Howdy! I'm new.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie Graham

Member Since 2020
Hello all.
I'm new. My 7 yr old cat Pippin was officially diagnosed with diabetes today. Over the weekend we noticed he seemed lethargic and was drinking and peeing a lot. Appetite good. Got him in to vet and as I suspected, he has diabetes. We have Glargine pen and syringes on order at pharmacy. Also got syringes, sharps container and alcohol wipes, and ordered an AlphaTrak 2 glucometer which will arrive tomorrow. I was in 4-H vet science as a teen and worked at a vet a while back then (not a licensed vet tech or expert, but am comfortable giving injections answer doing pad or ear sticks to monitor). My mom was diabetic so am a bit familiar with the disease. Been reading all kinds of papers and recommendations and such. Don't have doses yet. We go in later this afternoon to give him his first shot. One of the world's easiest cats. Easy going and born here so will tolerate lots.
 

Attachments

  • F69E3AC9-AAED-4C4B-97AD-0A940F420375.jpeg
    F69E3AC9-AAED-4C4B-97AD-0A940F420375.jpeg
    55 KB · Views: 121
WECLOME Katie and SUPER sweet Pippin TO FDMB! We are so glad you found us! Congrats for already getting that signature up! Will look forward to you adding, Pippins age and type, Insulin prescribed, the meter used, and all those little particulars that help us help you faster! Your spreadsheet set up, is in the same section as the signature. Look forward to seeing that also.

BTW Pippin is adorable in his Supercat costume!

We are a dedicated group of kitty cat lovers that share a common goal. We strive to help every kitty cat and their caregiver that find this board. After your Vet visit come back here and let us know how it goes ok? If you have questions your vet didnt cover or you forgot to ask we can most likely have them answered here.

Again WELCOME to the best site on this planet to help you help adorable Pippin!
jeanne
 
Welcome Katie and Pippin , oh my God that pic of him is adorable
You definitely have come to the best place you could ever find.
So many experienced members here
Please let us know how you make out at the vets today
When you have time you may add to you signature what food Pippin is eating and how many units he will be starting with, and where you live or your time zone

We use a spreadsheet here where we enter ours cats BG
AMPS would be the first time you would test him in the morning
PMPS would be his test 12 hours later from giving the morning dose
We do check our Kittie several tines during each 12 hour cycle to see how the insulin is working and how low and when his BG drops

If you want you can look at my spreadsheet or anyone else's just to get an idea of how it works
There are cells that will say +2 that's 2 hours after you would shoot the insulin
So if you tested him 2 hours after his BG number would go in that cell
Example if his BG was 110 you would put it in that cell
Same thing with +3.+4. +5. +6. etc
Then when you test him at night (12 hours later from the morning test) you would put that BG in that cell and continue to test him a couple of tines during that cycle

You would scatter the tests for example you might test @+3 then @+5 then @+7
Night time maybe @+2 then @+4 then @+6
It all depends on how the insulin is working whether or not his BG is really low you might have to test more
Then there is a cell to out how many units you are giving and a remarks section for any notes you want to add.
You will do fine since you have some experience working at a vets.
Here is a link for the spreadsheet when you are ready to start entering his numbers
This is so if you might need any help with dosing the members here can take a look at it.
 
Don't have doses yet. We go in later this afternoon to give him his first shot. One of the world's easiest cats.

A lot of vets start at too high a dose....Most cats should be started somewhere around .5 to 1 unit twice a day

If they shoot (with insulin) this afternoon, that's going to mean shooting again in 12 hours....is that a time you want to be shooting? Like if they give him Glargine at 3pm, his next shot will be due at 3am!

Maybe he'll let you learn how to shoot using saline solution so you can give him his actual first shot at a time that's more convenient to you.
 
Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Thank you. I gave him his first shot at vets. Lantus pen. 1.0 unit BID (twice daily). Got him some Fancy Feast Classic cans from the board list. He is currently scarfing it. And some carb free treats from Petsmart for his tricks (dehydrated chicken and some beef thing). We may switch to the recommended DM canned food but right now are going with the fancy feast.

The AlphaTrak 2 glucometer kit comes tomorrow and I also got some refill strips and some extra lancets from Amazon. And alcohol pads and a sharps container at Walgreens. They said to wait 10-14 days then do the glucose testing cycle readings so he can get acclimated to the insulin. . In the meantime once glucometer arrives I will practice by doing one at am feeding, one half way through day and one just before pm feeding. So I can do a general check and get him used to the concept.

He did not mind either the practice sterile shot they did for demo or the insulin. As easy going as I expected. So far so good. He obviously feels better now.
Hurray!

His glucose was 400 when they did their labs yesterday. Woof. Other than that he has no health issues.
So far., so good.
I will figure out spreadsheet later tonight. It has been a day.

Thanks again. Hopefully he will have many more good years. He just turned 7 on 7/5.

Welcome Katie and Pippin , oh my God that pic of him is adorable
You definitely have come to the best place you could ever find.
So many experienced members here
Please let us know how you make out at the vets today
When you have time you may add to you signature what food Pippin is eating and how many units he will be starting with, and where you live or your time zone

We use a spreadsheet here where we enter ours cats BG
AMPS would be the first time you would test him in the morning
PMPS would be his test 12 hours later from giving the morning dose
We do check our Kittie several tines during each 12 hour cycle to see how the insulin is working and how low and when his BG drops

If you want you can look at my spreadsheet or anyone else's just to get an idea of how it works
There are cells that will say +2 that's 2 hours after you would shoot the insulin
So if you tested him 2 hours after his BG number would go in that cell
Example if his BG was 110 you would put it in that cell
Same thing with +3.+4. +5. +6. etc
Then when you test him at night (12 hours later from the morning test) you would put that BG in that cell and continue to test him a couple of tines during that cycle

You would scatter the tests for example you might test @+3 then @+5 then @+7
Night time maybe @+2 then @+4 then @+6
It all depends on how the insulin is working whether or not his BG is really low you might have to test more
Then there is a cell to out how many units you are giving and a remarks section for any notes you want to add.
You will do fine since you have some experience working at a vets.
Here is a link for the spreadsheet when you are ready to start entering his numbers
This is so if you might need any help with dosing the members here can take a look at it.

Welcome Katie and Pippin , oh my God that pic of him is adorable
You definitely have come to the best place you could ever find.
So many experienced members here
Please let us know how you make out at the vets today
When you have time you may add to you signature what food Pippin is eating and how many units he will be starting with, and where you live or your time zone

We use a spreadsheet here where we enter ours cats BG
AMPS would be the first time you would test him in the morning
PMPS would be his test 12 hours later from giving the morning dose
We do check our Kittie several tines during each 12 hour cycle to see how the insulin is working and how low and when his BG drops

If you want you can look at my spreadsheet or anyone else's just to get an idea of how it works
There are cells that will say +2 that's 2 hours after you would shoot the insulin
So if you tested him 2 hours after his BG number would go in that cell
Example if his BG was 110 you would put it in that cell
Same thing with +3.+4. +5. +6. etc
Then when you test him at night (12 hours later from the morning test) you would put that BG in that cell and continue to test him a couple of tines during that cycle

You would scatter the tests for example you might test @+3 then @+5 then @+7
Night time maybe @+2 then @+4 then @+6
It all depends on how the insulin is working whether or not his BG is really low you might have to test more
Then there is a cell to out how many units you are giving and a remarks section for any notes you want to add.
You will do fine since you have some experience working at a vets.
Here is a link for the spreadsheet when you are ready to start entering his numbers
This is so if you might need any help with dosing the members here can take a look at it.
 
Thank you. I have to learn all the acronyms then will update footer. We are in Austin, TX. CDT.

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Uhhh waiting to test? smh My hubby is diabetic and would never shoot insulin without testing first. Sorry your vets concept escapes me.
(unless I read that wrong my apologies if thats the case)
 
He is a large cat though he doesn't look that way in that pic. His normal weight (lean, not fat) is about 12-13 lbs. Plain old American Shorthair aka Ordinary Cat.

So I think the one unit twice a day may be correct. 6 am/pm is fine. The others usually yowl about then anyways. I am working from home due to the pandemic so we are both around to monitor.

Husband will likely give the am shot once he feels confident, I'll do the evening and the testing pricks. He already knows how to sit stay on command to get a treat and that should simplify it. (He will also jump up where I point to, sit up like a squirrel, come and sit in front of me and jump through a hoop. And he likes his harness and leash and enjoys a brief walk to eat crabgrass or a car ride if he can look out the window. ). Quite the cat. We took in his young, skinny and very pregnant stray mom 2 days before he was born so he has been messed with by me his whole life and come to enjoy it.

Once I figure out the spreadsheet and abbreviations and the AlphaTrak I will start filling it out.

Here is to learning curves.


A lot of vets start at too high a dose....Most cats should be started somewhere around .5 to 1 unit twice a day

If they shoot (with insulin) this afternoon, that's going to mean shooting again in 12 hours....is that a time you want to be shooting? Like if they give him Glargine at 3pm, his next shot will be due at 3am!

Maybe he'll let you learn how to shoot using saline solution so you can give him his actual first shot at a time that's more convenient to you.
 
Uhhh waiting to test? smh My hubby is diabetic and would never shoot insulin without testing first. Sorry your vets concept escapes me.
(unless I read that wrong my apologies if thats the case)
No they did the labs on first visit and then got the results to ensure no other health issues, and before doing the insulin. My personal test stuff arrives tomorrow. Due to the pandemic they take the cats in and you wait in car. They did let us come inside to do the shot demo. Same vet clinic his whole life. They have been very good on a number of cats and two dogs.
 
Glad everything turned out ok at the vets. He sure does seem like quite the cat.
Very mellow and easy going .There is nothing special about the DM food.
Nothing wrong with Fancy Feast Classics.
In case you ever need to bring his/BG up if he drops to low

Here is the chart :http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Just in case you ever need higher carbs to bring his BG up

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

If the strips for the Alpha Trak become too expensive for you, most of us use human meters, At Walmart you can get the Relion Prime for 9 bucks and 100 test strips for 17.88
Or the Relion Premier meter

You don't realize how fast you will go through test strips and I used to use the Aloha Trak but the strips got way too expensive
Plus you will hve to wait for them to ship

Did you buy any cotton rounds to use after you test him , just press gently on his ears to stop the bleeding
After awhile more capillaries will grow and he will bleed better for you
You can start with 26 or 28 gauge lancets in the beginning
I use the 28 gauge all the time

If you ever need to put something on his ears if they get too red from testing you can use Neosporin Ointment with Pain Relief, NOT the cream

Well you are off to a good start, if you need help setting up your spreadsheet just ask for help, we have a wonderful member here you will do it for you.
Good luck :cat:
 
Glad everything turned out ok at the vets. He sure does seem like quite the cat.
Very mellow and easy going .There is nothing special about the DM food.
Nothing wrong with Fancy Feast Classics.
In case you ever need to bring his/BG up if he drops to low

Here is the chart :http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Just in case you ever need higher carbs to bring his BG up

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

If the strips for the Alpha Trak become too expensive for you, most of us use human meters, At Walmart you can get the Relion Prime for 9 bucks and 100 test strips for 17.88
Or the Relion Premier meter

You don't realize how fast you will go through test strips and I used to use the Aloha Trak but the strips got way too expensive
Plus you will hve to wait for them to ship

Did you buy any cotton rounds to use after you test him , just press gently on his ears to stop the bleeding
After awhile more capillaries will grow and he will bleed better for you
You can start with 26 or 28 gauge lancets in the beginning
I use the 28 gauge all the time

If you ever need to put something on his ears if they get too red from testing you can use Neosporin Ointment with Pain Relief, NOT the cream

Well you are off to a good start, if you need help setting up your spreadsheet just ask for help, we have a wonderful member here you will do it for you.
Good luck :cat:
Yeah. I got the 28 gauge lancets. I figured out a way to check if he is too hypoglycemic before my test kit arrives tomorrow. Have him sit up on his haunches with front paws in the air (the command is Squirrel!). I figure if he can do that, his brain and coordination still work. So far he seems fine, 4 hrs in. Will stay up and keep an eye on him.
 
Yeah. I got the 28 gauge lancets. I figured out a way to check if he is too hypoglycemic before my test kit arrives tomorrow. Have him sit up on his haunches with front paws in the air (the command is Squirrel!). I figure if he can do that, his brain and coordination still work. So far he seems fine, 4 hrs in. Will stay up and keep an eye on him.
Unbelievable he is such a smart kitty. sit on command, the command for Squirrel, jump through a hoop, I really am impressed. What a smart boy. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top