? Hugo - Been fighting to keep his blood sugar up all day. Skip shot tonight?

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
We've been fighting to keep his blood sugar up all day. Started at AMPS 70, and has been dipping below in the 60's. We've been giving him what I thought was High carb food (Fancy Feast Whitefish and Shrimp, with Rice and Spinach in Gravy), a little bit at a time all through the day. We've already burned through an entire can of HC wet food. Lowest was 60 around 3pm. Highest he went was 99 an hour ago after I gave him some dry food. A half hour later he went down to 78. I know these are safe numbers, but it's only being kept safe with a steady stream of food. What should I do tonight? Go down another 0.25 unit? We just went down .25 a day ago and I think this is still carryover from the higher dose depot.
 
He'll get a bump with a little food and then go right back down within a half hour.

60 @ 3pm - fed
99 @ 3:30pm
78 @ 4 pm
75 @ 4:30pm - fed
92 @ 5pm
76 @ 5:30pm

He usually gets food and his shot at 7:30pm - 8pm.
 
You have done 4 doses at 2.25 and dropped under 68 twice during the cycle while feeding higher carb food, so I would reduce the dose to 2 units.
Keep testing and see how he goes in the next 2 hours. Don’t feed again unless he drops under 68.
 
I wish I could help you. My Tiger has only been on Levemir since May 1st., prior to that he was on Prozinc. Totally different insulins, I'm still learning. I know I've been told to reduce when he gets below or close to 90..we are doing SLGS. I've chicken out just recently and not shoot and he went through the roof..HI HI HI for almost 12hrs. So, I will never do that again. I've been reminded that I'm not shooting the preshot but what he will be at +4ish. Hoping someone with experience will get back to you.
 
83 now. But that won't last, if it follows today's pattern. What should I do if it's below 68 at shot time?
I would not give any insulin if it below 68.
See how you go over the next hour and we can decide then.
It sounds like the depot is a bit full.
Can you keep the SS updated too please Elle
I think you can take down the 911 now as you are getting help.
You are doing a good job keeping Hugo safe. I had days like this when I struggled to keep Sheba above 50 when she decided to drop low.
 
What food did you feed at +10? And any food after that? It could be a factor in deciding whether or not to give insulin at shot time.
 
89. Starting to go down again. We usually feed in 15 and give him the shot 15 after that. What should I do? Test again in 15? If it's lower, should we feed as usual?
 
89. Starting to go down again. We usually feed in 15 and give him the shot 15 after that. What should I do? Test again in 15? If it's lower, should we feed as usual?
I’d test again in 20 and see what he’s doing. Then if necessary I’d stall a bit longer..
Unless he starts to go up, I’d be inclined to skip and drain the depot a bit, as you’ve had to feed all day to keep him up. If you shot, you could be up all night with him doing the same thing.
What are your thoughts?
 
I think we might have to skip if it's still going down. The low numbers make me too nervous.
The main priority is to keep him safe. I think the depot is very full. It’s going to be night time, not sure how you are placed with the pandemic and getting to an ER if necessary and you must be tired after today, so unless he comes up, I agree it would be safer to skip. Better to be a bit high than too low.
 
Elle can you put the 83 In the SS please. That will show he was dropping again before deciding not to shoot. Thanks.
The 103 could be a food bump if he’s eaten well or moving back up.
 
Elle can you put the 83 In the SS please. That will show he was dropping again before deciding not to shoot. Thanks.
The 103 could be a food bump if he’s eaten well or moving back up.

We fed him, so yeah, its a food bump, but at least he's over 100. Makes me feel a bit better. We will continue to monitor him.
 
Sorry, been one of those days again so I'm late to the party. I agree with Bron on the reduction down to 2.0 units. Don't forget to update the Remarks column with the extra food you gave today. Those notes will come in handy letting you know what worked/didn't work, if you have to fight low numbers again.

When you get a little more experience/are less tired, you'll be able to shoot those green numbers, even after an active cycle. 91/89 are basically the same number and 83 is still within the meter variance. He was surfing at preshot time. And not yet, but hopefully soon, Hugo will forget to bounce.
 
203 now.

It wasn't so much the number as it was the fact that he was still heading down in his numbers and we had been fighting it all day. I didn't want to continue that into the night.

Headed to bed. Thank you again, everyone!
 
Back
Top