how to read curves

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Okay, somewhat semi-consistent over the weekend and home for the rest of the day.
I don't really know how to read the chart or to figure out the curves- a little help please?

Sneakers is NOT happy with me this weekend :-x . I have given her so many ear pokes she took to hiding last night when the timer went off (I set it for 1 hr intervals).

Thanks!
 
Those are pretty ugly numbers. Did you start at 3 units? Normally I would wonder about rebound but you did get some blue numbers early on. No treats or people food? No other health issues? I think you are feeding raw, right?

Wish I had the perfect answer. Two choices - up or down. You could go back to one unit (the suggested starting dose) for a few cycles to see if the numbers go down. The nice thing about PZI is that if it isn't working, you can go back up with the dose. If you do this, you'll want to do some monitoring and test for ketones daily.

If you go up, we will either continue to see the high numbers (an indication less is needed) or we will finally see some good numbers but with the possibility of a very low number surprise. So it requires monitoring also.

If I am remembering right, the testing is hard for you during the week?

I'll see if Carl will drop by with his ideas. Maybe he will see something I'm not.
 
Yes, started at three and her numbers were initially low so I dropped it. Wanted to keep it at two but her numbers went back up.

Yesterday she did get a small portion of my turkey from McAllisters Deli- maybe 1/2 teaspoon when I got home at 330- this was after her 3:30 testing (and after finding half a mouse next to the fridge door- back half) so I wasn't surprised at the black. But she didn't eat much of anything later- I have to wet her food down so it is like gravy. At 3+ her numbers looked better.

But this morning the high #- all the meter said was hi, nothing else. Sneakers didn't eat what was left last night and didn't wake me up to feed her early, either. She ate less than an ounce this morning- I think she has associated me feeding her with me poking her- growled at the last two shots and doesn't like the ear stabs. Came home between service and got a +3 time and +5 time- refused to sit for the +7 one. I was out and came back- still not much food eaten- maybe another ounce. But she ate once ounce at +11 just before I tested and it is nearly time for her shot so I will test again but she has finished on more ounce.

This is a cat who likes her full 8 ounces to start at 4am and she hasn't had but maybe 6 in the last two days.

Treat for pokes is shredded cheese- a loose pinch- teaspoon, a little over.
Oh- she does get a dollop of milk. My parents were British Colonialists so I grew up on tea. A dollop is maybe a teaspoon.

Testing during the week- yes, very hard. I leave at 7 and get back at 4:30. Tuesdays I have the option to give her the shot at 5 before i go out or at 9 when I get home. Thursday it is 8:30 by the time I get home and 9 by the time she eats and gets her shot unless class lets out early.

Thanks for looking.
 
The first thing that jumps out at me, is the 150 point decrease in your +11 and your pmps tonight. It also appears, that you had the same situation last night--just not as much difference, but still a substantial downward movement. I have always understood the higher +10 range number vs. the lower +12/preshot reading to be an indicator of rebound.

Todays you had a Hi amps reading (over 600) and then a +5 of 236--- that is a 370 point drop in 5 hours. That is a 60 percent drop, not bad by PZI terms--but, possibly enough to be creating rebound.

What do you think Sue? The end of the cycles look "weird" to me.
 
I would like to add one more comment.....Are you checking for ketones? With the high BGs you are seeing and with a cat that is not eating well--- It is advisable to keep a close check on ketones.
 
I haven't been and don't even have the equipment to do so.

I will buy the testing strips for them tomorrow after work as well as a Relion. The only chance I might catch her for ketones is at night. That is the only time she goes that I know I can get her. And she is eating better now- 3 ounces since 4:30. I will see how she does tonight. She just loves the gravy part of it.

A friend gave me his old meter and 15 boxes of strips (VA sent him new ones) but they expired in 11 (and 10 and 09) and I have tested them the last three times along with my TrueRead and they are off. The first one (given at 0 hr) was close (17 lower) but this last one was 130 pt lower- 293 instead of 360. I went with the 360 as it was on the original and I didn't think there would be that much of a drop from the previous number in one hour. The one before that said HI while mine said 510!

On the plus side I now have 700 lancets in my arsenal! I don't need 700 lancets so will be looking to give some away.
 
Hi Heather,
Sue asked me to drop in and take a look..... Spreadsheet is very interesting...
OK, I think, unfortunately, that your vet started you and Sneakers off on the wrong foot, and it's been getting worse ever since. The first problem (which you have corrected) was starting with Humulin. What worries me after that is the vet raised the dose to quickly, and too often, and using increments that were too large. 4 units of Humulin is a pretty large dose for a cat, no matter what sort of numbers the vet was seeing.

It is great that you switched to PZI, which is an insulin made specifically for cats. What I think the vet should have had you do when you switched was start over at 1 unit twice a day. My guess is that somewhere in between the day Sneakers first got insulin of any type, and that increase to 4 units, the vet missed the "right dose". One that would help your kitty, and keep him safe at the same time.

What worries me the most is what you say about Sneakers not wanting to eat much. I think that is due mainly to the fact that he feels like crap, and the reason he feels that way is because he goes from really high numbers to numbers that are too low for his body to deal with properly, then he shoots right back up to those really high numbers. It has to be confusing the heck out of his system. Today for instance, in six hours he dropped maybe 400 points, and then shot right back up. I think the dose is far too high.

Bright side - you are feeding him a good diet using Dr. Lisa's recipe. I'm a little bit confused about his feeding schedule. From reading your first post on the board, it sounds like he eats a couple hours prior to the AM shot ,and then you feed him again when you give him his insulin? If that is still the way you are doing it, it could be that the morning reading is "boosted" by that food he's eating in the two hour period before the AMPS test and shot.
Can you lay out his feeding schedule in this thread so we have a better understanding of it?

This is just my opinion, and hopefully others will chime in, but I think you should cut the dose back to 1u, twice a day. More or less "start over". I feel that at even the 3u dose, his numbers are dropping too far too fast, and it is causing his liver to "panic", which causes it to release glucogon (sugar) into the bloodstream as a self-preservation mechanism, and then causes the high numbers at the next test.
If you cut back to 1 unit, and try that for three days or so, it might help that to stop happening, and you'll know what 1u will do for Sneakers. After that, we can help you evaluate the data you get, and see about increasing the dose if needed. When you increase an insulin dose, you should never bump it up by more than .5u at a time. Some people increase by .25, some even less than that. It could very well be that Sneakers ends up at 2u or higher until he starts to improve, but if you don't go slow on the increases, you can miss the "right dose", which is what I think happened with the adjustments your vet suggested.

The other very disturbing thing in your other thread was the vet saying "don't shoot under 75", which actually is extremely good advice. Most new members here are encouraged to not shoot anything under 200. With PZI, there's no need to shoot insulin into a number that falls within the "normal" range (50-120), and even if you were to do that, you would shoot really tiny doses, like .25u or less, and only into numbers at the top end of that range. What is scary is that he didn't suggest what you should do on a number over 75 (like 100, for instance). He didn't caution you that 2, 3 or 4 units into a fairly low number could be deadly, literally. I'm glad that you haven't had any really low preshot numbers so far, because you may have unknowingly given a dose to Sneakers that could have caused some serious hypoglycemia. It just sounds to me like your vet is not "current" on feline diabetes treatments or protocols. Do you have any idea how often he sees a diabetic cat, or how often those cats end up getting better or going into remission?

Yesterday she did get a small portion of my turkey from McAllisters Deli- maybe 1/2 teaspoon when I got home at 330- this was after her 3:30 testing (and after finding half a mouse next to the fridge door- back half) so I wasn't surprised at the black. But she didn't eat much of anything later- I have to wet her food down so it is like gravy. At 3+ her numbers looked better.
That small amount of turkey, unless it had some weird additives to "sweeten it" should not have been a problem. Turkey is very low in carbs. And the mouse? I don't think that would cause a problem. If I've read correctly here, "mouse" is the best food for a cat, a great nutritionally balanced food for them.

Last thing - Kim asked if you were checking for ketones in Sneakers' urine.... have you done that yet? With really high BG numbers, ketones are a definite concern. If they appear, then can go out of control fairly quickly, so it is something you should really try to keep an eye out for. Her kitty, and mine, and too many others around here, have experienced "DKA", which can be life threatening and requires emergency care. My cat, Bob, nearly died when he was DKA. He make it after spending 3 nights in the ER. He was diagnosed in May, used the same insulin you are using on Sneakers, and went into remission in July. Today he is fat (but not as fat as he used to be!), happy, and purring in my lap as I type this. Not every cat does that well, especially that quickly. But it does happen.

I hope all of that makes sense and is helpful,
Carl
 
How would you feel about reducing the dose back to one unit as a trial?

Re ketones. You can buy ketone strips at the pharmacy. They are just like what human diabetics use. Some people are able to catch their kittens midstream using a ladle. You can also scoop out a spot in the litter and replace it with Saran wrap. Our Oliver would not cooperate so we filled a clean box with aquarium gravel. A ketone test daily will keep him safe.
 
I know what we are suggesting seems radical and away from your vet's advice. It might help to look at Sev's spreadsheet. Sev liked to test so it does show a complete picture of what happened. (we are not suggesting you need to test that much at all.). They started at one unit and increased. The numbers continued to be very high. Once he lowered the dose, things improved rapidly until he was mini dosing and then OTJ.
 
Carl

It made lots of sense. I will go in order of your paragraphs-

No, my vet does not see a lot of diabetic cats and the first thing he gave me was Humulin after he did "research" (I think he just asked another vet). After getting that I took him my research on PZI to him- in paper form and on a zip drive file so he could pull up the document and follow the hyperlinks and insisted that the next bottle be PZI. That is before I found the FDBM- even though I gave him information from the site I didn't know about the group at that time. He was feeding Sneakers dry cat food the 3 days she was there getting tested- and from my itemized bill she was only tested at feeding time- just like another cat I read about yesterday. She went from 1 u to 4 u in 3 days (because I called each day to find out and that is the units she started with.) She had already been eating canned food for almost a week at that time- which I believe caused the lower number to start with. No, I was not home testing- found that was possible later. I sent cans but they apparently were not enough and they started with the dry. I don't think that they have had any cat go into remission.

She is starting to eat more- yesterday evening at almost 3 ounces after her 6:30 shot and two ounces this morning. I changed her food from the ice cube (2nd batch of Dr. Lisa) to the tub (1st batch) that i am trying to finish and I don't think she liked it that much.

feeding Schedule-
she wakes me at 4am, usually, and i give her an ounce
at 6am, when i have brain function I give her 2 more ounces and test her before the shot
at 7am I thaw out one more ounce for her to snack on when she gets hungry and leave for work and can test her then- I did today.
at 4:30 to 5pm I come home and test her levels and then give her one ounce
at 6pm I give her two ounces and insulin at 6:30
around 8:30 or 9pm she gets one more ounce

I would be happy to cut back the doses. I tried that and was getting high numbers so I increased. I can give a dose of one this week and do the curves again on the weekend at the one dose and see how those numbers turn out. And I did read on here about not shooting below 200- so I have that firmly in my mind- if I had known that earlier I would have not given her 3u on the 18th or 21st. I have done a lot more reading this last week on it and looked at some charts.

Getting the ketone supplies today after work.

Sneakers was 10 lbs last spring, over the summer dropped weight- but she always did in summer, and at Thanskgiving she was 6 lbs and diagnosed with diabetes. She has gained it all back and I don't want her to get obese. Found her outside yesterday after church chasing the birds and squirrels. She hasn't wanted to go outside for a while now- not since I put in the litter box to keep check on her bathroom habits- decreased a BUNCH since diagnosed. And I want her to be treated by food rather than by insulin.

Give me pointers- I can throw her out of my room and shut the door if you think I should wait to feed her in the morning to get a true fasting rate. Won't stop the yowls but will stop the claws.
 
Sue-
Thanks for getting Carl over here to read my post.

I don't think my vet knows much about diabetes and treatment. I think I've looked at Sev's chart but didn't have it saved like I have Kitty's saved in my Google docs but that one is a kalidascope! I am hoping to get Sneakers regulated- because she isn't! and set to get better.

Poor thing didn't like me all weekend. By Sunday night she was hiding from me when the timer beeped. I clean the litter box every night and she usually goes in after that. Right now I am using clay-based but read on here about a corn based so I might switch to that as well. I don't know how long it lasts with a diabetic cat but I am getting tired of litter being tracked all over the house. It is either that or one that lets the urine go into the bottom and we dump it.

I will reduce the units to one and keep them there for a week and then do as much as I can on the weekend to track curves again and see where it goes from there.

Thanks Sue!
 
Yes, Carl is great at explaining things. :-D

The one part I see about the food that could be throwing off your readings: If you feed her at 6 am, and don't test within 15 minutes or so, that can raise your number.(it varies with the cat. We usually try not to feed more than 2 hours before testing. I don't know how fast it would enter her system.). If you figure a way even to give her a tiny low carb snack while testing and not a meal, that should be an accurate number.

If you decide to try the one unit this week, besides the am and pm tests, try to get those in/out the door tests and hopefully a couple night time nadir tests so you can see how it is working. If she is high, we wouldn't want to leave her there a week but start slowly increasing by .5 or so, after a few cycles. The ketone tests will keep her safe also.
 
what I will do is reset the alarm and get up early enough to get an AM fasting- not leave anything out at all- and check her- even if it is 4am (hoping for 5:30)! Once fed I can check again at 6 and give her insulin then. The only night she would be late would be Thursday and i can delay the shot until 7am when I leave so her 14 hrs would be 9pm.

She didn't eat during the day- found throw-up on the floor but it was recent. had to run to W-M after work so test was at 5:10 at it was 343- a lot better than her 500+ ones the last few days. Will test again before shot- 1u at 7:05 as I am out until 7. Then I will test every hour in the evening until bedtime- and will do the same on Wednesday and Friday evenings too.

Got FF and some treats that have no grains in the dog section- and she gobbled it down after her ear poke like there was no tomorrow and then ate another 1.5 ounce of her food once I wetted it. She likes it soupy I guess. will try the FF tomorrow.
 
Heather,
I've never used the sticks....I used a meter to check Bob's ketones in his blood. If it is any color, then that means that some ketones are present. Just not sure what the scale is. I'll try to catch someone who knows...

Carl
 
Thanks for all the help! I posted another thread and have gotten some answers on the ketone strips.

And Sneakers bg was 305 fasting this morning instead of up over 600's- which I consider a good thing! Another poke 20 minute later was 320 followed by her 1u. Will test in a few minutes before I head out. I'll do another curve this weekend- poor kitty.

This has been a great help!
 
Yes, I like these numbers much better than those ugly blacks.

I buy Prime Time Treats for dogs at PetSmart. They are just dried meat and a little crunchy, which is nice. (bigger bag, cheaper price in the dog aisle)

Keep trying for the ketone test when you can. Saran wrap in some areas of the litter can work.. Aquarium gravel if desperate.
 
question about spreadsheets:

how do you make the plus sign +
without it being treated as a formula?
 
laurabe said:
question about spreadsheets:

how do you make the plus sign +
without it being treated as a formula?

Put an apostrophe in front of it.

To reduce the annoyance of testing for your kitty, get some Neosporin ointment (not cream) plus pain relief. Put a dab on a few minutes before testing. Wipe off when ready to test. Helps numb the ear a bit and the ointment helps the blood bead up. Plus, it helps it heal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top