milfordcollector said:
Good Afternoon Everyone! My name is Cindy & my cat is Sabrina Dx 9/20/12, Started Lantus 1/15/13, 1 unit BID. Was on insulin for 5 days & then bottle fell & broke :sad: She ended up not having shots for 36 hrs & I got her back on schedule yesterday PM. Question for everyone, today +0 361, +6 179, +10 200.....she ate ff classic turkey, 3 oz in the am & was chasing me down @ +10 for more food. I gave her 1-1/2oz of ff classic chicken, should I have waited til closer to PMPS to give her food or will this not matter? I do understand her BG will probably have a food spike but I felt soooooooo....bad she was begging :YMSIGH: History, before Dx she was approx 14 lbs & is now down to about 8 1/2 lbs......How many ounces should she be getting per day & what's the best protocol to follow as far as schedules? I switched her from dry kibble as soon as she was diagnosed & have kept her on Fancy Feast Classics, allowing 1-2 servings of classic fish per week. Also some suggestions for low carb treats?, right now for rewards she gets 1 pc of Goodlife Recipe Catnip Delights, is this an okay product? Thank You everyone for your input, I hope to get Sabrina on the right track shortly, hopefully announcing she's OTJ in the very near future!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon Ps....,.is the Lantus forum where my condo(?)post goes....still confused on that
To address the food:
Before regulation, your cat really can't extract what's needed from the food eaten, so you will see the hunger. Just look at how many people say their cats lost alot of weight before their diagnosis, and many say that's one of the reasons they took the cat to the vet.
My two were eating 24oz and 30oz a day until regulated. Once they were on good doses, and I was getting decent BG numbers, their appetite dropped closer to 5-6oz and 9-11oz a day.
Also, look at how human diabetics eat, and I am not comparing human to feline. You get better more level BG numbers if you are spreading out your cat's daily food intake into a few meals and a handful of snacks. You can give a meal at each shot time, then a couple mini snacks during the day and overnite.
Get rid of treats you don't know if they are good; read the ingredients and you will know more. Go with just freeze dried chicken or even something like my mighty lion moist treats. Be sure there are no sweeteners in the treats.
Let your cat eat. When a cat's lost 1/3 its weight, you have a bit of building up to do to get healthy again.
Now, you can post wherever you like, but if posting in many places, you will get alot of conflicting and even repeated info, so you'll need to sort it all out.
I know that some people will lead you to believe that the TR forum is really tight, but just tell them what you can and cannot do, and the people there who know their stuff will be able to accommodate a fair amount.
There ARE a few cats who will NOT switch from dry food, but that should not bar the owners from posting in the Lantus or Lev forums. The dry food will just make regulation very hard, but you can still post there.
Just post where you are comfortable. People will help you.