (the current price on Amazon is 29.99 for 50 strips - free s/h and like was mentioned about, free 2 day shipping if you have Amazon Prime).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top