Tomtomsmom
Member Since 2012
Hi I am new to this board and have I am wondering how to proceed. In short, Tommy was diagnosed on 1/18. He is a 4 year old tabby who at one point was at 22 lbs. He is now about 15-17 lbs. Tommy is a big boy and the vet does not want him to down lower than 15 lbs. He was eating a mixed Iams dry and wet food, but quickly changed him to all wet when we noticed he was drinking water like crazy and had an inkling that he may be diabetic in December 2011 right after the holidays. He has been on all wet food only since then (he is currently DM and iams kitten can). We just started him on Lantus yesterday. I am sorry I still rather new here and even though I have a ss, I have no idea how to post it on the board yet.
His AMPS yesterday to begin were 240 and he was given 1 unit at 8 am along with a 5.5 can of DM. At about 4 pm he got about 3 oz of food for a snack. I did not get a chance to test him until 8 pm and he was at 295 at that point and he received another 1 unit along with another 5.5 oz of food. I tested him again at 11 pm before going to bed and he was at 201. This morning he was at 256 and again I gave him 1 unit along with another 5.5 oz of DM. Now I wont test him again until 7pm tonight when I get home. I live in NJ and work in NY and my commute is approx 1 hour each way (not because of distance, its ALL TRAFFIC :evil
and for tight regulation do I need to test him more frequently?
MImi
His AMPS yesterday to begin were 240 and he was given 1 unit at 8 am along with a 5.5 can of DM. At about 4 pm he got about 3 oz of food for a snack. I did not get a chance to test him until 8 pm and he was at 295 at that point and he received another 1 unit along with another 5.5 oz of food. I tested him again at 11 pm before going to bed and he was at 201. This morning he was at 256 and again I gave him 1 unit along with another 5.5 oz of DM. Now I wont test him again until 7pm tonight when I get home. I live in NJ and work in NY and my commute is approx 1 hour each way (not because of distance, its ALL TRAFFIC :evil
MImi