How to Handle - Merlin AMPS 115 AlphaTrack / 97 Reli On

Good morning,

This is my first time posting on this board (I've been on the welcome board since Thanksgiving). Last night, we had an emergency with our dog. I had to take him to the ER right before it was time for Merlin's BG test and insulin. I drew up a syringe with the 2.25 units, told my son to feed him and make sure he ate well and to then give him the shot. He got his PM dose at 9:15pm CT last night. When I got home at 1:15am, I tested him and his numbers were 161 AT, 122 RO. He's been a big bouncer since his relapse around Thanksgiving. Now his numbers are starting to get lower.

This morning I had to go to the ER to pick up the dog. So, I'm about an hour past the time to test Merlin and let him eat and give his insulin. I just tested him and his numbers are 115 AT, 97 RO. I've never shot with numbers this low. I don't know how to handle this. We have a follow-up vet visit this Friday. I few days ago, he got down to 70 AT, 62 RO at +6 after his AM shot, and that was with a much higher AMPS in the low 200s.

Please let me know how I should dose this morning's numbers. I'm so scared to take him too low. I also literally CANNOT afford another ER visit.
 
Hi Kelley! Sorry to hear about your dog, hope everything is ok. With recent ketones I would think you’d want to give something, but let’s see what folks say. Maybe test again in 30 mins? Welcome to the Lantus board!
 
Thank you! Should I feed, that will raise BG (he took a few nibbles while I was taking his BG test, that's the only way I can get blood from him). Or should I wait on the food to see what the BG level does on its own?
 
Thank you! Should I feed, that will raise BG (he took a few nibbles while I was taking his BG test, that's the only way I can get blood from him). Or should I wait on the food to see what the BG level does on its own?
You’re probably close to 30 minutes from the last test, right? I’d wait on the food for now.
 
He's now at 188 AT and 170 RO. Not sure how much he would have gone up on his own, and how much was from the nibbles he took during the first BG test. I didn't let him eat during this test.
 
Can you monitor if you give insulin? With a history of DKA you do not want to skip insulin. He's gotten a nice bump - probably due to food.

ETA: I think it's another 20-25 mins since the last test. Can you get another one now?
 
We usually give it at 8:30 and it is now 11:30. We were off schedule due to heading to the ER last night. His blood ketones were at 0.3 on the last vet trip. I hate to get too far off schedule. Don't know what would happen if I hold and give at the usual time tonight.
 
We usually give it at 8:30 and it is now 11:30. We were off schedule due to heading to the ER last night. His blood ketones were at 0.3 on the last vet trip. I hate to get too far off schedule. Don't know what would happen if I hold and give at the usual time tonight.
Because of the DKA, we typically don't suggest skipping doses. Can you monitor ketones at home by testing his urine with Ketostix?
If you shoot now, you can shoot a 11.5 hours from giving the shot today and a half hour early once a day until you get back on schedule. More here.
If you do decide to skip, you can shoot anytime as long as the following shot is 12 hours later.
 
Back
Top