Misty&TenTen
Member Since 2010
Some of the old timers here will remember Ten Ten. A little bit of history: He was diagnosed in Oct of 2003 at age 5. He was in severe DKA at diagnosis. Since I have so many cats & have limited income, they all do eat canned & dry. Ten Ten's blood glucoses have ranged from the 300's to the 100's for the most part. After a few insulin changes, we settled on PZI Index, which he has been on until they stopped making it & I could no longer find any. At that time, I opted to try the BCP PZI, which was about 8 months ago.
His dosage, in the past couple of years, has ranged from .75u to .2u, but mainly the lower range. In his first 5 years or so, his dosage was 3 to 3.5u. I have learned through experience that Ten Ten does better with a type of sliding scale insulin dose, rather than a written in stone dose. In August of last year, he went over two weeks without needing any insulin! He has had an occasional skipped shot when his bg was too low to shoot, but not that often. Since August, he has had many instances of a few days of not needing insulin. His vet is at a loss to explain why. It seems he has progressively had a day or so longer of not needing insulin, during these periods.
He has not had any insulin since Dec. 31st!! His bg's have ranged from a few low 150's, down to 87. The majority are in the range of high 100 teens. These are NOT fasting bg's, as my cats free feed dry food. Ten Ten will be 13 in May & is acting like he's a youngster. He has just recently started being able to jump onto my bed again. I have had to help him for the past few years.
I test him at least twice a day & sometimes more often. Any ideas? Has anyone ever heard of this happening before? He feels great, he looks great & he has more energy. The vet feels no masses & can find nothing on physical examination. I opt not to have ultrasounds, xrays, etc. at this time, due to his general health & finances. I just wondered if any of you have heard of this or had the experience yourselves. Any responses appreciated. I hope all of your fur babies are doing well!
His dosage, in the past couple of years, has ranged from .75u to .2u, but mainly the lower range. In his first 5 years or so, his dosage was 3 to 3.5u. I have learned through experience that Ten Ten does better with a type of sliding scale insulin dose, rather than a written in stone dose. In August of last year, he went over two weeks without needing any insulin! He has had an occasional skipped shot when his bg was too low to shoot, but not that often. Since August, he has had many instances of a few days of not needing insulin. His vet is at a loss to explain why. It seems he has progressively had a day or so longer of not needing insulin, during these periods.
He has not had any insulin since Dec. 31st!! His bg's have ranged from a few low 150's, down to 87. The majority are in the range of high 100 teens. These are NOT fasting bg's, as my cats free feed dry food. Ten Ten will be 13 in May & is acting like he's a youngster. He has just recently started being able to jump onto my bed again. I have had to help him for the past few years.
I test him at least twice a day & sometimes more often. Any ideas? Has anyone ever heard of this happening before? He feels great, he looks great & he has more energy. The vet feels no masses & can find nothing on physical examination. I opt not to have ultrasounds, xrays, etc. at this time, due to his general health & finances. I just wondered if any of you have heard of this or had the experience yourselves. Any responses appreciated. I hope all of your fur babies are doing well!