How to handle food distribution

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Good Afternoon Everyone! My name is Cindy & my cat is Sabrina Dx 9/20/12, Started Lantus 1/15/13, 1 unit BID. Was on insulin for 5 days & then bottle fell & broke :sad: She ended up not having shots for 36 hrs & I got her back on schedule yesterday PM. Question for everyone, today +0 361, +6 179, +10 200.....she ate ff classic turkey, 3 oz in the am & was chasing me down @ +10 for more food. I gave her 1-1/2oz of ff classic chicken, should I have waited til closer to PMPS to give her food or will this not matter? I do understand her BG will probably have a food spike but I felt soooooooo....bad she was begging :YMSIGH: History, before Dx she was approx 14 lbs & is now down to about 8 1/2 lbs......How many ounces should she be getting per day & what's the best protocol to follow as far as schedules? I switched her from dry kibble as soon as she was diagnosed & have kept her on Fancy Feast Classics, allowing 1-2 servings of classic fish per week. Also some suggestions for low carb treats?, right now for rewards she gets 1 pc of Goodlife Recipe Catnip Delights, is this an okay product? Thank You everyone for your input, I hope to get Sabrina on the right track shortly, hopefully announcing she's OTJ in the very near future!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon Ps....,.is the Lantus forum where my condo(?)post goes....still confused on that
 
(?) ambs 361 +6 179 +10 200

hello everyone, just revised my sbject for above post.....please reply Thanks, Cindy & Sabrina :roll:
 
Well there are two Lantus forums....this one and the Tight Regulation one...It is fairly low traffic here although I do try to check in several times a day. Either forum is fine to post in, this one is well a little more "relaxed" than the TR one in that we don't have a set way of posting nor do you need to open a new thread daily.

As far as feeding goes...I have 14 cats 2 are diabetic and everyone here eats what and when my diabetics do...now with 14 Fancy Feast and its little bitty 3oz cans are right out.. :lol: So here everyone eats Friskies Pate but they eat 4 times a day...Autumn's shots are at 7am/7pm so I feed at 7am, 1pm, 7pm and then the last meal is right before I go to bed at 10pm and it is put down frozen so they can nibble on it as it thaws. Just like with human diabetics small frequent meals are better than a couple of big meals to help keep the bloodsugar levels more even.

My furkids eat about 1 (5.5oz) can of friskies a day except for my big guy Maxwell he eats about a can and a half but he is a lean 17lbs...on average a 10-14lb cat needs about 6 to 10oz a day.

Right now while Sabrina is unregulated she will be starving literally so let her eat as much as she wants, once her numbers come down into the more normal range she will naturally go back to eating less. A couple of tricks is to add water to her canned food so you make sure she gets plenty of water as well as to help her feel more full. You can allow her to free feed on canned food as well by just adding water to keep it fresh longer or freeze it and allow her to nibble on it as it thaws. Others use timed feeders. Regardless of how you feed you will want to pick up her food about 2 hours before her shot times so that you get a 'clean' preshot test (non food influenced).

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thank you

Well.....needless to say the best plans sometimes get messed up. Sabrina's PMBS was 409, but my fault because I was late giving dose(45 minutes :sad: ) I will free feed as you suggested & see if things calm down....This past week has been tough tryingto set up a schedule, broke a bottle of Lantus, trying to get Sabrina more cooperative & Walmart selling me wrong syringes......Thank you & I'll keep everyone updated! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Life happens

I so know that one...not only are there 14 cats here plus a 97lb drooler that thinks he is a cat there is also a 21 year old step-daughter that seems to have decided to try for a record on how much of her life she can possibly screw up. :roll:

Some days I would really like to find boring...lol

Baby steps for now, you and Sabrina will find your groove.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
milfordcollector said:
Good Afternoon Everyone! My name is Cindy & my cat is Sabrina Dx 9/20/12, Started Lantus 1/15/13, 1 unit BID. Was on insulin for 5 days & then bottle fell & broke :sad: She ended up not having shots for 36 hrs & I got her back on schedule yesterday PM. Question for everyone, today +0 361, +6 179, +10 200.....she ate ff classic turkey, 3 oz in the am & was chasing me down @ +10 for more food. I gave her 1-1/2oz of ff classic chicken, should I have waited til closer to PMPS to give her food or will this not matter? I do understand her BG will probably have a food spike but I felt soooooooo....bad she was begging :YMSIGH: History, before Dx she was approx 14 lbs & is now down to about 8 1/2 lbs......How many ounces should she be getting per day & what's the best protocol to follow as far as schedules? I switched her from dry kibble as soon as she was diagnosed & have kept her on Fancy Feast Classics, allowing 1-2 servings of classic fish per week. Also some suggestions for low carb treats?, right now for rewards she gets 1 pc of Goodlife Recipe Catnip Delights, is this an okay product? Thank You everyone for your input, I hope to get Sabrina on the right track shortly, hopefully announcing she's OTJ in the very near future!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon Ps....,.is the Lantus forum where my condo(?)post goes....still confused on that

To address the food:
Before regulation, your cat really can't extract what's needed from the food eaten, so you will see the hunger. Just look at how many people say their cats lost alot of weight before their diagnosis, and many say that's one of the reasons they took the cat to the vet.
My two were eating 24oz and 30oz a day until regulated. Once they were on good doses, and I was getting decent BG numbers, their appetite dropped closer to 5-6oz and 9-11oz a day.
Also, look at how human diabetics eat, and I am not comparing human to feline. You get better more level BG numbers if you are spreading out your cat's daily food intake into a few meals and a handful of snacks. You can give a meal at each shot time, then a couple mini snacks during the day and overnite.

Get rid of treats you don't know if they are good; read the ingredients and you will know more. Go with just freeze dried chicken or even something like my mighty lion moist treats. Be sure there are no sweeteners in the treats.

Let your cat eat. When a cat's lost 1/3 its weight, you have a bit of building up to do to get healthy again.

Now, you can post wherever you like, but if posting in many places, you will get alot of conflicting and even repeated info, so you'll need to sort it all out.

I know that some people will lead you to believe that the TR forum is really tight, but just tell them what you can and cannot do, and the people there who know their stuff will be able to accommodate a fair amount.

There ARE a few cats who will NOT switch from dry food, but that should not bar the owners from posting in the Lantus or Lev forums. The dry food will just make regulation very hard, but you can still post there.

Just post where you are comfortable. People will help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top