PurrKat
Member Since 2017
I missed my cat insulin this am feeding. (FYI in HST or it is approx. 10am here as I write this) I’m going thru the worry wart process of – if he needs insulin, I should give him some, on one hand and let it go on the other or high BG better than low.
My question is what to do if missed an Insulin dose by mistake. Seemed a rather simple question with general guidelines to follow answer.
But then the more I think about it…responses could be very dependent on the program, individual cat, perhaps type of insulin, feeding schedule, on and on…and then I run into that I tend to overthink things and am back where I started.
I’ve done some Searches and not finding discussions about unintentional skipping an insulin dose. I’m not happy having to admit I’ve ‘forgot’. But since I have, today, I’d like to have a better idea of how to handle the situation.
At the moment I’m running with what I call the ‘high BG better than low’ plan. Tested at feed +4hrs w/BG 401.
Any thoughts, suggestions?
My question is what to do if missed an Insulin dose by mistake. Seemed a rather simple question with general guidelines to follow answer.
But then the more I think about it…responses could be very dependent on the program, individual cat, perhaps type of insulin, feeding schedule, on and on…and then I run into that I tend to overthink things and am back where I started.
I’ve done some Searches and not finding discussions about unintentional skipping an insulin dose. I’m not happy having to admit I’ve ‘forgot’. But since I have, today, I’d like to have a better idea of how to handle the situation.
At the moment I’m running with what I call the ‘high BG better than low’ plan. Tested at feed +4hrs w/BG 401.
Any thoughts, suggestions?
