Hi Tiffany and Pepper and welcome to the forum.
Well done setting up your spreadsheet and signature and also to start hometesting. What a lucky kitty Pepper is to have you.
It is always more stressful and overwhelming in the beginning but you have come a long, long way since diagnosis. Look at home much you have achieved.
I will get to hometesting in a minute but I just wanted to mention a couple of things…
The proplan dry DM is 18% carbs which is high carb and not suitable for diabetic cats. You will see it is labelled diatetic, not diabetic as they are not allowed to call it diabetic now. Will Pepper eat canned food? You can get a lot of low carb canned foods which are suitable for diabetic cats. If she will only eat dry, there are a few low carb options which I will give you later.
I can see you have chosen SLGS…have you read through the information on it on the Lantus page?
I know you are only very new to testing. To keep Pepper safe, always test before every dose to make sure the BG is high enough to shoot. And then try and get a test in each cycle around the middle of the cycle to see how low the dose is taking him.
Any time the BG drops under 90, you need to reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. Looking at her SS now, there is not a lot of data yet, but seeing a yellow BG and later black BGs, that makes me thing she could be dropping low during the cycle and then bouncing up higher, which is very normal in newly diagnosed cats, but we need to check that the low BG are not below 90. That is why we like to see those midcycle tests

Here is an explanation on bouncing
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
With hometesting it will take a week or two for you and Pepper to get used to it all. Perfectly normal to be stressed and wonder if you will succeed. Expect to fail a few times…we all did! I will give you a link on hints below. We recommend you choose a spot to test and always go there. Always give a treat even if you fail, Pepper doesn’t know if you have got a result or not but she will look forward to a treat. My Sheba would race from wherever she was in the house when she heard I was at the testing strips.
Try not to restrain her too hard if you can. I always gave a small low carb treat
as I was testing so Sheba had her head in the bowl as I tested. She rarely noticed I was doing it. Make sure the ears are warm first….you can use a sock with rice in it warmed in the microwave, but make sure it isn’t too hot. You can milk the ears up towards the tip. Get her used to having her ears touched.
With actual testing, I used to get everything ready, then kneel down in her spot and sit on my heels. I would put Sheba inbetween my knees facing the same way I was, so if she tried to back away, she backed into me. I just had one hand gently on her chest, under her chin to stop her moving forward and had the other hand to do things. When I was ready I put the bowl with the small amount of low carb food in front of her and while she had her head in the bowl I tested her. You could try this multiple times during the day, with just touching her ears and getting her used to the procedure without actually testing.
Here is a link to
HOMETESTING. HINTS AND LINKS
A link to
THE BASICS, GETTING STARTED
Keep asking questions as we are very happy to help you.
Bron